Not to Change the Subject or Anything Butt

I’m loving the deal breakers discussion and at some point I’ll probably even get around to sharing my thoughts but first I have an entirely different question for you.

My baby sister, who has a baby of her own recently bought a highchair off Craig’s list and after she got it she had to spend the morning cleaning someone else’s gunk off of it and I just had to think that if I had been the person selling it I would have cleaned it before I sold it.  Is that just me?  Could you sell something like that to someone without cleaning it first?

Also, how do you shower when alone in the house with a 2-year-old (with a predilection for auto theft) and a 1-year-old?

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristina
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 08:56:06

    I completely agree with you.

    I was thinking about you this morning. Not in a weird, sexual, creepy way or anything, but in a I wonder Where Allison’s been lately kind of way. I haven’t seen you out in blogland lately. Maybe I just get there before you.

  2. Julie
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 09:19:10

    Definitely would scrub it before selling it. I even wash things before taking them to the DI…usually.

  3. Jami
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 09:21:47

    I might not scrub it if I was giving it away, but if I selling it I would make it perfect. Either way, I’d take the top layer off.

  4. Annette
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 09:23:09

    Definitely wash it first. How odd that they didn’t.

    As for the second question . . . handcuffs?

  5. Brittany
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 09:33:26

    GROSS!!!!!!

  6. cheryl
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 09:56:53

    I was always the type of renter who would clean maticulously before leaving –I just can’t stand the thought of something I owned or used having to be cleaned by someone else. And I just think it’s courtesy. Common, too.

    Take them in the bathroom with you. Or shower with you. My son plays peek-a-boo with me when I’m showering.

    Or, or, or! Don’t shower. I do that, too. 🙂

  7. LisAway
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 10:12:24

    Yes, I vote for hiding all the razors and locking them in the bathroom with you.

    And I would never leave my junk on it. Yuk. Then again, I keep the high chair clean, so it wouldn’t be an issue. (well, mostly the kids keep the high chair clean. They’re clean eaters)

  8. bythelbs
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 10:16:46

    Definitely clean it. Not cleaning it is lame. And gross.

    I’ve never had child escapees, so I don’t know what to tell you about the showering thing. I usually park mine in front of a movie, but she almost always ends up in the bathroom waiting for me to finish so she can hand me my towel. She gets really put out when I get my own towel.

    Dude, you’re missing a “t” in your post title. I keep having to read it in a foreign accent to compensate.

  9. Jen
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 11:05:56

    It would have to be cleaned. And surely a woman as crafty as you would have installed child locks on all exterior doors? And, possibly windows? This may be the only thing short of drugs for your predicament.

  10. s'mee
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 12:32:11

    1. oy. Back in the day we were promised a used fridge; when it arrived it hadn’t even been emptied before our benefactors allowed it to sit (wherever?) for a period of time. When we opened it (after they left) the inside was a solid MASS of fuzzy gray fuzzy gray stuff! I vomited right then and there. I had never seen anything so vile in my life.

    2. Late at night, early in the morning. I wouldn’t trust toddlers locked with me in a bathroom unless they were in the shower with me. One too many toothbrush flushings remind me that it only takes mere seconds to provide a new car for the plumber’s wife at our expense.

  11. diana banana
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 13:20:17

    I love that I’m a baby sitter…its a bonus that I’m yours. Also, I gave you a reason to blog, that’s awesome!!!!

  12. diana banana
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 13:20:37

    hahah, not baby sitter….baby sister!

  13. Helen
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 13:34:32

    I had exactly the same thing happen to me. Bought a highchair off ebay and spent the scrubbing it down and cursing people who don’t take pride in their stuff.

    I struggle to take a shower with one 2 year old. I think I’d fall apart with a 2 and 1 year old. Sorry I’m not much more help.

  14. bythelbs
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 14:13:50

    Smarta$$.

  15. robyn
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 21:51:48

    Oh yeah. That sucker would be cleaner than when I ever used it. I’m just that way.

    Showers are for sissy’s!

  16. E
    Mar 28, 2009 @ 21:08:53

    Ditto Robyn, “cleaner than when I ever used it.”

    I always showered with my kids at that age.

  17. marivic
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 18:21:48

    I can’t believe anyone will sell something without cleaning it first. Some people! Okay, I’m judgmental. Maybe the seller had broken fingers or something.

    Showering while at home alone with “juvenile delinquents” 🙂 Hmmm— hard question.

Leave a Reply

