Questions, Quotes and a Piece of Flair

Why do bran muffins always have gross things like raisins in them?

Not to go into unnecessary detail, but I occasionally find myself in need of some additional bran in my diet and I find that a muffin for breakfast is not a bad way to go to fulfill that need.  And I even find that there are a few bran muffins out there that are really quite tasty.  Until you hit the raisins.  I’m all for stuff in my muffins, it breaks up the monotony, and I’ve seen ’em (heck, I’ve made ’em) with blueberries (yuk) and raspberries (ok) and various other fruits.  But you know what I want?  I want a bran muffin with chocolate chips in it.  Is that too much to ask?

_______________________________________________________

Why do I have to buy blue ink to print something in black and white?  Why do I have to buy yellow ink to print in black and white?  Why does my printer (via my computer) not tell me that I am out of both blue and yellow ink at the same time so that I can purchase both in a single trip to Office Max?

_______________________________________________________

Kid quotes

Me: Princess go change your clothes.

The Princess: This is the only outfit I have that goes with curled hair.

_______________________________________________________

Because, well, I think it’s funny.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristina
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 08:16:29

    That’s so weird! I was literally just thinking of you, and then your blog popped up on my Reader. And I actually sort of like bran muffins, but I’m with you on the raisin aspects. I’m not a huge raisin lover to beging with.

  2. Kristina
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 08:17:39

    I think that your blog just ate my comment. Boooo.

  3. LisAway
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 08:35:23

    I love good bran muffins. They’re great with apples in ’em. Everything is yucky with raisins. I don’t get the button or maybe I can’t read it well because on my old computer everything looks like it’s written in square letters.

  4. Jaime
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 09:00:22

    My youngest is the same way! She totally matches her hair to her outfit. I discovered this while we were going to the doctor to have something looked at on the back of her ear I commended her for pulling her hair in a ponytail so it would be easier for the doctor.

    And she said, “Well I wanted to wear this t-shirt today so I had to pull my hair back because fancy hair would look weird with a t-shirt.” She’s almost 16. It may not change for you.

  5. Catherine
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 09:09:21

    C’mon, raisins go along with the fiber theme of the bran muffin. And they’re not too bad, although I prefer not to have them at all. My kids used to pick them out and throw away the rest. But what do kids know?
    The curled hair comment still has me chuckling.

  6. Melanie J
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 09:16:18

    I don’t like blueberries or bran, so a muffin with both doesn’t bother me because I’ll never pick it up anyway.

    Your daughter is smart.

  7. Annette
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 09:39:18

    You need a laser printer. That’s my solution. It ends up being cheaper in the long run.

  8. Annette
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 09:41:55

    Looks like WordPress ate my comment. Trying again: get thee a laser printer. The toner is more expensive all at once, but it lasts way longer than stupid ink, so it’s cheaper in the long run.

  9. bythelbs
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 09:56:58

    Everything IS yucky with raisins. I had a tasty bran muffin once. I can’t remember if it had anything extra in it, but I’m pretty sure there was no fruit. I’m not a big fan of fruit in my muffins.

    My printer’s one of those old fashioned ones with one black ink cartridge and one color ink cartridge. My beef is when the color ink cartridge is just out of one color, so I have to replace the whole thing even though there is still ink in it. It seems like such a waste.

    Princess is right, you know. You have to match the clothes to the hairstyle. Everyone knows that. Snort.

    I do love me a good Chuck Norris fact.

  10. Janelle
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 10:05:04

    Bran muffins with chocolate chips sounds great.

  11. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 10:50:25

    I’m not a raisin lover. I do like blueberry muffins, but I don’t remember the last bran muffin I had.

  12. Mother of the Wild Boys
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 12:31:54

    I’ve often wondered why more things don’t come with chocolate chips in them…it should be everyone’s Plan B.

  13. bythelbs
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 15:41:13

    No, Mother, Plan A!

  14. Evitafjord
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 19:54:54

    Oooh, I had that printer and ditched it last month. Seriously, it ran out of black, bought a black one, wrong one – though it fit in the slot, just wouldn’t talk to the printer, got the right one, had to realign the heads, which made the yellow run out. All I needed to print were some notes to teach Primary with. I stomped my feet and made my hub get me one that has the 2 cartridges and is designed for documents. Okay, I didn’t stomp my feet, but I threatened to chuck it through the front window. I freecycled it to someone with a huge caveat emptor kind of warning attached.

  15. madhousewife
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 21:51:55

    Great flair!

    I love the bran muffins they have at Sweet Tomatoes. I guess it’s the same as Souplantation elsewhere. Maybe there’s neither where you be. But I love their bran muffins, and they never have raisins in them.

  16. Julie
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 22:01:10

    I have to admit, I love raisins in my bran muffins, but I think you’re really on to something with the chocolate chips! I wonder if they’d keep in the six week bran muffin recipe that everyone seems to have. I’ll have to try that. I also love nuts in my bran muffins. I might be making bran muffins for breakfast tomorrow thanks to you!

    Love that flair.

  17. Jen
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 23:31:10

    Up until this moment, I’ve always preferred dates in my bran muffins.

    How did I not think of chocolate chips?????

Leave a Reply

