And the Rest, as They Say, is History

You asked for it so here goes.

Sean and I met sometime in the fall of 1997. I had a room mate whom I hated didn’t love and I was good friends with his room mate.  So I spent a lot of time in his apartment.  I have no memory of meeting him, our eyes did not meet across a crowded room, angels did not sing, in fact, for a long time he was just Micah’s big grumpy room mate.  (And now he’s my big grumpy room mate.  But I’m getting ahead of myself.)

And then we started to hang out.  As in all of us.  We went to movies, we went to eat, we rented movies and watched them at their apartment.  And that was fine, he was a nice guy, no big deal.

And then one day Micah told me that I was going to have to start dating Sean.  (Apparently, Sean and Micah had had a conversation or two about me.)  I laughed.  As in that’s ridiculous.  He wasn’t my type, he was a BYU boy, he had short hair for the love of Pete, I’d never dated a guy anything like him.  Or so I thought.

But the idea stuck.  And every time I saw him after that the idea was more and more interesting.

Then one night while we were watching a movie at their apartment Micah got tired, too tired to stay up and watch with us.  (I have no information as to whether Micah was actually tired or trying to help us out.)  So he went to bed and we stayed up.  On the couch.  Watching the Shawshank Redemption (talk about a romantic movie, woohoo!).  And by the end of the movie we were holding hands.  And when he drove me home, I kissed him good night.

Why?  I have no idea.  I had no idea by the time I made it into my apartment.

Luckily, Sean (and Micah) spent the next few days in Vernal (with Sean’s family) so I didn’t have to see him and deal with what I had done.

Unluckily, (or maybe still luckily, depending on your point of view) the room mate with whom I did not see eye to eye and I got into a huge HUGE fight that weekend (at one point I may have tried to hit her with a mop) and I had nowhere to go.

And then they came home!  And so, all embarrassment over the kiss forgotten, I headed to their apartment.   And I confessed what I had done to my room mate and he laughed and from then on we were just… together.

I started stopping by his apartment on the way in to work.  And in between classes and …

It was about a week after the first kiss that we were kissing talking when I pulled away and said “yep” and he said “what?” and I said “I’m going to have to marry you.” (see, it’s not that kind of “have to marry you”) and he said “ok”.  So we were engaged.

The next time we went out, a drive to Salt Lake and back for bread from his uncle’s bakery (Why, I have no idea because he was working at the Great Harvest in Provo at the time and while their bread is not as good, the difference is hardly worth an hour and a half drive.) among other things that I can’t remember, I told him that since we were going to get married I was going to have to hear his life story so on the way to Salt Lake  from Provo and back, he told me his life story.  (When I told his sisters that they immediately said, ” and you still wanted to marry him?”  Well, obviously, I did.)  And then for the next five minutes I told him mine.   Needless to say (but I’m going to anyway) his was far more interesting.  And I found out that he was not a BYU boy (and, incidentally, the hair which was cut once a month the entire time I had known him, after the wedding didn’t get cut again for another three years.  Sigh.) in short he was a lot like both of the boys I had dated seriously and he was exactly my type.

We decided to get married sometime in January (I really don’t remember when it was) and we told our families on Valentine’s day (actually, it was the day after) and we got married August 6, 1998.

The End.

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LisAway
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 03:11:21

    Thanks, Alison! How crazy in a not at all crazy sort of a way. So you did HAVE to get married. And you did propose. Lovely.

    Now I want to hear about his exotic past. . .

  2. julie
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 06:00:09

    what a great story of how you guys got together.

  3. Annette
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 07:00:34

    Aw . . .

    I’m giggling over the mop part.

  4. bythelbs
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 07:49:12

    I love that you proposed. Fits in perfectly with the Alison I’ve got in my head.

    I have never been in a fight that escalated into attempted physical violence. Remind me never to cross you.

  5. Kristina
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 07:58:51

    Wow, long engagement!! I love it. Adam proposed me on on a Sunday afternoon, when we were taking a Sunday nap. We were half asleep, and he said, “Let’s get married.” No ring, anything. It was lovely.

  6. Melanie J
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 08:04:05

    Yeah, I have to say based on what I know of you from your blog, that proposal sounds exactly right.

  7. Natalie
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 09:36:14

    I just love knowing all the little details about people’s lives that I have never met. Isn’t blogging great? How else would I have ever known that you’re fierce with a mop and have a thing for long haired boys?

  8. Julie
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 09:39:15

    I would say that an 1 1/2 is worth it for delicious bread….

  9. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 09:51:10

    I like reading other bloggers’ love stories.

  10. Mother of the Wild Boys
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 10:13:31

    Oh, I totally had a roommate that I should’ve threatened with a mop! And I love your love story…it’s so you. 🙂

    PS-I’ve been reading your novel, I’m on chapter 4…and I’m totally loving it.

  11. Mother of the Wild Boys
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 10:15:02

    Ok, now I feel like an idiot because I said ‘love’ 3 times, and ‘totally’ twice, in one comment! :p But I really am totally loving your novel.

  12. Susan M
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 11:50:22

    I love a good love story.

  13. Julie
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 11:55:36

    Great story. I love how things just intersect perfectly in a good love story.

  14. madhousewife
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 15:12:58

    It was fun to read this story.

    I may have tried to hit a roommate with a mop once. I think it was my husband, actually.

  15. Janelle
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 15:52:15

    What other important conversations in your life have started with,

    “Yep. I’m gonna have to ________________”?

  16. flip flop mama
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 16:45:36

    Love the story!

  17. marivic
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 18:18:45

    What a great story! Thank you for sharing. That was a lot of fun to read. I love atypical love stories. Just so much more interesting because the characters are so much more interesting. You come across so down-to-earth and sassy I have a lot of fun reading about you.

  18. cheryl
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 19:58:15

    I want to say something witty, but I already know this story. So I feel like I’m lying if I say, “ooh, cool story!” but at the same time, it would also be lying if I didn’t say “ooh, cool story!” because it really is a cool story.

    Ooh! Cool story!
    😉

  19. robyn
    Mar 12, 2009 @ 20:38:27

    It makes me so happy to read stories like this. He didn’t have a chance! Neat!

Leave a Reply

