Your Crib or Mine?

I watched about half an hour of CMT’s Cribs tonight.

I used to watch those shows and just be absolutely pea green with envy but now they just make me sad.  Not sad for myself, sad for those people, because honestly if I had to chose my house or theirs, I’d stay right here.

It’s not that I live in my dream home, I could use another bedroom or two.  And while we’re at it throw in another bathroom (with a tub I fit in) and a rec room and  maybe a garage.  But one of the houses I saw was 10,000 sq ft. 10,000! That’s five of my house.  And as far as I could tell he was single. (I’m not sure who he was, some NASCAR driver and since I haven’t fulfilled my dream of becoming a NASCAR fan yet (Yes, I’m serious.) I don’t know him.)  Either that or he has a very understanding wife who chose not to be there but didn’t mind if he had the Hawaiian tropic spokes model over.

The thing that bothers me is the obvious excess.  So obvious in fact that the guy said at one point, “Here’s the pool, it’s really nice and big and stuff but I don’t use it much.”

Ok, so you’re not a swimmer.  That’s fine, but then WHY BUY A HOUSE WITH A POOL?  Just because you can?  And then along with your pool you need someone to take care of it so that if can be nice for you when you go out to swi-  oh wait, you don’t swim.  So you pay someone to keep it nice for you so that… it can be nice while it’s being ignored.  Good call.

And do you really need a 42″ screen TV in the bathroom?

You couldn’t find a better use for that money?  Really?

I’m not proposing that all single guys live in one bedroom shacks but I just don’t understand why he would buy a house that he obviously didn’t care about.

In the other house they showed the couple went into their ENORMOUS kitchen, the kind with a six burner Viking range and … and  then proceeded to talk about how they only use the microwave.  It just makes me sad.

And then I wonder, if I could afford it, would I do the same thing?

I’ve mentioned before that I’m glad I can’t afford a nanny because if I could I would get a nanny and then I would let the nanny raise my kids instead of doing it myself.  (I find myself, in my infinite non-confrontationalness, wanting to throw in some thought about how nannies are fine for some people, blah blah blah, but I’ve decided against it.  If you have a nanny who’s with your kids 8+ hours a day 3+ days a week, I hate to be the one to tell you this but, your nanny’s raising your kid.  And you might want to do something about that.)

I’d love to sum this up with some thought provoking thought or a charming yet pointed statement but I’ve got to get to bed so I can’t.

G’night.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristina
    Mar 05, 2009 @ 22:42:22

    I was talking to some people yesterday, when I was volunteering at the Draper Temple open house. Have you seen some of those homes near the temple? Talk about conspicuous consumption.

    We then talked about if we had millions of dollars, what would our homes have. Nice kitchens, a few big bedrooms, and probably a pool. And an exercise room. And I’m good!

  2. s'mee
    Mar 05, 2009 @ 22:43:16

    Couldn’t agree more.

    I am more impressed with some one who lives within or under their means and makes a comfortable and attractive home for their families. Anyone with money can build and decorate a grand way…big flip. Show me what you can do with little or nothing and I’ll applaud!

    Instead show me something really creative and useful you’ve done with your money, then you’ll have my admiration and even, perhaps, my jealousy, cuz, yea, I wish I could do more and send more to places like the LDS Humanitarian Fund, Heifer International and the like.

  3. Jillybean
    Mar 06, 2009 @ 00:20:31

    10,000 sq feet?
    I would be afraid to lose one of my children in a house that large.

  4. LisAway
    Mar 06, 2009 @ 00:35:31

    I know. It’s pretty silly. Same with Extreme Makeover Home Edition. Why? Can’t they just have something nicer than they had before with enough space for everyone? I don’t get all the extras.

    And I did struggle with being a nanny almost 12 hours a day every day. There’s no question about who’s raising those poor kids. I was also a mother’s helper for about 7 hours a day but the mother was home with back problems and depression. I remember how crushed she was one day when she came into the living room where I was playing with the twins and I told her that Kate had just said, “Da da da da” for the first time. I was so excited and didn’t even think about how sad it would make her. After that I didn’t really share milestones and just let them find out on their own.

  5. Susan M
    Mar 06, 2009 @ 07:56:16

    If I were really rich, I’d want a house with a “mudroom” with a shower in it (in the back of the house, or off the garage), for all the dirty stuff—wetsuits, dirtbiking gear, snowboard gear, etc. Which right now (in our dinky apartment) ends up in our bathroom and living room.

    It’s also always been my dream to have a secret room off my bedroom with a little fridge and bookshelves and a comfy recliner or couch for when I’m in a “leave me ALONE” phase. Although that was mostly when my kids were small.

    And I’d want a music room w/a stereo and drumkit and guitars and stuff.

    Also I’ve always wanted a fireman’s pole to slide down. Maybe from the upstairs into the mud room. I think there’s a BMX guy who actually has that in his house. But I thought of it first!

  6. cheryl
    Mar 06, 2009 @ 08:17:21

    Years ago, we worked for a company where the lifestyle amongst the employess was one of extreme excess. We had bought a 5 bedroom, 3 bathroom home built in 1962 (and now needs some work, any surprises?). We had just had our second kid (or were just about to?) when they did a progressive dinner for the corporate office. So, we went from home to home to home. I was soooo glad we started with mine for appetizers, because the other homes were outrageous! Here were these couples with no children (many newlyweds), living in these enormous homes and fancy furniture.
    And all I could think was, “I would hate a big home like this –because I would have to clean it.” (we couldn’t/can’t afford a maid service)

    People with large homes and 10 children make sense. People with large homes and no kids (or spouses?!) seem arrogant to me. That money seriously could be spent better (like s’mee said) and put to use –I mean, go save an orphanage or school in Africa! Donate supplies to the local public schools. Build a wing at the hospital. Give money to doctors/nurses who travel to foreign countries to teach new methods and give away medical equipment. Provide food to the food bank every week. Give away a college scholarship to a student every year.

    Of course, I say this without being rich. I don’t know how I would react if I was –all I know is at this point, being completely debt-free is the goal. But I would like to think I would try to do good in the world with all that excess!

  7. Jami
    Mar 06, 2009 @ 09:24:44

    I dream of a HUGE home with staff to care for it, but I wouldn’t do it even if I could. I like neighborhood. I like feeling at home. When I’m dream home shopping I notice that at about 2 million dollars the houses all begin to look like museums or hotels. (Here in CA 2 million isn’t really as big as you’d think.)

    If I was going to squander a fortune on housing, I do it on the library, on a recording studio, sound-proof music rooms, and a very warm pool.

  8. flip flop mama
    Mar 06, 2009 @ 10:22:03

    That’s just nuts. That money could be used so much better somewhere else.

  9. bythelbs
    Mar 06, 2009 @ 10:42:41

    This is exactly how I feel about Extreme Makeover Home Edition. Just build them a nice house and then give them the extra money to put in the bank to pay bills and stuff or to put towards college funds or something. I think I would feel very uncomfortable in LUXURY.

  10. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Mar 06, 2009 @ 14:25:55

    My husband builds cabinets for houses like that and he says he would like to own one. Not me. Fortunately, it doesn’t look like he’ll ever have the opportunity. 😉

  11. madhousewife
    Mar 06, 2009 @ 17:02:18

    I’d like a 10,000 sq. ft. house just so I could put 7,000 square feet between me and the rest of the family.

    A 42-inch TV in the bathroom, eh? Must be a big bathroom. You’d need to be far enough away in order to see the screen properly. And where did they have it, across from the bathtub? The toilet? I’m just curious.

    I can’t imagine having a pool and not using it. And I’m not much of a swimmer, but dude, if I had a pool, I would so be in it. Unless I had to take care of it myself, in which case it would always be too nasty to swim in, in which case I would just have them fill it up with cement and be done with it because I do not want a dirty pool just sitting there mocking me. No, I do not.

  12. robyn
    Mar 06, 2009 @ 17:15:19

    I am in the “are you kidding? I’m not keeping that clean!” camp. I also think most celebrities buy that kind of stuff because they
    1. are pressured by the celebrity bug to perpetuate the myth of excess (my car goes 210 miles an hour – you should see my toaster make its own toast mentality.
    2. Feel the need to impress, and compete – “Man you should see Ricky Bobbie’s house!”
    3. Investment. If you buy a 8 million dollar house in a few years, it hasn’t been used at all and it has gone up in value by 40-50 percent.

    I can only wish for those kinds of investment returns. Signing up for driving school soon. 😉

  13. Natalie
    Mar 07, 2009 @ 00:00:11

    I want a 5 bedroom farmhouse with a great big covered porch on lots of beautiful acreage. That’s what I would get if I had the mullah. I don’t think I would want all the crazy extras though. Seems almost trashy in a Paris Hilton too rich to actually have class sort of way.

Leave a Reply

