Sean

I spent last weekend in Las Vegas with some fabulous gals having a fabulous time.  But I’m not going to blog about it.

But if you want to see pictures and hear about what we did and even more interestingly, what we said you can go here, here, here, here, or here.  (Mad and Shantae, I would totally have linked you but Mad, you didn’t really post about it and Shantae, well, you’re private (so private, in fact, that I don’t even have access.  Even after all we’ve shared… *sob*))

Instead I’m going to blog about my wonderful husband who turned 37 today.  I stole this meme from Bythelbs who did it for valentines and I kinda think I should hold it until our anniversary but I’m not good at waiting so I’m doing it now.

How long have you been together?
We’ve been married for 10 1/2 years and together for 11 plus.

How long did you know each other before you started dating?
11plus years, I’m still waiting for him to ask me out.

Who asked who out?
I proposed, does that count?

How old are each of you?
I’m 29 (perpetually) and he’s now 37.

Whose siblings do/ did you see the most?
Mine.

Do you have any children together?
Four of them, but we’re willing to sell, make me an offer.

What about pets?
There’s a rabbit that lives in a hutch in the backyard, but it goes with the kids.

Which situation is the hardest on you as a couple?
Money has always been the hardest thing to deal with.

Did you go to the same school?
High school, no.  College, yes but we didn’t know each other until after he dropped out.  Oh, I guess we did go to the same community college four years into our marriage.

Are you from the same home town?
No.

Who is the smartest?
I’m a better student but he regularly thinks of things that would never occur to me.

Who is the most sensitive?
Neither one of us is very sensitive as far as being offended but he’s very considerate and sensitive to what might bother me.

Where do you eat out most as a couple?
The movies.  (we don’t go out to eat much but we go to movies whenever we can.)

Where is the furthest you two have traveled together as a couple?
Virginia.  Once for our wedding reception and once for my sister’s wedding.

Who has the craziest ex’s?
I’m the only one who has any exs so I guess it’s me by default.

Who has the worst temper?
Me.

Who hogs the bed?
He does.

Who is more stubborn?
He is.

Who is more jealous?
I guess me, I’m not really the jealous type but he knows all about my boyfriends and he doesn’t care whereas he doesn’t even have any TV girlfriends so I don’t know if it would bother me.

Who does the cooking?
We used to both cook a lot, lately it’s been me but he’s still willing.

Who is more social?
He would say it was me but he would be wrong.

Who is the neat Freak?
I am.  No question.

Who wakes up earlier?
When neither one of us has to work we both lie there trying to out last the other until finally someone gives up and gets out of bed.

Where was your first date?
We’ve never been but I’ll say that the first night after we decided that we’d have to get married he told me his life story on the way to Salt Lake from Provo and back.

Who has the bigger family?
I do.  I have 6 sibs, he has 5 so that’s closish but my sibs have been more… fruitful than his.

Do you get flowers often?
Not often.  Maybe once a year, but that’s enough for me.

How do you spend the holidays?
With family.

How long did it take to get serious?
Counting from when?  First kiss to engagement, I’m going to say a week or two.  But we were good friends for several months before that.

Who does the laundry?
He does mostly but we fold together.

Who drives when you are together?
He does always.

Is your family still growing?
Yep, the kids are growing like weeds.  Good thing we’re not having any more.

So that’s Sean, or more accurately, us.  (But I’m going to go with it.)  He’s cute and unconventional and extremely old (and just getting older) but I’m still glad I picked him.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 21:04:44

    Can we get the story of your courtship???? I’d enjoy that.

  2. Kristina
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 21:07:30

    Cute tag! And I’m off to see the pictures or your wild Vegas trip!!

  3. cheryl
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 21:25:26

    Hooray for Sean! He’s lucky to have you and vice versa. Happy Birthday to your hubby!

    P.S. I’m so glad you came. Words can’t describe how glad. So, I’ll stop trying to tell you. 🙂

  4. Susan M
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 21:50:47

    Aw, I was looking forward to a Vegas post from you! Happy birthday to Sean. I think this meme is fun.

  5. E
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 23:24:52

    I think you may be giving the wrong idea with the “had to get married” line. I’m pretty sure I remember being present for your temple wedding.

  6. Melanie J
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 23:27:31

    Awww, that’s sweet.

  7. bythelbs
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 23:30:25

    Hey, my husband just turned 40. Your husband is still a baby.

  8. LisAway
    Mar 04, 2009 @ 02:49:45

    You proposed? You had to get married? (I read E’s comment and I know the princess is only 8) You didn’t date? You knew him for 11 years? He hadn’t really dated before (and he’s so ancient)?

    You are really going to have to elaborate on this stuff, Alison.

  9. Annette
    Mar 04, 2009 @ 07:51:58

    That last sentence says it all.

  10. wenderful
    Mar 04, 2009 @ 08:55:17

    Happy BIrthday to your hubby. Mine just turned 39. I’m glad they keep getting older and we continue to enjoy our 29th year.
    (I stopped in from Annie’s blog BTW.)

  11. madhousewife
    Mar 04, 2009 @ 10:21:40

    Dude, your husband’s my age. That’s old. (Or so my husband tells me.)

  12. Dollie
    Mar 04, 2009 @ 11:18:12

    i didn’t know he was that much older than micah HAPPY BIRTHDAY

  13. flip flop mama
    Mar 04, 2009 @ 13:55:45

    I love this meme. Happy Birthday to Sean! It was fun meeting you!

  14. Jillybean
    Mar 04, 2009 @ 22:19:29

    So do you think he’s ever going to ask you out?

  15. Jami
    Mar 05, 2009 @ 13:29:12

    My old man’s older than your old man.

    Also don’t the movies count as dates?

  16. Marivic(LittleGrumpyAngel)
    Mar 05, 2009 @ 19:37:40

    This was so fun to read! But I have to ask, how do you end up married without ever dating? I want to hear details about the courtship/rush to the altar part of this relationship in future posts. And belated happy birthday to the husband. He sounds like a really good guy and an interesting person to hang with.

Leave a Reply

