Cliff Diving

1. I used to love that computer game, Lemmings.  I would play it for hours which is very not like me as far as video game type things go but I loved it because it wasn’t so much about eye-hand coordination (of which I have nearly none) but more about problem solving and puzzles which I love.

2. Until about a year ago I didn’t have any friends (like friends that you’d go out to dinner or a movie with) to whom I was not related in one way or another.  (Since college, not ever, c’mon, I’m not a total social leper.)

That being said,

3. I’m not a people person.  I mean I’m really not a people person.  I’ve lost jobs due to my lack of people personness.

4. That doesn’t bother me.

5. I love to sing and I think I have a pretty good voice.  In fact I think I have a really good voice but I can hardly ever bring myself to say that because I feel like I’m showing off.  Which is also why I don’t ever volunteer to sing and why I sometimes even make people force me to sing even though I really want to do it.  It’s stupid and I know it but I have a lot of trouble getting over it just the same.

6. I secretly believe that I’m the second best female singer in my family (that doesn’t sound like a big deal but, trust me, it is).

7. I also secretly think that each girl in my family, with the exception of Catherine, thinks she’s the second best female singer in the family.

While I’m on that topic.

8. I also think that if I had the training Catherine does I could be as good as she is.

9. I would describe myself as sporty.

10. I engage in NO sports.

11. I was 30 before I realized that I wasn’t lazy.  Which is really weird because I’m still only 29, for the third year in a row.  (And while we’re on that topic let me say that I get where you’re coming from when you say that thirty is great and it’s better than being in your 20s because it’s like you’re a real adult somehow or something.  I get that.  But I still don’t feel like a real adult.  I know I have a full time job and four kids and a mortgage and all that jazz but I work with all these doctors so there’s still a little bit of I’m just a little kid and you’re an adult.  (Which is really weird when the doctor in question happens to be younger than I am which is happening with increasing regularity and it’s freaking me out!))  Wait, what was I doing?

Oh yeah.

12. I don’t eat cold cereal.  It’s not a religious thing or anything.  I can eat cold cereal, I have eaten cold cereal.  I just don’t really like cold cereal so I almost never eat it. (I do love Peanut Butter Crunch but I can’t eat it, it rips the inside of my mouth up.)

13. My feet have grown a quarter of a shoe size with each pregnancy.

14. I don’t have to keep all my friends separate (like Melanie J does) but I do have some friends that I probably ought to keep separate because I’m sure they won’t get along.

15.  I can’t name people out of context.  If I know you from work and I see you at the grocery store, I might recognize you, I might smile and say hello and carry on a whole conversation.  But I will not say your name because I will not be able to figure out what it is.

16. I would much rather build something than clean something.

17.  I haven’t cleaned a bathroom in well over a year.  (That may be more about Sean and the Princess than it is about me (In fact Sean asked me the other day if he would have to actually die before I’d clean the bathroom again.  I said yes.) but I’m putting it out there anyway.)

18. I sometimes like the idea of pets (although the reality of hair and messes and… is always unacceptable) but mostly not.

19. I don’t drink any sodas of any kind.  Again it’s not that I haven’t ever it’s just that I don’t like carbonation, I never have (frankly, I find it kind of painful) so I never developed a taste for it.

20. I used to drink vinegar.

21. When I was pregnant with the Pea people would tell me that they hoped it would be a boy so that I could be done.  People, if I’m going to be done at two, I’m going to be done at two.  End of story.  (Typing that out I realized that they could have been saying that they hoped I was done because I’m a bad mother or something.  I’m going to pretend I didn’t realize that.)  It was a boy.  I had two more.

22. I can identify different brands of chocolate entirely by taste.  I’m told that would make me really good at wine tasting. *Shrug*

23. Using big words makes me feel smart.  (Or maybe it just makes me feel like I sound smart?  Either way, I like it.)

24. If I met me I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t like myself.  I think I would find myself really irritating and I would spend a lot of time mocking me behind my back (although I really try not to do that to other people (it’s different if it’s yourself right?) even when I have really good stories.  Like the one about the guy that I work with that I’m not going to tell you because I’m not going to talk behind his back.  But trust me on this one, I’m going to heaven for this one act (or failure to act) alone.) (Back to the point) I’m not sure why I think that but I’ve thought it for a long time.  I think it may have something to do with the fact that I recognize that the things that irritate me the most in others are the things I do myself.

That being said,

25. I like myself quite a lot.

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jen
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 01:37:48

    Nice list (said with an “I’m impressed” voice inflection). I’ve been tagged by like five people on facebook, and I’ve totally avoided it because I keep worrying that I won’t be able to come up with twenty-five things.

    You’ve inspired me. Maybe I’ll give it a whirl aftr all…

  2. Jen
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 06:46:45

    Ooooh, Lemmings! I haven’t thought about that game in ages. Now that I’ve heard the name though I kind of want to play it for hours and hours and hours like I used to. Great. I’ve got 8 billion things to do but now I’ll probably spend today looking for a sight where I can download the old version of Lemmings. I hope you’re happy!

  3. diana banana
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 07:18:58

    no chance I have ever thought I was the 2nd best female singer in our family…I think I’ve always acknowledged that to be you.

    So two of my sisters realized at 30 that they aren’t lazy….hmmm. I’m pretty sure at 30 I’ll still be lazy and will not be able to partake in that realization.

  4. Annette
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 07:32:21

    My mom used to make us vinegar drinks for sore throats. I still like them. And on #22–there are actual chocolate tasters out there. You could be an expert!

  5. Annette
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 07:32:45

    (Oh, and now that we’ve met, I’m tempted to stalk you and find you at the grocery store–just to see if you can remember my name out of context. LOL!)

  6. Jewel/Pink Ink
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 07:43:12

    #11 made me laugh. I love being thirty-something!

    #17 – I hate cleaning the bathroom and for the longest time, I conned my hubby into doing it, but then he caught on, so now we trade every other week.

  7. Melanie
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 07:46:12

    Like D, I too have never ever ever ever ever thought I was the second best female singer in our family. I gladly take last prize and relish in it!

  8. cheryl
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 07:48:51

    In HS, I was always losing my voice (I hadn’t figure out how to sing in head voice yet, but I was an alto, blah, blah, blah) and so I always made myself the following concotion to get me through a competition:
    Vinegar
    Water
    Honey
    Lemon Juice
    Cayenne pepper

    Worked every time, man.

    Well, I met you. And I like you! So, there. 😉

  9. Kristina
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 08:38:08

    I would never guess you’re not a people person. You were so fun and friendly at the meet and greet!

    And I drink pickly juice, but I think vinegar beats that, hands down.

  10. the letter Bee
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 08:59:00

    You were fun at the Meet & Greet! AND you are a nurse-please, you have to be a people person!

    Not recognizing people “out of context”. THAT is what it’s called?! Awesome. Now I have a phrase for it. If I see people at a store, I think “OK, do I know you from Snow College, high school, the court, or maybe from an old ward???? Don’t get in a situation where you have to say their name. Never try to say their name. Smile a lot.”

    :p

  11. Dollie
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 09:02:36

    i just love reading the things you write… very uplifintg and frank couldn’t be better

  12. Catherine
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 09:23:31

    I have shrunk a quarter of a shoe size with every pregnancy.
    And I also cannot name people out of context. It makes me crazy.

  13. Julie
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 09:24:16

    That scares me, Cheryl. You know you could have done permanent damage to your vocal folds, right?

  14. cheryl
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 12:20:48

    Julie-
    Yeah. I know that now. But in high school? I just went with what worked, man. And it wasn’t like I was drinking it by the barrel-full. We’re talking about 6 ounces every…4 months? And my voice is fine. Not exactly Celine Dion material, but I sure can sing that alto part in the church choir!
    🙂

  15. Jami
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 12:35:00

    You did cave. I’m glad.

    I also can’t name people out of context. I have to work REALLY hard at names even in context.

  16. Jami
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 12:35:43

    That was the wrong monster. The cool green guy with the mask is me.

  17. E
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 13:00:13

    I never made Madrigals.

  18. madhousewife
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 13:12:45

    The thought of drinking vinegar makes me want to puke.

    I don’t even like the idea of pets.

  19. bythelbs
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 13:47:55

    What madhousewife said plus great list. Loved it.

    Do you think you would like you if you met you online? Because I like you and we’ve only met online. Is it different in person? I’m going to pretend that I wouldn’t like you in person so I don’t have to feel bad or jealous about other people meeting you in person when I didn’t get to. And I’ll also pretend that they’re just saying that they really, really liked you in person to make me jealous. I wouldn’t put it past them.

  20. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 15:46:58

    Sometimes I like the idea of pets, too–and then I think, not yet. Which may turn into never.

    Such an interesting list–and I mean really interesting, not weird-so-I’ll-just-say-interesting.

  21. Melanie J
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 23:42:06

    I think if I met you, I ‘d like you. In fact, I know I would. And I love the idea of just sitting by each other at Storymakers and only typing back and forth. I totally think that would solve the problem. And my hsuband loves vinegar. And I love PB Cap’n Crunch but avoid it for the same reason.

  22. LisAway
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 14:30:28

    Please don’t write such interesting posts while I’m on blog vacation.

  23. Jaime
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 12:29:23

    We call that Captain Crunch Mouth in our house. It’s dangerous!

    Plus I’m glad I come from a no-talent family so I don’t ever have to worry what number I am in anything. I wouldn’t have even made any lists if I was in your family!

Leave a Reply

