Ayudame Por Favor

Hey, I need some info about church courts.  It’s for a book I’m writing, nothing to worry about.  Anyway, if you know anything about how this stuff works and would be willing to help a girl out let me know in the comments or you can email me a h.alisonwonderland@gmail.com

Thanks for your support.

And for you who are selfish and unwilling to help me in my time of need can’t help me I’ll leave you with the annoying things I heard on the radio this morning in no particular order.

Commercials.

1. Announcer: Are you drowning in debt?  Are you unable to make the payments on your house? your car? or your credit cards? It’s not your fault!

Me: Um, yes, YES IT IS!

(No offence intended to those in debt.  Despite multiple warnings and exhortations to the contrary I am in debt myself (Although I  am perfectly able to make the payments.  So far.)  but I am also fully aware that it is MY OWN DARN FAULT!!!!)

2. Announcer: The average person gained 15 lbs over the holidays.

Me: 15 lbs?  No stinkin’ way.  The average person who stopped by your weight loss center?  Sure.  But there is now way that the average person went up 3 dress sizes over the course of November and December.  And that ‘s just the average.  I only gaind 2 or 3 if any ( I don’t own a scale and if I did I wouldn’t use it) so to make up for me there’s someone out there who gained 28?  Nope.  Flat out, not true.

3. Announcer: ARE YOU DRIVING A CAR YOU DON’T LOVE?  ARE THE PAYMENTS HIGHER THAN YOU’D LIKE?  HERE AT PICK YOUR USED CAR DEALERSHIP WE CAN GET YOU INTO THE CAR OF YOUR DREAMS REGARDLESS OF YOU CREDIT HISTORY!

Me: I get that you’re just trying to make a living here, and I can respect that.  And while I may not like your methods or the fact that you prey on those who are perpetually irrespnsible with their money (see above note about my debt), I can get past that too.  But really WILL YOU JUST STOP YELLING AT ME?!!!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristina
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 22:45:26

    My favorite radio commerical was a song about taxes set to Justin Timberlake’s “Sexy Back.” I literally had my mouth hanging open throughout.

  2. Melanie J
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 23:45:20

    I like the yelling commercials. Seriously. Something about them just cracks me up. Probably because SoCal commercials are usually so super glossed that it amuses me to see a low budget yelling one. I get kinda nostalgic for them.

  3. cheryl
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 07:37:44

    Have you seen this clip about debt? It’s hilarious. And so true!
    It’s funny cause it’s true.

  4. madhousewife
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 09:47:57

    “Over the holidays” = Labor Day through Martin Luther King Jr. Day

    Cheryl, that sketch is awesome. Someone in our ward used it in his elders’ quorum lesson about living within your means.

  5. bythelbs
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 11:07:48

    “Over the holidays” = any day there’s cheetos and brownies in my house (because any day with a big bag of crunchy orange dusted deep fried corn squiggles or a pan of baked chocolate fudgy goodness is a day worth celebrating)

    I love that sketch too. Steve Martin’s expressions are priceless. And now I desperately want to incorporate SNL sketches into my Primary sharing times.

  6. Catherine
    Feb 09, 2009 @ 17:39:34

    Ok, where is the post about the kitchen. I know I’m a little impatient. Or are you waiting for the complete finish?

  7. annie valentine
    Feb 09, 2009 @ 19:12:22

    I really miss Totally Awesome Computers.

  8. the letter Bee
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 14:43:07

    I don’t know anything about Church Courts. However the next time you knock over a 7-11 or pull a 5-finger discount, give me a call.

  9. Jane Goody
    Apr 21, 2009 @ 23:47:50

    Hey, nice tips. Perhaps I’ll buy a glass of beer to that man from that chat who told me to visit your site 🙂

  10. Trackback: What Drives My Road Rage « Alison Wonderland
  11. Trackback: And the Winner is…. « Alison Wonderland

Leave a Reply

