More Virtual Randomosity

I’m thinking about pinching the Infantile Delinquent this morning just to see if he could possibly whine any more.  I’d be surprised.

________________________________________

A conversation with the neighbor kid:

Neighbor Kid: “I didn’t ever went there.”

The Pea: “You didn’t ever go there.”

The Princess: “You need to learn your grammar.”

Probably both rude things to say but I still couldn’t have been prouder.

________________________________________

Remember this post?  Oh and this one?  About how the elementary school is teaching my kids to buy on credit.

Well, I have this friend who we’ll call Keidi (hi Heidi) who got a bill from her daughter’s private school the other day.  For $181.00.  A HUNDRED AND EIGHTY ONE DOLLARS!!!!!!!!  It seems that Keidi’s six year old has chosen to not eat the lunch lovinly provided by her mother every day, all year.  And the school didn’t bother to let Keidi know until now.

The $1.40 that I owe periodically for my kids is one thing but there’s no way I would pay $200 that my child’s elementary school let my six year old charge.  NO WAY!!!!

________________________________________

I met Cheryl and Annette the other day.

I invited them over for book club.  We read one of Annette’s books and she was our featured guest (and I wanted to meet Cheryl so I used that as an excuse) both ladies were absolutely delightful.

________________________________________

One of my neighbors had a yard sale yesterday and I saw, as I drove home from church, that they had a big old table for sale.  I really want that table (since I’ve ruined my own) but I made the better choice and didn’t shop on the Sabbath.  All I’m saying is that I expect some blessings for that (like maybe them still having the table.  And the dressers they had out there. For really cheap.)

_______________________________________

Happy Monday Everyone!

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 09:08:44

    That’s shocking! Almost 200 dollars! yikes!

  2. Kristina
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 09:13:44

    The school should really be the ones to eat that.

    And I’m jealous about your book club! I hope you and Annette come to the meet and greet.

  3. julie
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 09:19:33

    I would love to meet you…and totally agree about buying on the sabbath.

    I think the parent should have been made aware of this by the 1st month and not getting a bill for that much.

  4. Jillybean
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 09:44:14

    Our school lunch secretary puts a stamp on the kids hand when they’re out of money, and then gives us a nice reminder call after about three days.
    It was strange, I kept seeing these stamps on the kids hands, but they never mentioned to me what they meant.

  5. E
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 10:03:57

    I love the stamp thing. My kids wouldn’t tell me either.

    Is the table really ruined? That’s too bad. You’ll find something else though.

  6. Jami
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 10:09:02

    One of my best friend’s kids eats breakfast, eats his lunch on the way to school, then eats school breakfast, then eats a school lunch or two, all on his virtual credit card. Even though she has told them that he is not authorized and that she sends him with a lunch each day, they still refuse to put the boy on a cash only basis. It just seems wrong! Especially because he’s a big boy and can rack up a couple hundred in a month.

  7. Annette
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 10:51:36

    Holy freaking heck. I wouldn’t pay it.

    (I gotta see you again soon. Cause one night wasn’t enough!)

  8. cheryl
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 11:59:24

    I agree with Annette. One night was so not enough. Ooh! Ooh! Maybe next month you guys can read another of Annette’s books! Yes! And I’ll tag along again.

    Of course, you guys could always read MY book. The one that is…umm…in…my head. yeah. Heh.

    Our school doesn’t do credit –they let us know immediately if the kids are eating school lunch without paying it. I love this!

  9. Jen
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 15:05:13

    This is just one more reminder of why I love my children’s three room school house. Seven grades, sixty-ish kids, and total old-school feeling. They’d make my kid work it off if he somehow managed to “charge” without my okay. And you’d better believe I’d let them!

  10. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 17:12:00

    Sometimes I wonder if Mr. Blue could whine any more than he does, too.

    Now that I heard the story of the nearly 200 lunch bill, I am thankful Miss P’s school sends a letter home if your child has more than one lunch “in the red.” They do coerce us into putting money in the child’s “account” and I don’t always know how much is in the account–that’s how I know what happens when you go over your credit limit.

  11. the letter Bee
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 19:32:46

    So they just let them rack up a tab? Wow. If they didn’t serve horse meat, I would rack up a tab there myself.

  12. GrumpyAngel
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 00:37:42

    I hope the table is still available for you to buy. You were really good in choosing to keep the Sabbath holy and I totally agree you deserve a heavenly pat on the back 🙂 And your girls have such an advantage having a Mom like you who has a gift for the English language both in verbal and written form. Often times you can really tell how educated and intelligent someone is by the way their kids represent. And, hey, I also think it’s really cool that you know Annette Lyons in person.

  13. bythelbs
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 10:28:41

    That school lunch this is just so unbelievable that I almost don’t believe you. Only I do because why would you make that up? But still. Cra. Zee.

    Loving the Pea and the Princess. Look at you, learnin’ yer kids right.

  14. madhousewife
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 17:42:36

    What the bleep? They have a lot of trust, letting folks rack up the $200 tabs. Sounds like a scam to me. Don’t pay it, Keidi!

  15. Olivia
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 22:11:00

    Can you say prouder? I always thought it was more proud. But what do I know, English is my second language.

  16. Heidi Bates
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 20:45:47

    Okay Keidi here, I went to talk to the “lunch lady” HItler would be a better word., but anyway, I asked why I wasn’t notified sooner about the lunch credit card. She actually said to me “well, this is a parochial school, and we just assume that parents are intuned and concerned enough to look at the school website, to check grades, teacher comments, lunch balances and such.” My response, the school has a website? NO wonder I haven’t recieved a report card yet this year, It is the 3rd quarter. ( like I have time with, being a single mom with kids, and going to school, and working)She just looked down her nose (Through her mustache) and pulled my daughters account up, she then noticed that I AM related to Father Moore, (her boss and the big cheese over the whole Skaggs Catholic Center) and then she zeroed out the balance and said this has been a big missunderstanding…… There are some advantages to being Catholic and being related to the big cheese!!!I then asked if they do indeed serve Horse meat, she looked at me pretty shocked and said no.. I said that I was glad because that must of been one expensive horse.

Leave a Reply

