Essential Book

No, not that essential book.

I’ve found a book that you all need to get immediately to put with your food storage. It’s a virtual how to for 19th century provident living. Need to know how to slaughter, skin and smoke a pig? It’s in this book. How to build your own smoker for the pig? You’ll also find that there. And what to do with those pesky left over parts, the bladder, the tail? Oh, you’ll find that there too.

You’ll also find out how to make maple candy, how to churn butter and how to store veggies.

What is this fantastic, indispensable book you ask?

It’s called “Little House In the Big Woods” by a lady named Laura Ingalls Wilder. You might have heard of it.

Seriously, if it been a while check it out.  You don’t want to be the only one who doesn’t know how to tan a deer hide.

______________________________________________

P.S. You should have a copy of that other book in there too.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LisAway
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 06:23:20

    This is SO TRUE! I started reading that book with Evie when she was like 6 or 7 and we didn’t get more than half way through it because neither of us were all that interested in how to store and prepare food when you live in a remote setting in the 1800s.

    I’m sure it’s a great book and everything, though. And now that you mention it, I’m sticking it in our 48 hour kit.

  2. s'mee
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 08:38:12

    Oy. I remember when I was about 17 or so, my mom taught the whole RS how to kill a rabbit, then skin it while keeping the skin usable for other things, the bladder for storing water and a couple of other resources I have blocked out like that night I was robbed at gunpoint in Morocco. I remember eating rabbit stew and sewing fur… yikes. Now there’s an enrichment activity everyone will want to attend!

  3. Kristina
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 08:47:23

    I LOVED the LIttle House on the Prarie books and TV show. Awesome.

  4. JustRandi
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 08:56:34

    I love all those books! I’m going to have to find my copy.
    Yeah, they didn’t do as much of the pig killing and hide tanning on the TV show, did they?

  5. Annette
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 09:57:18

    I read that to my kids a few years ago–life was SO different that it held their interest, but by book 2 (when we learn all about building a new cabin in the prairie), they asked if we could stop the series. They were bored.

    (But I sure loved the whole series as a kid.)

  6. Melanie J
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 11:58:27

    I remember reading that when I was a kid and how they played with a ball made from an inflated pig bladder. How did that become animal cruelty? It’s all about context, I guess.

  7. Lara
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 19:40:45

    I loved those books. Well, I still do, but it’s been years since I read them. I remember wanting to try out the maple candy making, but my mom wasn’t too hip on that. Plus I don’t think there was any snow around.

  8. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 19:50:42

    I wanted to BE Laura when I was a kid. From the books, NOT the show. (Even if I had to play with a pig bladder.)

  9. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 19:51:05

    I forgot to say that now I just feel sorry for Ma and Pa. Those people worked hard.

  10. annie valentine
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 21:20:59

    I was going to be sorely disappointed if you didn’t post about this. You know my copy (stolen from the library when I was young) is already resting calmly in the smokehouse out back.

  11. bythelbs
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 13:05:49

    Can you believe I have never actually read these books? I do not know how this can be, but alas. I did however see every episode of the show several times. I was in love with Manly for years, and to this day whenever I see Dean Butler my heart does a little pitter patter.

  12. Jewel/Pink Ink
    Jan 31, 2009 @ 07:08:56

    I watched Little House as a kid, but never read them.

    Speaking of food storage, went to an RS activity recently where we went to people’s houses to see how they do it and I left both inspired and despairing.

    Maybe I’ll have to read this book.

  13. Jami
    Jan 31, 2009 @ 11:03:12

    My sister and I loved those, but my kids glaze over when I try to read it with them. They’d rather learn the way to make a wand that can destroy Voldemort. Kids these days!

Leave a Reply

