I Forget

How does one fold laundry with a one-year-old in the house?

It’s not like this is my first rodeo, I do have 3 older children, but I cannot for the life of me remember how I ever got laundry folded (and more specifically, to stay folded) with a one year old wandering around unfolding every shirt, pair of pants and set of pajamas as soon as I have it arranged.

I also can not remember how one washes dishes with a one year old in the house.  More specifically, I can’t figure out how to load the dishwasher without its being immediately unloaded onto the floor.  Even more specifically, how does one load the silverware basket and keep it loaded?

And when do you sleep?

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristina
    Jan 15, 2009 @ 19:03:28

    I hate folding laundry. That’s usually why it’s all over our bedroom floor.

  2. Jami
    Jan 15, 2009 @ 19:10:19

    For baby: Cheerios. High chair. PBS Kids.
    For mommy: Caffeinated beverages.
    Sorry about the sleep. Really sorry about the sleep.

  3. wendy
    Jan 15, 2009 @ 19:32:54

    Well, you DON”T (sleep) then they become teenagers and you DON’t (sleep) and then you have kids who are 36 and you Don’t (sleep) OR –this should cheer you up, you get older like me (57) and forget HOW to fold the cloths, can’t remember whether you already DID the dishes, and still—–can’t sleep. just roll with it

  4. bythelbs
    Jan 15, 2009 @ 20:37:05

    These are the questions for the ages.

    Sometimes I fold clothes as I put them away into the dresser. Otherwise, it’s likely I’ll fold them and put them in piles on the couch (my designated folding spot) and then fold them again when I finally get around to putting them in the laundry basket to take upstairs and then fold them again when I’m finally putting them away. This 3-step process can take anywhere from 3 hours to 3 weeks. Although, more often than not the clothes never make it to the final folding/putting away stage.

  5. bythelbs
    Jan 15, 2009 @ 20:37:25

    Oh, and dishes? I just try to avoid doing those altogether.

  6. Evitafjord
    Jan 15, 2009 @ 20:51:36

    You are living my life or I am living yours. I don’t remember it being this hard with the others, but then I recall that I worked full-time days when the next youngest was this age and I think probably the one before that too. And before that there were only 2 of them and we didn’t have nearly as much stuff, clothes, extracurricular activities, etc, etc, etc – oh, and I was 6 years younger. I’m trying really hard not to get exasperated, but OY.

    Mine has absolutely no interest in tv (or anything but mommy lately), so I wait for naptime and bedtime and drink too much diet Coke and remind myself he’s the last and I should really just let go and enjoy it.

  7. LisAway
    Jan 15, 2009 @ 23:31:26

    Um, you sleep at night, you do laundry when he’s down for a nap and you don’t have a dishwasher. Remember? Oh wait. That was me.

  8. Jen
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 01:36:34

    I could tell you, but then I’d have to kill you. Sorry.

  9. Melanie J
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 09:10:07

    Yeah, the dishwasher thing is a Jacobson house mystery. It’s a tag team effort where one of us plays with the kid and the other unloads. And since it’s a two person job, that’s why I never do the dishes when Kenny’s not home. Works for me!

  10. e
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 10:14:46

    The silverware stays on top of the counter until you are ready to run the dishwasher. Then you slip it in quickly and slam the door shut.

  11. Evitafjord
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 13:01:12

    Not to jinx it or anything, but mine is calmly, quietly watching Dinosapien with his brother. Dinosapien, who would have guessed?

  12. Cj
    Jan 17, 2009 @ 09:40:06

    We’re on rodeo number 8. So we have this advice:

    Wait, no, we don’t.

  13. Jillybean
    Jan 20, 2009 @ 21:30:47

    You just don’t bother folding the laundry, and you make the older kids do the dishes.

  14. Do You Hear Voices?
    Jan 21, 2009 @ 23:36:49

    Two words: COUGH SYRUP.

    mwahahahaha….

  15. wenderful
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 18:26:00

    I don’t remember myself and it was only 3 years ago that I had a 1 year old. But I was watching a friend’s 1 year old just the other day and I said to myself, “I don’t remember this. How did I ever get anything done?”
    So, I feel for ya.
    Oh, just popped in from Annie’s blog.

Leave a Reply

