I’m Doing the Best I Can Here Lady, Just Like You

I went a did a little shopping today with the Infantile Delinquent and the Baby.  We hit the Home Depot (paint, saw blades, Shop Vac filters) and the DI (BIG drop-off, a couple baskets and a bunk-bed board thingy) and then we came home.  The boys were both jacketed and it wasn’t too terribly cold so I got them out of the car and then let them play a bit outside while I carried my treasures into the house.

Our street isn’t a cul-de-sac but it doesn’t go anywhere so it’s usually pretty quiet.

As I came out of the house for another load I saw the InfaDel, on his big wheel, sitting at the end of the driveway and a very large roter-rooter type truck stopped just short of the driveway.  As I headed for my son the truck slowly started moving and drove away.  The InfaDel isn’t my first son and I know how my boys are.  I was pretty sure I knew what had just happened.  But in case I couldn’t figure it out a woman who had been driving down the street in the direction opposite that of the truck stopped in front of my driveway.

She had two little girls in the back seat of her car.

Rolling down her window she said, “you know he almost just got run over right?  He rode right out into the street in front of that truck.”

What could I say?   I think all I got out was “Um.” (Sure I knew, and I was going to talk to him about it and probably not let him play in the yard like that again for a while but what’s done is done right?  And thank the Lord (literally) he didn’t get hit.)

She continued to look at me for moment to make sure that I could read every line of disgust at my poor parenting skills on her face, then she tapped the ash off her cigarette, rolled up her window and drove away.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. E
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 13:16:40

    Nice.

  2. julie
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 13:20:07

    I had that same look at me when I was trying to 3 kids into the car and my baby alsmost got hit but didn’t ….I was watching her..so totoally relate.

  3. Kristina
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 13:20:28

    She sounds lovely. Maybe you can invite her over for tea.

  4. Annette
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 13:21:55

    I have a friend who breaks kneecaps. I could send them over.

  5. The Boob Nazi
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 13:23:35

    Ugh. People who smoke while they have children are horrible.

  6. LisAway
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 14:00:43

    I got daggers from the receptionist at the hotel wherein I left Aaron (he was barely walking) in front of the elevator and I headed up with my older kids and a friend and her two extremely crazy kids. I was helping her with hers, and mine are so super mellow and I didn’t realize Aaron wasn’t in there with us until the doors had closed. Of course I was terrified and pushed buttons to make it stop ASAP, but it went up and up. It stopped and let people on and then went up AGAIN! It was awful. That lobby was really crowded, and those elevator doors open and close constantly. When we finally made it back to the bottom I saw cute little bewildered Aaron trying to step into an open elevator with two older men looking down at him and a receptionist kneeling down by him. I rushed over and thanked her and she just gave me this awful look. And I thought, “You don’t have kids, do you? What I need right now is a HUG, lady!”

    I still haven’t told Greg about that.

  7. the letter Bee
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 15:01:39

    You should have asked her how many of her kids have chronic bronchitis.

  8. zstitches
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 15:30:39

    I’m so grateful for my kids’ very busy and vigilant guardian angels. Of course we should never ever ever leave our kids unattended anywhere for even seconds at a time — and then you end up with fearful children who don’t know how to solve problems or be independent about keeping themsleves safe. So we always have to be weighing risks, hope we get it right most of the time, and thank the Lord for all the times He intervenes when we’re not there to.

    Love that ironic ending. Sheesh.

  9. Do You Hear Voices?
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 21:03:30

    You know what we call the Home Depot at my house?

    The Home Despot.

    Not even sure this is relevant, but just thought you’d like to know. . .

  10. bythelbs
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 22:43:17

    Ha! The ending is the best.

    And sheesh—like we need any help convincing ourselves we’re bad mothers. Not that I’m saying you’re a bad mother. Totally speaking for myself here. Uh, yeah, um… So how ’bout that snow!

  11. Steph @ Diapers and Divinity
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 23:46:00

    So frustrating. I think all the time that people either don’t have kids or have forgotten what our particular stage is like. It’s one of my greatest fears to forget how hard it is and lose empathy for others like me (and you) who are trying their darndest.

  12. Jen
    Jan 13, 2009 @ 00:47:06

    Don’t worry, in blogland we all empathize with you. And we all spit upon the smoking woman.

    I love this place.

  13. Jimh.
    Jan 13, 2009 @ 08:37:52

    That lady sounds SO nice! Crap happens, and sometimes its your fault and sometimes it isn’t, you just have to go on with life! I make mistakes and so does everyone else! Did she expect you to break down and cry and beg her forgiveness?

    And smoking…wow, she’s top of the line nice people.

  14. Melanie J
    Jan 13, 2009 @ 09:21:53

    I think every mother’s mantra before we attempt to judge someone elses supervisory skills should be, “There but for the grace of God go I.” If you haven’t figured out these things can happen in an instant, you’re not a real mom. Dumb lady.

  15. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Jan 13, 2009 @ 12:33:46

    Such a LOVELY person.

  16. Dollie
    Jan 13, 2009 @ 13:21:22

    Ok so I am a big fan of letting kids learn and while I don’t think them getting a good learning possibility(ending in death and all) if my kid is rocking his chair back I am going to let him fall why because how else does he learn there are consequenses for your actions without mommy enforcing her own. One time we were at burger king and eli wanted to go to micah in line and I was in the play place.. well our parenting skills got lax and he didn’t make it to micah and he wasn’t with me as soon as micah came in I paniced looking all over micah of course not panicing (why is it men wait for a reason to do anything don’t they get that sommetimes it was too late) anyways this lady walks in to the play with eli and said he was trying to cross the road (5 lane road to be exact). My heart died I took him out back of burger king started bawling and spanked his butt so incredibly hard and threatened his life if he did it again. I always wonder why some moms get to judge as if they are perfect. Uggghhh thankfully it ended well.

  17. annie valentine
    Jan 13, 2009 @ 15:32:07

    That story is awesome. Maybe you’ll see her and her lung-cancer riddled children at work one night.

    I hope she gets run over by a truck for treating you that way. You are a good mom and she’s a stupid woman.

  18. tiffany
    Jan 13, 2009 @ 18:02:36

    My kids almost get hit by trucks on a daily basis, and I am still a great mom, Especially since I dont blow toxic smoke all over them.

  19. Jo
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 08:43:37

    Grrr, stupid woman.

  20. suburbancorrespondent
    Jan 15, 2009 @ 16:45:39

    You should have said, “Oh, darn, did they miss him again?”

  21. Urquart Veitch
    Nov 18, 2009 @ 06:19:43

    I found your blog on Google. I’ve bookmarked it and will watch out for your next blog post.

Leave a Reply

