I’m Not Even Getting Paid For This

I locked in a 5% interest rate for my mortgage today.  5%!   That’s a freaking fantastic rate!

I know the market’s crappy and you’ve lost all the money in your 401K, (who hasn’t?) but apparently that’s a good thing for mortgage rates.  (Something about the fed wanting us to spend money so they lower interest rates which makes it so that I can get rid of my old rate and get a new really really low one, which of course in the end means that I spend less money rather than more but whatever.)  But I’d recommend getting on that.

Because I’m a super kind caring person, and because I love my brother, I’m going to tell you about how you can do it too.

See, my oldest brother (remember this guy) is a mortgage broker and he’s fantastic and he has this thing called rate watch where you tell him what kind of rate you want and he calls you when the market hits that number.  It’s that simple.

And the thing is, that even if we didn’t share a lot of DNA I’d still want to work with this guy.  Seriously, this is classic Chris and this and this.  Even if you have no interest in refinancing click, read, these are great blog-posts, or just go over to his blog and read through the archives, look for the long posts, they’re worth reading, I mean it!  (And they’re not just marketing, he believes it, he really does.) Who wouldn’t want to work with a guy who feels that way about family and God and helping others?

He’s based in Utah but he can help you no matter where you live so seriously, you should give him a call, (801) 787-2162 ask for Chris or an email chris@thechrisjonesgroup.com, or just go here and sign up for ratewatch (it’s on the right of your screen).  I promise you won’t regret it.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristina
    Jan 07, 2009 @ 22:36:37

    I need to see what our rate is, and if it would be worth all the hassel to change.

  2. LisAway
    Jan 07, 2009 @ 23:18:11

    Oh yes, I seem to remember you linking to a post of his when I very first started reading your blog. (I’m sure you don’t say “very first” but I do!!)

    Also, I meant to tell you that when we opened your blog last night my husband immediately commented on how “nice” your blog layout is. And then looked around a little and said a few more things he likes about it. Please know that he has always hated mine, even though (or maybe because?) he spent an entire summer afternoon fixing it up for me and making it so I can change colors. I’m going to put a poll in my sidebar and it will give you a hint as to why he hates my current layout. . .

  3. doublebanker
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 09:18:52

    Thinking that I need to update my rate too. Still stuck at around 6.5…thanks for the info!

  4. the letter Bee
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 09:30:43

    We were just talking about refinancing. I’ll have to talk to Que!

  5. Melanie J
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 11:11:26

    My husband has a guy watching something similar for us but Hubby is holding out for 4.5%. !!!

  6. bythelbs
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 12:58:18

    We locked in at 4.75% a few years ago. Five percent sounds great in the current state of our economy.

    And yay for awesome brothers!

  7. Cj
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 14:18:41

    Okay, you rock, sis. I LOVE being your brother, and having you for a sister.

    Let’s don’t stop.

  8. madhousewife
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 15:06:19

    Dude, that is awesome.

  9. E
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 19:51:21

    How can you keep refinancing? Has your house really not gone down in value? That’s so crazy to me. I think the house we bought in 2005 is now worth 1/2 what we paid for it.

  10. robyn
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 20:30:46

    I’d love to do a refi. However, we live in sucky-california, er, I mean southern california where property values have sunk farther than I even want to think about. So we will stick with our rate no matter what.

  11. Olivia Votaw
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 22:55:19

    As neighbor, friend and employee to Chris Jones, I can vouch for his pure awesomeness. The man knows mortgages and LOVES his clients (many of whom end up becoming good friends). Anyone thinking about refinancing should definitely give him a call. But let me give you a different number to call. This will take you straight to him: 801.310.3407. Nowif you really want the most direct route, then email him at chris@thechrisjonesgroup.com.

    Love ya, Chris!

  12. GrumpyAngel
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 19:38:05

    Wow! That’s an awesome rate. And an awesome tip. You are lucky you’re related to someone who knows the ropes. We need to look into this. We live in Caleefornya where the home market looks like a bombing zone, but who knows?

  13. Lisa M
    Jan 10, 2009 @ 05:15:17

    WHAT a deal! Thanks for the tip!

  14. JustRandi
    Jan 10, 2009 @ 07:33:29

    I’m so impressed! What a great rate! We’re looking into ours, too. Thanks for the reminder, though!!

  15. Heidi Ashworth
    Jan 10, 2009 @ 11:56:54

    I have a brother in law named Chris Jones so I had to check to make sure it’s not the same guy (it’s not–at least I don’t think it is .. )

Leave a Reply

