It’s Like I Just Dropped Off the Face of the Earth or Something

I didn’t really intend to take Christmas week off, in fact I wrote some really great posts in my head over the last week or so.  (Some that I plan to actually type up for your enjoyment.  And some that are lost forever is the deep dark recesses of my brain.)  But the thing is that my computer is broken.

When I say broken what I really mean is that as I was reading my sister’s blog the other day, my darling little laptop, Rufus, suddenly lost his wireless device.  One minute I was on the internet whilst lying on my stomach in the middle of the living room and the next minute, Rufus here, insisted that there was no way I had been on the internet whilst lying on my stomach in the middle of the living room because I had no way to be on the internet whilst lying on my stomach in the middle of my living room.  We’re still disagreeing on that point.

(BTW, I blame my laptop problems on Melanie J who blogged about her laptop problems which gave Rufus the idea in the first place.)

In the mean time I’m typing this while connected to the life-giving force of the internet by a cord.  Can you believe that?  I have a wire hooking me to the internet!  That’s so 2007.

But it’s a sacrifice I’m willing to make so that you can get your Wonderland fix.

So how was your Christmas?  Ours actually went quite well.  I think we made it through the day without even one meltdown, this is big, my friends.

The Princess and the Pea who both had rough starts to the week, finished it up in fine style.  The Infantile Delinquent has been sick all week, poor baby, so he just wants to sit on mom or dad’s lap.  This is sad but kind of sweet since he’s not really one to sit still any other time.  And the Baby, has carried on as if this is just the same old stuff.

What’s new with you?

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie
    Dec 27, 2008 @ 21:27:38

    If you read my blog, you know what’s new with me. Self-hatred and regret.
    Man, I’m in a horrible mood.

  2. Jen
    Dec 27, 2008 @ 21:58:59

    Yeah, I dropped my laptop and broke my wireless card months ago, and I’ve been attached to the stupid cord in the wall too. Unfortunately I have only two phone jacks (in the whole house) so I’m pretty much stuck in one place. Forever. But at least we have access, right?

  3. julie
    Dec 27, 2008 @ 22:08:48

    I understand being connected and holidays. I didn’t think you fell off the earth. Just busy. nothing new with me.

  4. annie valentine
    Dec 27, 2008 @ 22:54:31

    You’re not the only one. I think I’m kind of a freak that I’ve been blogging this week. I don’t need a vacation from my blog, my blog IS my vacation.

  5. Jami
    Dec 27, 2008 @ 23:34:41

    It’s not just you. I’ve finally had the time (and the DSL) to read and no one has been writing. Me neither actually.

    It’s been an OK Christmas. Emphasis on the mess, not so much on the Christ. I need to work on that.

    Sorry to hear that you are chained to the wall, but surely you will be set free again soon. Thank you for sacrificing for us so nobly.

  6. Camille Machen
    Dec 28, 2008 @ 12:12:54

    I’m so glad you visited my blog, even though you really didn’t want to (I read that comment on Jen’s Jingle, don’t worry I get that kind of response all the time, when I tell people to visit my blog). I hope you get your laptop fixed, and you are so welcome to visit my blog anytime!

  7. Kristina
    Dec 28, 2008 @ 12:25:13

    I’m actually surprised by how many people ARE blogging! I think I am going to post tomorrow, and then take off the rest of the week until after New Years. It’s nice to not think about posting once in a while.

  8. Annette
    Dec 28, 2008 @ 13:42:07

    It’s the week of Christmas and now New Year’s. I think many of us have dropped off the bloggy planet in some way!

  9. JustRandi
    Dec 28, 2008 @ 15:11:46

    I bet things will get back to normal soon! Just enjoy your bloggy break.
    And thanks for the alert on my blog. I’m going to win this youtube battle if it’s the last thing I do. errrrrr – I mean, peace on earth and all that!

  10. Melanie J
    Dec 28, 2008 @ 15:25:47

    It is NOT my fault! And just in case it is, I’ll share the antidote. My husband disabled my anti-virus firewall (ZoneAlert) since we have one on our server anyway and now my baby is all better. Sorry about yours. The cord thing is weird.

  11. Cj
    Dec 28, 2008 @ 15:59:08

    I usually blog on holidays, because I can. I also almost always have a wire, because they are both faster and more reliable.

    So this holiday I have neither a wire nor any blog posts. I blame global warming.

  12. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Dec 28, 2008 @ 18:44:21

    Glad you had a good Christmas with no meltdowns! We had a couple of minor ones, but they were very minor and at the end of the day.

  13. the letter Bee
    Dec 29, 2008 @ 12:43:10

    I’m glad I’m wasting company time and not at home on my laptop while reading this. That thing doesn’t need the suggestion to take a break from properly working and thus not allowing me to blog while lying on my stomach on the family room floor.

  14. GrumpyAngel
    Dec 29, 2008 @ 15:30:30

    That is really cute and funny that you gave your laptop a name. I want to do that but I’m afraid it will be hard when it dies 🙂 like when my first lap top did. I was stupid enough to open a strange e-mail and my laptop was attacked by a vile virus that killed it. I mean, I took it to the computer doctors and they told me they were sorry, they tried everything but they had to pronounce my laptop dead. Awful! I’ll settle for wifi problems instead of total death anytime.

    I’m glad your Christmas went well 🙂 I hope the Infantile Delinquent feels better, poor baby. I also hope you and your family will have a great New Year!

  15. Kristina
    Dec 29, 2008 @ 17:05:16

    OK, I have seen the Snugglie! What a great idea!!! How did I not come up with this revolutionary idea of combining a blanket with a sweater?!?!? Must stop myself from getting one.

Leave a Reply

