Funny You Should Mention That

Both my darling sister Catherine and my good Friend Lisa mentioned that when they saw the title of the last post they thought it was going to be about the kitchen.

That just makes me chuckle.  Have you learned nothing here girls?  I’m NEVER going to be done with the kitchen.  In fact I happened to take some pictures of the kitchen right before I wrote that last post.  I kid you not, this is exactly what my kitchen looked like as I turned my back on it to write that happy little post.

102_0696

102_0697La la la la la la la  la.  That’s just me singing  a happy tune.  And how could you not, living like this?

And just for good measure, here’s the sink full of dishes that I didn’t do that morning because I hung some sheetrock (yes, more sheetrock) and then went Christmas shopping instead.

102_0698Merry Christmas!

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie
    Dec 20, 2008 @ 09:32:27

    Wow! How are you cooking in that?

  2. LisAway
    Dec 20, 2008 @ 10:21:47

    You know, you really brought the Christmas Spirit with that post. Thank you so much. (and for the kitchen update. NEVER SAY NEVER!)

  3. Annette
    Dec 20, 2008 @ 10:29:51

    La la la would be the best survival technique. Someday . . .

  4. Kristina
    Dec 20, 2008 @ 11:03:43

    Oh, Alison. Maybe some little Christmas elves will sneak in there and clean it all up. Yeah. Let’s think that.

  5. bythelbs
    Dec 20, 2008 @ 11:25:32

    My sink ALWAYS looks like that.

  6. lobbie
    Dec 20, 2008 @ 11:52:08

    I’m impressed. I’m pretty sure when we finally buy a house most of it will look like that because my husband’s dream is to buy a fixer-upper and work on it. It will probably include a pile of dishes in every room.

  7. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Dec 20, 2008 @ 15:57:37

    Yeah, I feel your denial. I don’t think mine is ever going to be done either. I almost had a nervous breakdown last night even though I am done with my shopping too, but THE TREE IS NOT UP and I am caught in remodeling hell.

  8. Steph @ Diapers and Divinity
    Dec 20, 2008 @ 20:52:18

    THANK YOU for having a sink that looks like that. Really. It warms my heart to know there are kindred dishes ignorers when life is crazy. And I loved seeing you appear in my comments the other day; come again sometime. 🙂

  9. Evitafjord
    Dec 20, 2008 @ 21:21:37

    Remodeling sucks.

    I’m not supposed to be remodeling, but hubby decided to clean the bathroom today.

    Which turned into taking out the faucet to clean under it (clean UNDER THE FAUCET???!!), which turned into taking out the sink because the faucet holes were rusted and crumbled when he tried to clean them, which turned into ripping out the vanity and replacing it with the one from the half bath (which some day is supposed to become the laundry room) because the new sink wouldn’t fit in the old hole and we couldn’t find one that would. Unfortunately, we only got to the ripping out part before it was time to go to a Christmas party we couldn’t miss (work-related).

  10. Jen
    Dec 20, 2008 @ 23:33:40

    I so feel your pain. And your dish issue. I hate them. They multiply worse than rabbits, and there’s always more than will fit into to dishwasher by the time I get around to them.

    And I was feeling really bad for the last commentor, and thought I’d see who it was so I could go give my condolensces, and – it’s a girl from my home ward!!! We grew up together, and here she is on your little blog.

    Blogland is so small. I love it.

  11. robyn
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 10:03:22

    Merry Christmas Alison! Maybe there will be a few elves come Christmas morning.

    And by the way, dishes are dishes. No one should ever feel bad about leaving the dishes for later. Well, except my mother in law thinks you should do them right away, but I pay her no mind!

  12. s'mee
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 10:20:37

    amen to all above comments! Tis the season to be Jolly! Is anyone ever Jolly standing over a sink? Well perhaps the first week or so once it is (finally?) installed…but after that the newness and glamour wear off and you just have a sink. All that mess gives you an excuse for fancy restaurants, like Del Taco or McDonalds! It also makes good for “I’d have done the laundry, but I’ve been in *there* all day! sigh-“. As long as you can make it to the fridge (where all the good food is already made…ice cream, cold apples, a good hunk of cheddar) who needs a stove? er, where was I???

    Merry Christmas!

  13. Jo
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 18:19:05

    la, la, la, I like it! Way to deal.

  14. Catherine
    Dec 22, 2008 @ 11:40:43

    What are you talking about?! That is looking like a lot of broken up tile to me. You really must be close on that removal.

  15. madhousewife
    Dec 27, 2008 @ 14:39:47

    My kitchen looks like that now and I’m not even remodeling.

Leave a Reply

