It’s That Day Again

Also known as that day, and that day, oh and that day.

How sad is it when I’m depressed about the fact that I’m depressed about  the same things at the same time every month?

In case you missed it, and you’re too lazy to follow the links, here’s a (by no means exhaustive) list of thiings that I’m depressed about today:

  • The squalid state of my house.
  • The laziness and disobedience of my children.
  • The cold that prevented my breathing for the better portion of the night.
  • The lack of sleep resultant from the lack of my sleeping for the better portion of the night.
  • It’s COLD.
  • The fact that I can’t let my children suffer the natural consequences of wasting time and not getting lunches made this morning.  (See here and here for details.)
  • I took this week off from work and the week’s almost over.
  • A complete lack of Christmas cheer.
  • There’s still tile on my kitchen floor.
  • I took this week off from work and blogged LESS than I usually do.
  • That this is in fact my life and I’m missing it.

But hey, my kitchen walls should be ready to pain in a week or so.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 09:37:10

    I woke up this morning because it was so cold in my room. But I’m in CALIFORNIA! This is evil! I knew I should’ve brought my earmuffs.

  2. Kristina
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 09:38:12

    Oh, Alison, I’m sorry things are sucking right now. (What a super grown up sentence, there.)

    Maybe it will be warmer tomorrow, so that’s one thing you could check off. Or not.

    Please just ignore me.

  3. E
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 09:44:49

    I was going to tell you tomorrow will be a better day. And it will. But you might not want to wait that long. So, my advise is to do one thing that you have been wanting to do for a long time and just haven’t gotten around to it. Some of those things only take like 5 minutes. Put up a picture, clean a hand print off the wall in the bedroom that you’ve been looking at for 3 months, dust, move x to the place that it really belongs (of course, then you will have to find a place for y that’s already in that place). Just do one thing and really will feel better.

  4. Jami
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 09:50:54

    So sorry. Empathy on 1,2,5 & 11. Sympathy on the rest.

    Try Christmas music and simmering a bit of cinnamon in some water on the stove. That always ups my Christmas spirit.

  5. dollie
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 10:59:26

    I am so so so sorry. I hope something will cheer you up. I like egg nog… it gets me going in the Christmas spirit (no comment on whether it is spiked or not)

  6. bythelbs
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 11:14:45

    Your last sentence says it all — “pain” instead of “paint”. ha.

    My kids have been home the past two days for snow days—days I had planned to use to get things done before they’re off for winter break next week. Oh well. At least I’m alive. That’s my mantra. I alternate between “At least I’m alive” and “Shoot me now!”

    And I know what you mean about the Christmas cheer. I’m so struggling with that this year. If you figure out how to get it, hook me up.

  7. LisAway
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 12:02:16

    I also love tha freudian slip there at the end.

    You need some brownies. You need lots of brownies.

  8. Annette
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 12:36:21

    bythelbs stole my comment. What she said. And what Lisa said. Get thee some brownies. Stat.

  9. Jillybean
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 13:45:06

    I can really relate to all of those except the tile one. And instead of a “cold” I had a raging migraine which is threatening to return.
    And to top it all off, I don’t have enough sugar to make myself some fudge.
    I agree with the others who suggested the brownies.
    And painting is a pain.

  10. the letter Bee
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 15:50:25

    Oh man. I have a cold too (and my house is a wreck!). I hope everything gets better soon!

  11. robyn
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 20:19:19

    Or you could do like me and not post at all. Work is killing me.

    Is it Christmas next Thursday? aaaack.

  12. Jo
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 18:18:23

    My favorite part of this post? The Freudian slip of pain instead of paint. I think that pretty much sums it up.

Leave a Reply

