Having Said That

Naturally, after posting my big long spiel about how I never lie the Pea happened to see the bike that we got for the Princess in the shed where we hid it, and rather than keeping it to himself like he promised he would do, he told her.  This is by far the biggest and best gift she’s getting this year and I really didn’t want her to know about it.  So I lied to her.  Sean and I both gave her this song and dance about how the bike is for her cousin (she has more than30 of them, there are plenty to chose from) and we’re just holding it for the cousin’s parents so that what just happened to the Princess won’t happen to her (obviously it’s a her, it’s a pink bike).

I’m pretty sure we’ve got her completely snowed.

* In other news, in addition to getting fun things like bikes I have a tendency to give necessities like socks and underwear and coats for Christmas.  And I noticed this morning that it being a only a week until Christmas, we’re really scraping the bottom of the barrel around here.  I sent the Pea to school wearing my socks today.

* It was snowing this morning, I made my kids walk to school anyway.  Sure it would be nice of me to drive them but I’m not here to be nice, I’m here to build adults.  And I’m building adults who do what needs to be done no matter what else is going on, adults who used to walk to school every day, even when it was snowing.

* I’m thinking about getting my kids out of school tomorrow to go Christmas shopping.  We did that every year when I was a kid and it was one of my very favorite things.

* I need to go to the post office and send a package.  I don’t wanna.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristina
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 09:04:23

    Well, this is just a white lie, and I’m pretty sure the Bible says that’s OK.

  2. julie
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 09:04:30

    thanks sounds like fun to take the kids shopping. I might have to think about stealing that from you.

  3. The Boob Nazi
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 09:09:27

    I always got socks from the different places my parents visited over the course of the year. It was fun. And now I have tons of different socks. People might think I’m weird when I wear them with shorts to the gym, but I don’t even care.

  4. the letter Bee
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 09:14:31

    I had to walk to and from elementary school a lot. When I would complain, my mom would tell me that she had to do it uphill, in the snow and in a DRESS.

    I would still complain.

  5. LisAway
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 09:40:10

    You’re sending me a package? Thank you so much!

    Evie wears my socks semi-regularly, too.

    How will your kids ever tell the “I walked to and from school up hill both ways in the snow” story to their children if you don’t make them do that? You want them to be honest, and you don’t want them to be lying about that story like all the other old people always do. It MUST be made true.

    This is also why you must take them fishing and be sure that they catch one that is THIS big.

  6. Alison Wonderland
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 09:42:43

    Kristina- Actually it’s a big huge whopper. But I still think it’s justified.

    Julie- I remember looking forward to Christmas shopping day almost as much as Christmas. Yeah, I think I’ll do it.

    Boob Nazi- No interesting socks around here, just plain old white athletic socks. We’re pretty boring.

    Bee- I walked everyday too, (uphill both ways if I remember correctly) I don’t feel too bad for the kids.

    Lisa- I hadn’t thought about the fishing, I need to get on that.

  7. Catherine
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 10:14:19

    I am totally going to do the out-of-school shopping trip when my kids are old enough to be in school, that is…

  8. bythelbs
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 10:47:36

    The lying about the bike thing? Totally justified. I’d do it. I’m pretty sure I’ve probably done it.

    My husband went to the post office for me this morning on his way to work! Best. Christmas present. Ever.

  9. cheryl
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 11:14:13

    Lying for presents is like lying for Santa Claus. No sin, there.

    No post office this year for me! Well, I already sent the 3 packages back in November, so it’s all done. Yay!

    We’re going to buy boots for the kids this afternoon. Nothing says “maybe we should buy snow boots” like a snow storm…

  10. E
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 11:45:03

    When I left to meet my kids after school yesterday (I do that on Monday ’cause their cousin is with them and I don’t want my SIL to think I’m neglectful) it was totally snowing. It occurred to me that I could pick them up in the car and it wouldn’t really be setting a dangerous precedent, because I could just say “I’ll pick you up in the car every time it snows.” hahahaha (we live in Las Vegas) But then I remembered Mom telling us “you’re not made of sugar sponge, you won’t melt.” And I thought “if I drive I’ll never be able to use that line.” Sure enough, they were cold and wet and they said “why didn’t you bring the car?” And I said “why would I bring the car? You’re not made of sugar sponge, you won’t melt.” To which they responded, “huh?”

  11. Annette
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 11:47:52

    You’re not only justified–you HAD to lie!

  12. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 12:34:26

    Oh yes, you had to lie. You couldn’t let her Christmas be ruined by knowing her present in advance.

    And your kids will be able to tell their kids they had to walk to school in the snow. Not many of today’s kids will be able to use that line on their children.

  13. Jillybean
    Dec 17, 2008 @ 09:15:51

    I have to mail a package today too.
    Might I suggest two options?
    #1. go to the UPS store and mail them there. You can send them USPS and the lines might be shorter.
    #2. But your postage online, (click & ship) then all you need to do is drop the stuff off at the post office, and you don’t need to stand in line.

    Can I come Christmas shopping with you?

  14. Melanie J
    Dec 17, 2008 @ 09:39:54

    I’m a wuss. I have to drive my kid when it rains or I feel bad. Okay, I actually drive my kid everyday or I feel bad.

    I suck.

Leave a Reply

