There Is Sunshine In My Soul Today

This morning, in the course of feeding the kids and getting them ready for school and doing all the usual stuff I put a few things away.  Where they go.  Forever.  That doesn’t make a lot on sense until I point out that in the course of this massive construction project that we’re doing (which seems to be growing with every post) we’ve been moving things around from one place to another but we haven’t actually been able to put anything where it GOES because the cupboard that it goes in is in the living room and not in the kitchen where it goes because the sheet rock is leaning against the wall where the cupboard goes.  And the diaper bag has just been sitting on the floor by the door because the cabinet hasn’t been built yet because there are cupboards where the cabinet is going to be but we can’t move the cupboards because the sheet rock is … And around and around we go. But we got the sheet rock up so we moved the cupboards to their spot and we even shimmed them and nailed them down and so this morning I put the coloring books that I found laying (lying?) around into the cupboard.  Where they’ll live.  Forever!!  (And I’m starting to think that it will be forever because after all the work I’ve put into this dang house I’m never leaving, they’ll have to pry my cold dead body off the kitchen floor in about 100 years.)  It was good for my soul.

I also learned a few things today.

1. A two year old and a one year old are not really what one would call help when trying to pry up tile.

2. I love my shop-vac more than I love some people that I know.

3. The Baby only has to fall in the hole in the floor that used to be a vent once before I’ll put the cover back on it (this is misleading because it’s not like I put the cover right back on, he just didn’t fall in again.)  So really this should read:  The Baby only has to fall in the hole in the floor where there used to be a vent once before he learns to avoid it.

4. No matter how careful you are with the insulation you will still itch when you’re done.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Boob Nazi
    Dec 02, 2008 @ 22:25:52

    Sounds exciting. I’m so bad at house repair stuff. yuck

  2. Jillybean
    Dec 02, 2008 @ 23:03:12

    You are amazing!

    I can’t imagine tackling a project that size. I think of doing these really cool home improvement projects, but then thinking about them makes me tired, and I just don’t do anything.

  3. Kristina
    Dec 02, 2008 @ 23:07:44

    I’m not going to write my own comment since you just have to read Jill’s. Ditto.

  4. LisAway
    Dec 02, 2008 @ 23:29:11

    Hooray for you!! Now THAT is some exciting news in the Wonderland kitchen project (finally!)

    I’m glad your baby didn’t break a leg or anything falling into the vent. Or maybe it did? You’re just the type to tell half a story like that. 🙂

  5. julie
    Dec 02, 2008 @ 23:37:19

    wow it seems like a big project each time you mention it.

  6. Annette
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 07:34:04

    Finally! Yay!

  7. bythelbs
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 08:24:03

    A coloring book with a permanent home? Does it get any better?

    I might just need to pick me up one of those shop-vacs.

  8. annie valentine
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 09:35:44

    Come now, you don’t honestly think those coloring books will stay in the cupboard more than an afternoon, do you?

    Have I mentioned that I’m loads of remodeling help? Why didn’t we pry up tile the other day? I personally painted Jen’s entire house one weekend while she sat around eating bon bons.

  9. Melanie J
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 10:00:35

    Itchy insulation? True dat.

  10. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 13:10:07

    I’m excited about having permanent homes for all our stuff too. Now if my husband were just able to get the floors finished, we could actually USE the cabinets.

  11. E
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 16:13:32

    I don’t even try to be careful with the insulation. I just accept the itch and wash when I’m done.

  12. robyn
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 19:06:43

    Oh keep writing about this stuff. It gives me hope. January will come soon enough and the major renovations take place at that point. Me, I’m choosing the shredded newspaper insulation instead. Less itchy. (that could be a blog title)

Leave a Reply

