My favorite Holiday

Now given what day tomorrow is you may think that this is going to be another Thanksgiving post.

Nope.

Well, considering the time of year maybe it’s a Christmas post.

Wrong again.

New years?

Negative.

I’m talking about today baby.  Don’t you know what day today is?   Well, let me enlighten you.

About 5 years ago, my father (the man’s a genius by the way) realized that when people think of Thanksgiving they think of turkey.  Astonishing, I know.  But at that time he realized that between the greedy turkey that was eating up all the limelight, and football and parades and all of those other, really inconsequential things that people associate with Thanksgiving, people weren’t getting a chance to focus on what was, on what is, really important.

No, not giving thanks.

The PIE!!!!!!

Think about it, by the time you’ve gorged yourself on mashed potatoes and stuffing and yams and green been casserole (revolting, by the way) and cranberry sauce and, of course, the turkey you just don’t have the capacity to really enjoy your Pie.

And so my father, the genius, thought up Pie night, a night devoted not to being thankful, not to stuffing yourself with stuffing but to Pie, A night when the whole family gathers with all nine kinds of Pie that we like best (the person who gets that reference wins not only a billion virtual points but my undying love and devotion and maybe something real as well) and cookies, because I have an aunt who for some unknown reason brings cookies (sure they’re good, they’re really good but… hello, look at all the Pie!) and we eat Pie.

We’re bringing Sean’s grandmother’s apple because my mom’s making her pumpkin.

How about you?  What’s your favorite kind of Pie?

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LisAway
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 03:42:12

    I have a hard time with desserts devoid of chocolate. That’s why I almost never make pie. And also because you have to roll out the crust. I don’t roll things out. I stick ’em in or on pans and bake ’em. But I won’t turn down a piece of pie. And I don’t have trouble enjoying it after a huge meal, either.

    And I’m tossing my green beans in garlic sauteed in butter. NOT revolting.

  2. Melanie J
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 07:01:08

    LIsa, you gotta give French silk pie a shot.

    For me, in general, I love me some key lime pie.

    For Thanksgiving, I will always be a pumpkin pie girl. This year, I’m going to make a pumpkin eggnog pie. Wish me luck…

  3. Sara Mc. H.
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 07:16:54

    Nice reference to Harold and the Purple Crayon. I’m envious of the pie gluttony. Eat an extra piece for me!

  4. The Boob Nazi
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 07:55:43

    I love apple. Simple and classic. yuuumm….

  5. cheryl
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 08:07:56

    Oh, Melanie! Pumpkin eggnog? Can I come over? Please, please, please?

    Hubby hates fruit pies, but adores cream pies (pumpkin, chocolate, coconut, lime, lemon, etc.) and my favorite pie would be any kind of pie. Seriously, if you have pie (or cake, or brownies, or cookies, or, or, or), I will eat it. Pecan? Yes! Chicken pot? Bring it on. Chocolate espresso? Hallelujah!

    I like your pie night. I may have to suggest it to the family…

  6. Jo
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 08:17:24

    Your dad was an amazing genuis! I make my pies for Thanksgiving tonight, does that get partial points?

  7. julie
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 08:19:49

    love the idea of pie night…
    French silk pie
    apple pie

  8. Evitafjord
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 08:48:45

    Pumpkin. Or Grandma’s banana cream. But the one that screams Thanksgiving to me is my Aunt Helen’s lemon meringue. Pie is my second favorite dessert.

  9. Jillybean
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 08:59:03

    We’ve had pie night for the last three years! I’m all for making it an official holiday.
    Our Home Teachers make their Thanksgiving pies the day before Thanksgiving, and they always bring us one.

    We love them.

    (The HTs and the pies!)

    Last year they brought a pecan pie still warm from the oven.

    Did I mention how much we love our HTs?

    I think my favorite would be;
    Pecan
    Lemon meringue
    Apple crumb (covered with caramel sauce of course)
    Pumpkin cheesecake from Costco

    Pumpkin pie is OK, but not nearly as good as my mom’s pumpkin/cream cheese roll. I know it’s more of a cake than pie, but dang it’s good!

  10. Annette
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 09:00:03

    French silk–yes. But I’m game for almost anything–pecan, strawberry/rhubarb, blueblerry, apple, whatever. And of course, pumpkin. Gotta have THAT.

  11. Annette
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 09:01:44

    French silk–yes. But I’m game for almost anything–pecan, strawberry/rhubarb, blueblerry, apple, whatever. And of course, pumpkin. Gotta have THAT.

  12. robyn
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 09:06:24

    Oh my! I now have a personal favorite holiday! You simply must tell your father I agree he is a genius!

    My favorite pie, hmmmmm. Pumpkin has to be number one. Oh wait, apple, no , banana cream. Shoot! I forgot pecan. Um, oh, strawberry. Oh heck. as long as it doesn’t include cheese, I’m in.

  13. Jillybean
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 09:13:05

    “all nine kinds of pie that Harold liked best”

    Harold and the purple crayon.

  14. Kristina
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 09:46:06

    I have to say I am a purist and love pumpkin. I’ve recently just fallen in love with pecan.

    Have a lovely Pie Night and Thanksgiving!

  15. s'mee
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 10:07:11

    Why is this man not a national hero? Why has his holiday not been picked up Marie Calendar or some other entrepreneur? That’s it! As for me and my house, we are going to pick this holiday up and go with it!

    Oh and choosing a favourite pie? HAHAHAHAHAHA!

  16. in time out
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 10:36:20

    certainly pumpkin. next….lemon. i LOVE the idea of pie night. and your post. how fun. thanks for sharing.

  17. the letter Bee
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 12:02:54

    *crying* I can’t have pie.

  18. bythelbs
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 12:23:18

    Man, Jillybean beat me to it. Shucks, I was going for a virtual point record!

    The only kinds of pie that I know for a fact I would refuse to eat are: mincemeat pie, cherry pie, kidney pie and lemon meringue pie. Well, I guess I would eat the lemon meringue if I could scrape off the meringue.

    Pie: goooood.

  19. diana banana
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 13:05:02

    I supposed that I would’ve been cheating if I had named the reference…but I would love your undying love…and to be present at pie night. Oh well…I love you anyway.

  20. E
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 16:26:00

    I’m so impressed that someone outside of our family got the reference.

    Cheesecake is the best even though it’s kind of not really pie.
    And then pecan; warm but not too hot, a la mode.
    Next comes either key lime or french silk, it’s a toss up. Followed closely behind by pumpkin cream. Banana cream with a graham cracker crust, “keep your board ma’am.” And then the fruits, strawberry rhubarb, apple, and peach. And that makes nine.

  21. Heidi Ashworth
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 22:53:40

    Harold and the purple crayon.

  22. annie valentine
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 23:28:51

    Coconut Cream, for sure. I want to come to Pie Night!

    ps – have you been noticing that you’re rocking the comment box here?

  23. Alison
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 15:14:38

    What an awesome idea! I love chocolate pie, but pecan and apple are delicious too.

  24. Cj
    Dec 02, 2008 @ 08:00:36

    We had pie, none of it homemade, and allow me to say that Pie Night is not a holiday without pies that didn’t come from the supermarket.

    And NOT a holiday without you.

    We will be very circumspect about being elsewhere on Pie Night again. Although the pool and the hot tub were a nice diversion.

Leave a Reply

