Alison Wonderland and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day(s)

Alternate title:  Best Week Ever!

I went to work as usual Tuesday night.  It was an average night, not too busy, not too slow and fairly early on when I had a minute I checked my work email.  And that’s when the crap started.

I had a message in there form my boss about a case that I helped out with (that I didn’t tell you about because I would never tell you about cases that I helped out with because that would be a HIPPA violation and I want to keep my job).  The email wasn’t actually about the case itself but about some staffing and other issues that we had during and just after.  Explaining would take a lot longer than either you or I am interested in spending here and it’s not very interesting but long story short, I felt like I was being called lazy and incompetent. (Again, these were not issues relating to patient care, I just want to make that clear.  Neither I nor anyone I work with messes around with anything that could potentially harm or even inconvenience a patient.)  Some of the things I was accused of I had in fact done but for reasons that I still find … reasonable and some of the things I was accused of were patently untrue.

Now I don’t get mad often.  Not really mad.  I get annoyed, I may even rant and rave a bit but it takes quite a bit to really make me mad.  Before I was even done reading the email, I was mad.  Really mad.  And it got worse the more I read.

It took me a good two hours to calm down enough to even write a response.  I did and sent it off.  It was probably a really good thing that we didn’t really have any cases that night and by morning I was too tired to care anymore. (Partially just because I was tired but also because in addition to not getting mad often, I get over it pretty quickly.)  So I went home and went to bed.

I got up at four that afternoon and after a quick shower I headed back to work because not only did I have to work that night I had to be there at 5:30 rather than 7:00 for some corporate training. (I sat there for an hour and a half and I got “say hello to your patients when they come in the room” out of it.  It was awesome!) Then I worked my normal twelve hour shift (not the worst shift ever, by a long shot, but I’ve had better).  And then rather than clocking out and going home and going to bed, I got to go teach CPR for another three hours.  So at 10:30 am I finally headed out to my car in the parking garage only to find a parking ticket on it.  Rock On!

I went home and slept form elevenish until about three when I forced myself to get up for reasons that I’ll explain in a minute, after I tell you that at about 4:00 we got a call form the mother of the Pea’s BFF where he was playing that afternoon, that the Pea had hit his head and cut his eye open and it was gaping quite a bit and would probably need stitches and would we like her to bring him home?  Yes, yes we would.  So she did and she was exactly right, it was gaping and it was going to need stitches.

So I went back to my hospital.  Because I just can’t get enough of that place.

At this point I caught some luck because while we were up in the OR (we went there first to try to ease the Pea, who has a tendency towards nervousness, into the idea of being at the hospital) a doctor friend of mine happened by and I got him to sew the Pea up without a three hour wait in the ER.  Ahhh the perks.

Because on the way to the hospital, in an effort to distract the Pea, I had offered him a treat when we were done, we went to the cafeteria where I got a freshly fried corndog (mmmmm, corndog) and we hung out there and ate and then we went home because I had to go to bed because after spending the previous two days and night turning nights into day I now needed to turn nights back into nights because I had to be back to work at 7:00 the next morning.  Luckily sleep deprivation and sleeping pills are now my good friends.

But after working a pretty horrific shift Friday, including some things that are really pretty interesting but I can’t tell you about because even after the week that I had I still want to keep my job I got off half an hour early and despite really horrific traffic I made it to Sampan in reasonable time and I got to meet a lot of fun, interesting women who blog.  So I guess it ended up ok afterall.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristina
    Nov 22, 2008 @ 22:34:46

    Alison, I had no idea! You seemed in such a good mood last night.

    I’m glad you were able to make it and have an enjoyable evening.

  2. Julie
    Nov 22, 2008 @ 23:08:55

    Yay blog friends! And new ones!

  3. LaDawn Pearson
    Nov 22, 2008 @ 23:20:16

    I’m so sorry that you had such a bad week. It seems like stuff like that always happens at the same time.
    It was great to meet you last night!

  4. Melanie J
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 00:00:09

    I always find it so odd that hospital cafeterias have the most unhealthy food ever.

    Sorry you had such a rough go of it at work.

    I guess….just remember now is a good time to be grateful for a job. Unless maybe you’re like, cleaning sewers with toothbrushes or something.

  5. Wendyburd1
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 00:36:47

    Holy crap the tension invaded ME! LOL! Hi Alison, I am Wendy, I see we stalk several of the same people…and you got to MEET them!! Lucky girl!!

  6. carpcatcher
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 00:41:10

    Sorry to hear you had such a bad week. I’ve also been in the position of hearing about actions that I didn’t take. Sounds like maybe the boss didn’t hear it first hand. This is shameless advertising but maybe you could try MyBossIsAnIdiot.com. Just make sure you don’t identify yourself.

  7. Jo
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 10:13:57

    I spent my entire week looking forward to Friday. You were part of the reason why it totally lived up to every expectation.

  8. cheryl
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 15:27:43

    Rock on!

    That was my favorite part of the whole post. I startled Brandon because I randomly laughed out loud. Well, it was random to him…

    Sorry it was a rough week; hopefully next week will be the opposite? You know, karma and all that?

    And now that youve had this great experience to meet real-life bloggers, that means you’ll go to the next one somebody, somewhere might have, right…??

  9. bythelbs
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 17:26:30

    Man, that all kind of sucks. With the exception of the meeting bloggy friends thing. Oh, and having a friend sew up your son so you could skip the three hour ER wait was nice, too. And, of course, the corndog. Lucky! I love corndogs.

    So wait, what were you complaining about again? I forgot.

    Hope this week is full of days of awesomeness!

  10. Jillybean
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 22:53:30

    What a terrible week!
    I had a similar thing happen when a “friend” of mine that I worked with went to the boss and told him a bunch of made up stuff to try and get me fired so she could have my job.

    I’m so glad you were able to come to the meet-n-greet. It was fun and I can’t wait until the next one.

  11. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Nov 24, 2008 @ 11:50:38

    So sorry you had such a crappy week. I hope this week is 100% better.

  12. LisAway
    Nov 24, 2008 @ 12:07:01

    ROCK ON, Alison!

    So sorry. Week from hell. But I’m jealous you got to meet blogging friends.

Leave a Reply

