A Few Thoughts This Morning

1. Children’s feet are freezing!

I’m not sure if this is all children or just my children but I suspect that this is a global, world-wide phenomenon and I think something should be done.   On a related note:

2. Children are incapable of lying still in a bed.

I’m not sure if it’s a function of the prostrate position or if it has more to do with the proximity of other people, perhaps if no one is around they can lie still (if a tree falls in the forest…) but again, we need to form some kind of task force to address this problem, maybe get Angelina Jolie involved.

3. There is very little worse than eating the left overs of a meal that you didn’t really like the first time around.

Ok, so I know that from global, world-wide standpoint this isn’t true, there are far worse things, like starvation and genocide and cold child feet.  And this thought didn’t really come to me this morning anyway, it’s been rolling around in my head for about a week and I’ve wanted to mention it but it didn’t seem appropriate to drop it into posts about organ donation or the beauty around us but here it is and it’s really true.

4. Repetitive redundancy can be fun.

Think of it from a global, word-wide standpoint.  Now that’s entertainment.

5. Those of you in the Salt Lake/ Provo area now have two chances to meet me! Maybe.

Kristina Pulsipher is organizing a bloggy dinner at Sampan in Sandy on Saturday at Seven (How’s that for alliteration?) that I’m going to try to attend (but I’m scheduled to work until 7:00 and then I’m on call after that so it may not work out).  And Cheryl is planning a luncheon at her home (I think) on the Saturday after Thanksgiving.  I want to attend that one too but it’s too far away for me to say for sure.

6. I really need for my kids to go back to school.  This month just can’t end soon enough.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristina
    Nov 18, 2008 @ 11:09:07

    I totally hope you can come!!! That would be awesome.

  2. LisAway
    Nov 18, 2008 @ 11:31:08

    If we have something sub par for dinner and are forced to eat it again the next night I never finish what’s on my plate. And I give myself Aaron sized portions.

    And the brownie those nights is cut larger to make up for the missed calories. (don’t you like I how I make it sound like I cut a brownie and eat it and that’s that? I do cut one and eat it, but I then cut and eat little pieces all evening long right up until I go to bed. SO BAD.)

  3. mary
    Nov 18, 2008 @ 11:50:04

    I’m going to the dinner too. Now you’re really rethinking the whole thing right?

  4. e
    Nov 18, 2008 @ 11:50:41

    This is the experience at our house which may not be applicable at yours, but I still have to share in case it helps someone else.

    Children can’t lie still in bed because they have to pee. Take them to the bathroom (no matter how much they protest), and sometimes they will even go back to their own beds after that. But, even if they don’t they can actually lie still and sleep when their bladders are empty.

  5. julie
    Nov 18, 2008 @ 14:32:28

    I would love to meet you but I’m in another state…send me some sweets. thanks

  6. Annette
    Nov 18, 2008 @ 14:36:22

    In this house, it’s MY feet that freeze. Even in the summer, I’m wearing fuzzy socks. It’s kinda pathetic.

  7. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Nov 18, 2008 @ 16:48:30

    Amen on the kids’ feet and the way they never lie still in bed. I can’t sleep well with anyone touching me–and Miss Pink migrates to whoever she’s sleeping with. We call her a heat-seeking missile.

  8. Kristina
    Nov 18, 2008 @ 16:50:26

    So, when you do you think you will know if you’re coming. Mary might eat all your rice.

  9. Alison Wonderland
    Nov 18, 2008 @ 17:32:58

    Kristina- You have no idea how awesome that would be!

    Lisa- I do the same thing. Very small portion that I don’t finish and then more brownie. How did you know?

    Mary- That’s why I’m going. You think I want to meet that Kristina girl?

    E- No, no one needs to pee, they’re just not tired anymore but for some reason that means that they have to come lie in my bed a squirm around so that I don’t sleep anymore either.

    Julie-Sorry to miss you.

    Annette- My feet freeze all day but after 7ish hours in bed they usually, finally warm. And then the kids come put their ice blocks on me.

    Alison- that’s all four of mine exactly.

  10. Melanie J
    Nov 18, 2008 @ 20:08:50

    This kind of sort of makes me want to live in Utah. But not really. Have fun!

  11. bythelbs
    Nov 18, 2008 @ 20:27:24

    Number 2 is a true statement. True. Statement. My kids not only can’t stay still, they almost invariably end up sleeping perpendicularly between my husband and I with their feet shoved into my back. Family bed my a**.

Leave a Reply

