I Need To Stop Blogging in the Middle of the Night

Sue was here.  She even commented.  But I still haven’t made it to her blogroll.  (Annie, if you were wondering what to get me for Christmas…)

I just wrote a big long post but it’s even depressing me so I’m not publishing it (yet).

And because sometimes I need to brag, let me just say that while it’s (possibly) unfortunate that I have to work and while my job is (occasionally) kind of sad, some days the sad turns into a kind of beautiful bittersweet.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LisAway
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 05:17:47

    I meant to come on and say how I love me a visit from Sue, but then I read the article you linked to and instead will say that I’m a little mad I did because of the day I’m having (you’ll read about it in my post) but mostly I’m a HUGE believer in organ donorship. HUGE. I need to get on some program to be an advocate or something because I am never able to express strongly enough how I feel about it.

  2. Catherine
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 09:26:06

    Why do you make me read sad things first thing in the morning? Oh yeah, maybe to give me little perspective on my life. Suddenly three boys who have to be touching me at all times doesn’t seem so bad.

  3. Kristina
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 09:50:44

    I hadn’t heard this story. I’m an organ donor, as is my husband. However, one of my best friends is a nurse, and she refuses to be one, for various reasons. I think it’s the right thing to do.

  4. robyn
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 11:15:16

    Bittersweet indeed. Organ donors are the best.

  5. LisAway
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 12:50:30

    My mom forwarded an email she received from her former bishop. He is the father of Benjamin, Amanda’s boyfriend who was supposed to be going into the MTC (extended his report date until mid December). Small, sometimes sad, world.

  6. Melanie J
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 12:51:32

    What an amazing story and gift she’s giving. I’ve been an organ donor since I was old enough to have a driver’s license, but most importantly: MY FAMILY KNOWS. People need to remember that their loved ones sometimes don’t want to part with a single bit of them in a time of grief, so I’ve made my wishes clear. I don’t want to go unexpectedly, but I love the idea of helping someone else live if I do.

  7. E
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 13:15:10

    I’m been known to make my husband roll play.

    First, I’m the highway patrol “We’re very sorry to tell you that your wife has been in a car accident, she’s here in the hospital but she’s not going to make it.”

    Then in the part of myself I interject “what do you say???” and then “the right answer is, ‘she wants her organs donated.”

    Notice he didn’t actually say anything in this roll play, he just rolls his eyes. But at least he knows.

  8. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 16:32:53

    That’s beautiful. I’m so sorry for her family and boyfriend, but what a comfort to know her organs are giving others life.

  9. bythelbs
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 17:09:30

    Bittersweet, indeed.

    And, gee, I wish somebody cool would put me on their blogroll. (There’s a subtle bit of harumphing in there along with a little eye wink.)

    I’m looking forward to the depressing post. Because you wrote it.

  10. Trackback: It’s Not That There’s No Love At Home, Honest « Alison Wonderland
  11. Sue
    Nov 14, 2008 @ 01:21:13

    Seriously, I wish I was a big enough deal to merit this post. But you make me smile anyway.

    You JUST MOVED UP THE ADD TO BLOGROLL LIST. ;>

  12. in time out
    Nov 14, 2008 @ 09:10:36

    Thanks for the sweet reminder of perspective. Best wishes to all whose lives were alerted, and touched, by this incident. I am so sorry for the families loss. And yet happy for the life that will go on. Yes, bittersweet. Thanks for sharing.

  13. Trackback: Alison Wonderland and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day(s) « Alison Wonderland

Leave a Reply

