Boys Will Be Boys

And thank heaven for that.

Now you see it

Now you see it

Now you don't

Now you don't

I moved my pantry today.

There was a dead mouse under there.

Even thinking about it gives me the heebie jeebies.  As previously discussed, I hate mice.  But if there’s anything I hate more than live mice it’s dead mice.

Just seeing it freaked me right out.  As in right out of the kitchen.  And I couldn’t go back in.  And Sean wasn’t home and he wasn’t going to be home for about three hours.

I could not go back in the kitchen with that thing in there.

So I asked the Pea if he’d take care of it.

“Sure,” he shrugged, no big deal.  He grabbed the dust pan and cleaned that right up.

My Hero!

(As an aside, I don’t know if it was my mouse from the other day or not.  I never did do anything about it, I was going to but I didn’t get around to it.  I’ve had mice before and I always just put down poison (I know, I shouldn’t do that with little kids in the house but I can’t help but think that if my kids are eating stuff from behind the stove and under the sink, I have bigger problems) and after a day or two I stop seeing mice.  (And I’ve never smelled anything.)  So I have no idea if this was a mouse from an earlier infestation but basically, I’m just really glad I have a son who could get rid of it.)

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LisAway
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 00:09:59

    Wow! What a brave kid.

    I was recently vacuuming downstairs and came across a huge spider that was dead. I COULD NOT bring myself to vacuum it up because I didn’t want to feel it’s nasty crunchiness as it went up the pipe past my hand. I asked if one of the kids would do it for me. They both said yes!! And then stood in front of that spider trying to get up the courage for like 5 minutes before deciding it could not be done.

    Greg did it when he came home.

  2. Melanie J
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 00:15:03

    Eeyew. Super eeyew.

  3. Annette
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 08:25:13

    Ick! Yay for your son!

  4. Catherine
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 10:18:54

    I’m picturing you running out of the kitchen and refusing to go back. It’s making me laugh.

  5. mary
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 11:59:23

    My son would probably have kept it as a pet. He’s been watching Stuart Little a lot lately.

  6. bythelbs
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 12:06:01

    Yeeech!

    I’m pretty sure none of my children would have been that brave. The Pea is my hero.

    And of course it was the mouse from the other day. Now all your mouse worries are over.

  7. Kristina
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 20:09:48

    Ha! I can’t believe you moved the whole pantry! That’s one big hatred of mice.

  8. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 21:26:51

    That is awesome. Way to go, Pea! I hope you bragged on his bravery in front of him!

  9. robyn
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 21:47:24

    hehehe. Boys are priceless when these things happen. It reminds me of the time we were all in Utah except the youngest daughter. She called in hysterics. It seems she came home for lunch from work to find our cat dead in the middle of the kitchen floor. She was sobbing, and couldn’t do a thing about it.
    I ended up calling a young man from the ward to go over and dispose of the cat. It still makes me laugh to think about it. (not the cat dying but the .. well you know)

  10. Dollie
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 22:26:01

    Wow I can’t wait to see the completed renovation next year on our visit down to utah….

  11. annie valentine
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 23:52:34

    I am bringing my own supply of mouse traps next time I come for a visit. I hate them. Hate them hate them hate them. Dead or alive, makes no difference (although I prefer dead).

  12. madhousewife
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 13:26:08

    That is why boys ROCK!

Leave a Reply

