Repetitive Redundancy

We were wheeling a little girl into surgery tonight and I noticed that the stretcher she was on had a sticker on it identifying it as property of the ED Department.

That would be the Emergency Department … Department? (That’s the new thing in hospitals ERs are no longer ERs they’re EDs because there are many rooms in the Emergency room making it not just an Emergency Room but an Emergency Department.  And yet, oddly enough the Operating Room is made up of several rooms too, but you don’t see any hospitals trying to call it the OD.  I’m just saying…)

And I was wondering if maybe they have an ATM machine where I can use my PIN number down in the ED department?

I can’t decide if I find these things really annoying or just funny.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LisAway
    Nov 06, 2008 @ 07:57:15

    Oh, ATM machine and PIN number bugged me for forever. I’m mostly over it, though. (Did you catch my “for forever?”)

    This reminds me a bit of The La Trattoria. I sort of hope you know what I’m talking about and that you don’t hate that movie like some people do. If you DO hate it, I think I can still like you. If I try really hard.

  2. Kristina
    Nov 06, 2008 @ 08:14:26

    I vote for annoying.

  3. Melanie J
    Nov 06, 2008 @ 09:58:34

    I think it’s funny. Oh, and VIN number, too.

  4. s'mee
    Nov 06, 2008 @ 10:31:30

    Oy.

  5. mary
    Nov 06, 2008 @ 11:07:04

    Is this the reason the show E.R. is being canceled?

  6. julie
    Nov 06, 2008 @ 12:38:24

    that sounds annoying…

  7. bythelbs
    Nov 06, 2008 @ 17:11:42

    I’ve been trying to think of an amusing example to contribute to this conversation because I know I’ve come across many, but I’ve got nothin’.

    I find it annoying and amusing. Hey, at the very least it was good for a blog post.

  8. heather
    Nov 06, 2008 @ 20:06:53

    Since you work in the hospital maybe you could tell me why they call CAT scans CT scans now. What happened to the letter A?

  9. Evitafjord
    Nov 07, 2008 @ 00:05:39

    I have tons of examples too, from dictations, but can’t think of even one.

    RYC: That’s why his was one of my 2 favorite. My other favorite is even quicker in some ways and was terribly dramatic (a VBAC in a hospital where they are forbidden – ooh, ahh) but will have to wait until May.

  10. Susan
    Nov 07, 2008 @ 08:56:42

    My husband HATES how I always say PIN number, I guess he’s not alone 🙂 funny post.

Leave a Reply

