Odd Man Out

I’m doing NaNo nothing.

It seems that everywhere I look, every blog I read someone is going on about NaNo this and NaBlo that and here I am, just blogging occasionally and though I did start on a new novel (having realized that the one I’ve been working on for the past two months is complete and utter crap.  No, this is not me being self deprecating, it really is crap.  I would have quit working on it a long time ago but I have a bet going with my sisters and… you know, it doesn’t matter.) about which I’m pretty excited but it won’t be finished by the end of the month, not even close.

Why do I care?  What possible difference could it make?  I have no idea and yet every time I read another blogger excited about NaNo I’m jealous.  Is it just knee jerk, I want to be sitting with the cool girls at the lunch table junior high stuff that we never entirely grow out of do you think?

Or maybe I’m scared.  I’ve written one novel that I think is pretty good, despite the fact that I can’t get an agent to even send me a personalized rejection, but I have two others half finished and I wonder if I somehow don’t have it in me any more.   I don’t believe that, aren’t all writers riddled with self doubt?  (Well, all of us but Annie.)

And I keep having to remind myself that life is short but not that short.  And another November and another NaNo will come around next year.

And surely I’ll be done sheetrocking by then right?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. julie
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 00:15:24

    i’m not doing it so your not the odd man out either.

  2. Lisa
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 00:23:26

    To be perfectly honest, as far as NaBloPoMo, I don’t really get the point. Really, I like it better when bloggers don’t post every day. I like your style.

    I can understand about you maybe kinda wanting to do the writing one, though. I think it’s a good idea, but so is a finished kitchen.

    Don’t give up on your writing! I’m really looking forward to the day when I own a book or two of yours. Or possibly more.

  3. Melanie J
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 00:29:02

    I’m not doing either challenge, but that’s because I’m already in a daily groove with both which is nice, considering I was fighting my manuscript for a while. But I guess starting a new one is always the hardest part. And I’m pretty good just trying to pull a 1000 words out a day without having to reach for the million a day you have to do wit the NaNoMo or whatever it is. So I say, skip it. Find a new project and do it at your own pace. You’re obviously not one of those people who can’t get a ms done since you’ve already got one in the can so I’m not worried about you at all.

  4. Pink Ink
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 02:05:31

    You know what, the other night, I just couldn’t write past 800 words and my goal was 2500 for the day. I felt like a failure, and then I thought to myself, was it really worth killing myself and losing sleep and not being WHOLE for my family the next day? Some days are good and some days are not as good, and contest-this and contest-that are just some fun ways to challenge yourself…but they are not everything.

    If you are writing as best as you can and recognizing the limits to your sanity than I would say you are in a good place.

  5. Annette
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 08:20:22

    What everyone else said. Yes, all writers are this way. And no, I’m not doing NaNo either–and suddenly I feel better about that!

  6. Kristina
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 09:22:34

    I’m not doing it either. And frankly, it scares me. Not for me, but because I know my Reader is going to be overloaded this month because many people will be posting daily.

    When I first started my blog, I posted everyday for over two months. And many of my posts were crap. It was quantity over quality. I prefer the quality now.

  7. robyn
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 09:23:15

    It’s November already!!???! aaack not this year. The bathroom need a sledgehammer! And, if your sheetrock doesn’t get hung by November of next year, I have no hope in finishing my bathroom!

  8. Jaime
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 09:41:48

    Wow, I thought you were just making up funny acronyms as a joke. After a little Google time I have figured out what you were actually talking about. Your blog is awesome. You don’t need to shove yourself in some whack blog fad. Keep it real, Allison style.

  9. bythelbs
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 11:15:37

    You don’t need to do NaNo because you’ve already written a novel, dude. Plus started a couple others.

    I never participate in anything that may set me up for failure as a general rule.

    Good luck with the sheetrock. If it’s not hung by November of next year, I’ll come hang it myself. And yes, I’m only saying that because I’m certain it will be done. Doesn’t my certainty make you feel better? See, it wasn’t an empty gesture.

  10. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 15:55:12

    Yeah, I think bythelbs is right. NaNo is to push people into writing a novel who would otherwise wish and obsess and revise their imaginary novel–but not actually write it. People like me, in other words. Oh, I kid, but not much. I am writing short stories because I am not ready for the commitment of a novel. I do think I will try NaNo, but this is not the year. Probably the year Mr. Blue is in kindergarten.

    As for NaBlo or whatever it is, I think it’s too much pressure.

Leave a Reply

