Don’t Look Now

I was sitting at the kitchen table in my partially finished addition the other day blogging and wasting time working on the computer when I say some movement out of the corner of my eye.  Now, I regularly see movement out of the corner of my eyes when I’m ignoring my children, blogging working on the computer, but this was smaller movement than I was used to.  So instead of ignoring it I turned my head and saw …

A MOUSE!!!

I can not tell you how much I hate rodents.  I’ve discussed my indifference towards spiders here before, and the same goes for pretty much all bugs but mice.  Ughhhhh!! I’ve got creepy crawlies just thinking about them.

In fact I hate them so much I’m finding myself contemplating getting a cat.

You probably don’t know me in real life and even if you do you probably don’t know about my aversion to pets.  It’s not something I mention often, because whenever I do I find myself castigated as some kind of cold heartless uncaring wretch.  Well, yeah.  But it’s rude to say it out loud.

Anyway, let me just put my pet hating in these terms.  I don’t like pets.  I hate pets.  I hate pets in a I really kind of like the idea of punting your yappy little dog kind of way.  Get it?  So does that tell you something about how I feel about mice.  I thought about getting a cat because I hate mice that much.  But then I thought about the prospect of cat hair and having to change a litter box everyday (EVERYDAY?! I don’t clean my toilet everyday, what make the dang cat so special?) and well, having a cat and I rethought it.

Oh and on the topics of pets someone’s little ratdog (A miniature doberman I believe) first scared the crap out of me while I was trying to unlock my door getting home from a night shift.  It was standing right by me but under my bag so I couldn’t see it but then it sort of whined and sniffed or something and honestly, for a minute I was sure it was just an enormous rat.  And then when I finally did get the door open it squeezed right past me into my house.  Which it could do because it’s the size and shape(ish) of a large rat.  So the Princess who happened to be in the kitchen, grabbed it before it could make it to the stairs that it was headed for, and took it outside and came back in and it squeezed past her into the house, because I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it but it was the size and shape(ish) of a large rat.  So this time the Pea grabbed it and took it outside and headed for the door to come back in but the ratdog beat him to to the door and we were honestly there, discussing through the screen how to outsmart the ratdog so that my son could come back into the house when the Pea said he knew who owned it and he could just take it home.  It was 7:45 on a Saturday morning and Inormally would not let my children go to anyone’s house that early on a weekend, or even on a weekday, but if you don’t keep your ratdog in your house buddy, you deserve it.

So what about the mouse?  Well, the first line of defense is the sheetrock that is now lining all pertinent walls and I’m honestly just hoping that we’ve trapped the sucker in there and he’ll starve to death.  If I see any evidence that that hasn’t worked I skip right over any so called humane “no kill” traps and go with poison.  Why not?  It’s not like I’m worried about my other pets.

——

PS Yes, I’m aware that I’m going to get some serious PETA hate mail for this post. Hehehe.

PPS No, I don’t have any other pets.  Well, except for the rabbit but he (she?) does not come in the house.  EVER!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. s'mee
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 19:39:14

    oooh ick! Hey if the mouse dies in your walls you will really hate them…imagine MONTHS of dead mouse smell that you can’t get rid of. You want that thing out…OUT. Get those sticky things/traps and put the, in the corners and along the wall where you saw the nasty little thing. (yup PETA hates those traps, but oh well) Poison will/may have the same result as being in the wall and starving…dead mouse body decaying for months somewhere you can’t get rid of it. You need a trap you can see evidence of the body. The sticky things work.

    (now I am going to have nightmares)

    good luck.

  2. mary
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 20:03:20

    My husband is so anti-pets it’s scary. Sometimes he’ll refuse to go to other people’s houses because of their pets.

  3. diana banana
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 21:09:06

    we inherit this from granny…i’m the same way! spiders, bugs, flies…whatever. but rodents i do not do!

  4. tryinghardtoday
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 21:49:49

    you can’t do poison, your kids will eat it. Sticky traps are the only way to go.

  5. LisAway
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 23:06:50

    Oh my GOSH! What S’mee said! You should never, ever hope it dies where you can’t get it. I’m shuddering just thinking about it.

    Mice are cute. Rats are ugly.

  6. robyn
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 23:59:26

    After six years of managing a food production facility, let me tell you girlfriend you do not want a dead mouse behind the walls. The smell is so bad. And it stays. Also…and I’m sure I don’t need to tell you this, but mice,mice don’t live alone. They have communal living systems. If you see one, there’s more!!!! aaack. Borrow a cat! You don’t need to keep it, just borrow one from a friend and then when the problem is taken care of, send it home. If it is a true mouser it won’t need to be petted or have a littler box, it’ll take its business outside like a real animal.

    Good luck on the nightmares!

  7. bythelbs
    Nov 05, 2008 @ 14:31:18

    Oh man. Good luck.

    I’m also anti-pet. Probably more than you as I don’t even have an outdoor rabbit.

  8. Melanie J
    Nov 05, 2008 @ 15:24:42

    I broke down once and let my son get a guinea pig, one of the dumbest things I ever did. So after that died and he wanted another pet, we just gave him a little brother instead.

  9. E
    Nov 06, 2008 @ 11:39:54

    Everything everyone else said, except the part about if you see one there are more. I’ve heard that, but all three times we have had a mouse it has been just one mouse, so don’t get too worried. Glue traps are the way to go. Let Sean deal with them though……

    We definitely get the anti-pet thing from our upbringing. I feel exactly the same way (and every time we’ve had a mouse I’ve contemplated a cat.)

Leave a Reply

