Lessons Learned

I learned today that I can only hold my end of a piece of 4×8 sheetrock over my head for about five minutes at the end of which time I’m crying because my arms hurt so badly and my strength gives out and I drop my arms because I literally CANNOT hold them up any longer.

Fortunately, five minutes is also about as long as it takes Sean to tack the sheetrock in enough places that I can let go.

Oh and also that you should have at least three people when you sheetrock a ceiling.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristina
    Oct 31, 2008 @ 17:49:45

    I’m taking notes.

  2. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Oct 31, 2008 @ 20:15:31

    Did you know you can rent a machine to crank the sheetrock up to the ceiling and hold it there while you nail it in place? (And by “you,” you know *I* mean “my husband,” but *you* could actually do it.) We paid $25 to rent one from Home Depot for four hours and it was money well spent, since I found out by helping him get the rock out of the truck that my shoulder workouts at the gym didn’t help much.

    I’m sorry if this information is too little, too late. If that’s the case, just pretend I didn’t say anything or it’s not available in your area.

  3. Melanie J
    Oct 31, 2008 @ 20:20:20

    Thanks for sharing. I’ll add sheetrocking to my list of things I’ll never do.

  4. robyn
    Oct 31, 2008 @ 22:39:08

    And, a really strong neck helps. Balancing it on your head works when you’re working in twos.

  5. Alison Wonderland
    Oct 31, 2008 @ 22:57:18

    Kristina, you’re going to want to make a list.

    Alison, I did not know that but I may look into it.

    Melanie, Good move.

    Robyn, Alas, I’m not tall enough for that. Sean did it but I can’t reach.

  6. Lisa
    Oct 31, 2008 @ 23:21:22

    My arms feel all shaky just reading that.

  7. robyn
    Nov 01, 2008 @ 13:11:28

    Alison, milkcrate!

  8. Heidi Ashworth
    Nov 01, 2008 @ 18:33:29

    I’m impressed! Five minutes is about five minutes longer than I can hold a piece of sheetrock over my head. Not kidding! You go, girl!

  9. bythelbs
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 10:54:47

    Wow, just think of the guns you’re going to have by the end of this project.

  10. LaDawn
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 17:13:57

    I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had to help my husband with that vey roject. I always seem to be pregnant at the time too (but then whenn am I not)
    I’m glad my boys are finally old enough to help out their father with those types of things.

  11. LaDawn
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 17:15:09

    Make that “very project”

    I really need to proofread before submitting a comment.

Leave a Reply

