Do They Teach This Stuff in the Discussions?

I hosted book club at my house tonight at 7:30.  A few months ago some evil kind, well meaning sister who hosted book club made the mistake very kind gesture of serving refreshments at book club  because well, we’re Mormon and we can’t meet without refreshments (I’m pretty sure that’s in the Book of Mormon somewhere) and it’s best if its a baked good of some kind.  And because we’re Mormon women once one sister served refreshments now we all have to serve refreshments.  I was not going to serve refreshments.  It’s book club dangit!  We’re here to talk about books, we don’t need baked goods!

It’s not that I don’t want to serve a refreshment, it’s not even that I don’t like to bake.  Most of my problem was that I had no time.  I worked the last two nights and Sean was home with me this afternoon and we had sheetrock that desperately needed hanging, i had no time to prepare something.  But, I decided, I’d put out a bowl of that Halloween candy I bought, since I bought the good stuff and no one’s going to be here tomorrow night anyway.

Ok, that’s the plan, no real refreshments, but a bowl of Halloween candy, that’ll look ok right?  And I’m leaving the dishes that are in the sink, i do not have time to wash them.  What are the odds someone will be in the kitchen anyway?  Zero.

Ok so, Halloween candy for refreshments and dirty dishes in the sink.

It’ll be fine,  I can totally have women from my ward ove to my house and not serve them a baked good.  I can have multiple women form the ward in my house and have dirty dishes in the sink.  I’ll be fine.

At six o’clock I broke down and pulled out my recipe book and made cookies.  And then I did the dishes.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristina
    Oct 30, 2008 @ 21:40:36

    We always serve refreshments at our book club. It distracts me when we have to pretend to know what we’re talking about when discussing Eugene Onegin.

  2. Melanie J
    Oct 30, 2008 @ 22:14:48

    You think that’s bad? In our book club, the refreshments have to be something eaten or metioned in the book.

    It sucks! It makes me want to pick only books with food in it for my turn just so I have some options.

    Wait a minute…I should just pick a cookbook!

    Haha! I’m a genius!

  3. cheryl
    Oct 30, 2008 @ 22:45:39

    You are so me. I would have done the same thing. Darn those domestic instincts and need to care!

    At our book club, we discuss the book, talk about the what we’ll be reading next, and then eat refreshments. It’s been anything from a brownie to fruit, and some people leave before it’s served. It’s low-key, but yeah, I always do the dishes. And make something (or buy something).

  4. Lisa
    Oct 30, 2008 @ 23:45:35

    Look at you. Feeding the stereotype.

    I don’t know that I would attend a book club that didn’t have treats. . .

  5. mary
    Oct 30, 2008 @ 23:57:06

    This makes me want to join a book club, I love clean dishes.

  6. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Oct 31, 2008 @ 07:06:32

    If it’s any consolation, Pentecostals are the same way. We had to tell our small group to scale back on the refreshments because it made some people feel bad that they couldn’t keep up.

  7. julie
    Oct 31, 2008 @ 07:36:23

    mormon and anything always includes food 😉

  8. Annette
    Oct 31, 2008 @ 08:46:33

    It’s a female curse or something.

    At one point a former book club tried to coordinate the refreshments with the book–but then we read The Jungle and met at my house. I was tempted (but in the end didn’t have the heart) to serve hot dogs and totally gross them out. But I was tempted. That would have banished the refreshment thing for a while, huh? 😀

  9. bythelbs
    Oct 31, 2008 @ 11:04:53

    I’m so disappointed. I was hoping you could prove to me that it’s really fine to have dirty dishes and cop-out refreshments with a house full of guests. Sigh.

    What book did you read? Were the cookies yummy?

  10. robyn
    Oct 31, 2008 @ 11:53:31

    Oh man, you caved. I would have too. This past week a neighbor lady (who also happens to be a member just dropped in for a few minutes. I was totally stressing the whole time because the place was a mess. aaack.

  11. Alison Wonderland
    Oct 31, 2008 @ 12:47:36

    I actually don’t hate the refreshment thing, I mean who doesn’t like treats? It’s just the obligation that occasionally gets to me.

    We read “How Angel Peterson Got His Name” by Gary Paulsen and to my recollection there was not one mention of food in the entire thing. It was pretty funny but not the best bookclub book, there’s not a lot to discuss. which actually worked out great since Sean was at work and my kids just think that anyone who comes to the house came to see them.

    The cookies were yummy. And in reality it’s a good thing that I made them since we had NO BROWNIES!!!!!!!!! Don’t worry too much about me, Sean picked some up on his way home from work.

  12. e
    Nov 02, 2008 @ 20:55:00

    Our book club in Battle Mountain was practically a cooking club. Every month it was a lunch pot luck and people brought fabulous stuff. I loved it! But I also lived in BM and what else was there to do but cook?

Leave a Reply

