My Thoughts Tonight

Dear Children within a, roughly, 600 mile radius of Salt Lake City,

Stop. Getting. Hurt.

Seriously, cut it out.  I’m tired.  I know that you don’t really intend to get hurt but can’t you do something about the frequency with which you’re breaking your arms and legs?

While you’re at it can you stop getting sick as well?  Just say no to appendicitis.

Girls, cut it out with the ovarian cysts.

Boys, trust me, we’ll all be a lot happier if you forgo testicular torsion again this year.

Any of you thinking about some sort of infection, think again.

Stop swallowing things not meant to be swallowed.  Slow down and chew while you’re at it.

Stop inhaling things not meant for inhalation.  And just to clear it up, nuts, especially ones that you’ve chewed up, not meant for inhalation.

Thank you- The OR night crew at Primary Children’s

P.S.  A carseat will really help with that whole ejected from the vehicle in the car accident thing. Or a booster.  A seatbelt even.  Please!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 01:55:20

    You have quite a job. Quite a job. I really hope this plea will make things easier there at PCMC (did I get the letters right?)

  2. mary
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 02:15:15

    Ok, since you asked nicely I’ll tell my kids to stop breaking glass with their foreheads and to stop eating the gunk they find in the street.

    btw, PCMC saved my nephews life, thank you. But it wasn’t his fault he got sick, he was born with messed up heart tube thingies.

  3. julie
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 07:03:51

    thanks for all you do because when I had to take my kids to the hospital here….they have always been so helpful and understanding.

  4. Annette
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 07:52:14

    Feeling dumb that I didn’t realize you worked at THAT hospital. Like many others, it has a soft place in my heart–it helped keep my nephew alive more than 20 years ago before he got his liver transplant at the age of one. Sniff.

    But I’ll be sure to tell the kidlets to please not inhale their almonds. Sound good? 🙂

  5. robyn
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 08:20:26

    Okay mom, you ruin all the fun.

    If I’d have known you were there in Aug, I’d have bought you a Brownie with ice cream (I capitalize it because I know how important they are to you). We spent two days there with the youngest granddaughter – she’s healthier now, thank goodness.

  6. Kristina
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 08:59:50

    Rough night? 🙂 And don’t even get me started on the seatbelt thing.

  7. bythelbs
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 10:49:46

    This post mostly makes me sad. And grateful none of my children are currently in need of medical attention.

    No carseat? Really? Bah!

  8. Melanie J
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 11:42:31

    Yeah, no carseats? Or seatbelts? That blows my mind.

  9. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 17:40:18

    The car seat part needs to be addressed to the parents, right? That’s something we all need to do to prevent injuries that end kids up in the ER!

    For the rest, I hope the kids will stop getting hurt, or at least less frequently. I admire you for the work you do.

  10. Jen
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 23:00:10

    I think you just listed all the reasons why I couldn’t be a nurse! I’m glad there’s someone willing to take care of these poor children when they get hurt, but seeing too much of it would be too much for me. What a stressful job.

  11. Alison Wonderland
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 23:43:25

    You guys are all so sweet. I actually wrote this post a while ago but it applied last night so I posted it. Luckily it wasn’t too hard of a night emotionally, I don’t think I could ever post about those for so many reasons, just physically. So really, I’m fine.

    But thank you for your kind words about my hospital. I don’t always love the hospital or the corporation that owns it but I am always proud of the good we do.

  12. cheryl
    Oct 23, 2008 @ 06:47:23

    You rock. Seriously, you do.

    I’m a carseat Nazi, so no worries about carseats, here. My 5 year old is still in a 5 point harness!

    My aunt was an x-ray tech at PC for about 5 years back in the day (90’s?). She loved her work but it made her sad all at the same time. Primary’s is the best. Simply the best!

  13. annie valentine
    Oct 23, 2008 @ 19:45:57

    Took my mom to the ER yesterday and thought of you.

  14. Heidi
    Oct 23, 2008 @ 20:11:54

    Hey Can I have an AMEN!!! How I miss being able to sit around the OR front desk and catch up on all the gossip, (I hope you didn’t tell MaryAnne about your blog) Now I have to see you when you come up to NBICU, Because everytime I head down to the OR you guys are always so busy.

Leave a Reply

