Why Everyone Should Blog

I finally got an email address for a high school boyfriend about a month ago.  This is a guy and I had relationship for about three years.  He wasn’t the great love of my life or anything like that and things ended on kind of a weird note.  (He moved away, we sort of stayed together but eventually I wanted to date other people, I was a junior in high school after all and, whatever.)  Anyway, he’s a guy I remember fondly and I find myself, not too infrequently, being reminded of him by something Sean says or does.

So I got his email address and tried to contact him.  But I made a fatal mistake.  I left the link to the blog on the email.

I haven’t heard back.

And when I think about it I’m not surprised.  The thing is, reading this, gives you glimpse into my life that I’d want of those old friends.  No, you don’t hear about it every time I’ve got a cold, (right now, and it’s a doozy, in case you were wondering) but who cares? You don’t want to know that anyway.  You know about the kids, you hear a bit about Sean, and about work and about stealing cars (Sorry, that’s just not going to get old to me).  Basically, you know all of the stuff that I want to know about the people that I went to high school with.  Maybe a little more.  But there’s little or no obligation on your part.  (A comment really wouldn’t go amiss here though, just so you know.)

I have neither the time nor the inclination to really rekindle these old relationships.  I don’t have the hours to spend on the phone that I did.  And if I were going to spend hours on the phone, it wouldn’t be with friends from high school anyway.  I don’t actually want contact, I just want to know how and what they’re doing.

I want to read their blogs.

I do have a few old friends who blog (Actually, only really one that I know of.) and I’m facebook friends with a few more (Although myspace is infinitely better for that kind of thing because you can go in and look without obligating yourself to any kind of actual contact.) and that’s all I want.  I just want to know what Chris is doing, if Mike is married, does Ken have kids?  (Why are these all male?)  And that’s it.  I want the high school reunion without the actual reunion. (I live 2000 miles from my high school, I’m not ever going to make it to the reunions.)

So what I’m saying is, Scott, if you’re reading this, either contact me or I’m going to need a link to your blog. 😉

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annette
    Oct 18, 2008 @ 16:52:08

    Reunions are overrated anyway. I went to my 10-year reunion so I could specifically see about a dozen or so people, and all of two of them (twins sisters) showed up. I was 8 1/2 months pregnant at the time, so not looking my best. And instead of catching up with good friends, I felt like a dork. I almost wish I hadn’t bothered.

  2. Kristina
    Oct 18, 2008 @ 18:22:13

    Hardly anyone I actually know has a blog, and I keep in touch with everyone from high school I want to. High school wasn’t a good time in my life.

  3. mary
    Oct 18, 2008 @ 18:38:01

    A lot of my high school classmates have blogs, but I’ve never revealed myself to them. Maybe your old friends are doing the same thing.

  4. robyn
    Oct 18, 2008 @ 20:08:10

    Good idea about keeping in contact through blogs. No obligation, just observation. I like that. There are plenty of people I’d love to know what happened to them, but I would never ever go to a reunion. mostly because what the name states, reunion. blech, i didn’t like the whole idea of groups i certainly don’t want to revisit them.

    i like mary’s idea. maybe just maybe.

  5. Jami
    Oct 18, 2008 @ 20:20:16

    I’m with you. I totally love all of my old friends, but my current (and real) takes the lion’s share of my attention and time. Really I just want the Christmas card information without the pretensions. I’d love their blog links.

    I’m close to my hometown. I’ve skipped reunions for more weighty reasons.

  6. Susan M
    Oct 19, 2008 @ 20:58:11

    I impulsively added a bunch of people from high school as friends on Facebook because I thought it’d be fun to hear from them about how and what they’re doing now. And it was. At first. Now I never go on there because I don’t really want to see or hear from most of those people beyond that!

  7. Lisa
    Oct 19, 2008 @ 22:48:51

    I agree! I got back in touch with a friend from high school on facebook. I wrote him once and he wrote back and said I’d better tell him more. That was over a month ago. I feel like telling him to go read my blog. But probably he’s not all that interested in the time I got locked out of my house or how I’m trying to diet.

  8. bythelbs
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 12:16:03

    So really, you just prefer the stalking. Um, I mean the admiring from afar.

    I’m with you—I don’t have time to keep track of or have active relationships with all the people I’ve ever known or been friends with, but every once in awhile I’m curious to know how they’re doing. Deep down I still care. In my own way.

  9. julie
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 15:55:48

    I found some friends on facebook. Heck I found my 1st fiance and was able to email him. I’m glad I did. Thats how I have been able to find old friends lately.

  10. Jaime
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 11:47:10

    You may or may not be surprised to find that really he’s just incredibly lazy and non-computery, it’s not personal for sure. I’ll give him a push. It might take two or three . . .

  11. Sue Q
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 21:27:05

    After I married, I moved to another state to escape my past ‘boyfriends’, and what do you know, one of them ended up following me here! Not twenty miles away, which (when you’re out of Utah) means one stake away. I run into him all the time! Thankfully, he’s married to a lovely lady, and they have adorable children, but that doesn’t meant that it’s a little weird!

  12. annie valentine
    Oct 23, 2008 @ 19:44:49

    What’s the deal with facebook, anyway? I hate that place. I get on it when I’m REAL desperate and do…nothing.

  13. Trackback: A La Bythelbs « Alison Wonderland

Leave a Reply

