Virtual Randomosity

Ok, so after yesterdays post  (of which I’m still weirdly ashamed [no, you don’t have to go look at it, if you missed it, really]) I’m moving on.

First let’s just get some house keeping type stuff out of the way.  I’ve decided to change the Irish twins names.  I’ve never really loved Irish1 and Irish2 (the names not the kids, I love the kids) and after giving it some thought I decided that I can change their names if I want to, it’s my blog after all.  So form here on out Irish1 will be known as the Infantile Delinquent and Irish2 will just be the Baby.  (Yeah I know, “the Baby” is pretty weak but give me a break, the kid’s ten months old he doesn’t exactly have obvious personality traits that I can make use of.  Yet.)  Obviously, those names will change again (I doubt that Infantile Delinquent will work as well when he’s 14) and I’m reserving the right to do that if I want to, it’s my dang blog after all.  (I haven’t decided if these changes are going to be retroactive.  I don’t think so, that’s a lot of work, but I think I will edit the tags.)

Next, a quick kitchen update, we’re framed, insulated and wired.  Sheetrocking should commence this week.

I’m going out of town this weekend.  That’s right, just after whining about how hard my life is I’m headed out for a little break.  “Is this a result of having lost it about the same time as you wrote that post?”  you ask. No, it’s been planned for a month or more.  But I couldn’t let that get in the way of a good whine now could I?  (In my defense, Sean isn’t coming and I’m taking all four kids so it won’t exactly be me sitting by the pool drinking virgin pina coladas. (Not that I would anyway, pina coadas, yuk!)  But all my sisters will be there so it should be a good time.

Halloween’s coming up.  I hate Halloween.

I went to the library today and everything looked good.  This portends a major shift.  You see, I run pretty hot and cold with reading.  I’m always reading but I go for stretches, six months to a year, where I can’t get enough.  I go through a book in a day and the next day I’m on to another.  I also always have one that I’m listening to and I MUST be listening to it every chance I get, ie when I’m doing something that precludes actually reading.  And then I go off books.  I still read and I still listen but not with the appetite that I used to have.  Well, I’ve been off books for about nine months now but it looks like it might be coming back.  I wonder what that means for the next few months of blogging?

Is anyone else watching Heroes?  ‘Cause, meh.

The desktop computer is dead.  That means I can’t update my iPod.  That means I can’t put new books on.  That means I may have to put iTunes on my laptop so that I can upload books (which means I lose the music that’s currently on my iPod) or worse yet, I may have to listen to *shudder* CDs.  OH WHAT WILL BECOME OF ME?!

I think that might be all.

Oh, I have some pretty good search terms, maybe I’ll do a Things People Look for Thursday.  Stay tuned.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annette
    Oct 15, 2008 @ 07:45:44

    Glad to find someone else who listens to books the way I do–I’ll even listen for 5-minute snatches, even though you just get back to the storyline and remember where you were when you turn it off. 🙂 Have a great weekend! (And yay on the kitchen progress!)

  2. Kristina
    Oct 15, 2008 @ 08:53:42

    First, I love your blog name. Second, I can’t believe you spent 2 hours reading my drivel! That is dedication. Edward staring at Bella dedication!

    Thanks for commenting and reading. You are now in my inner circle so I can stalk you mercilessly.

    I’m adding you to my Reader and blogroll, and I will be back. Muwaaahhhaa!

  3. annie valentine
    Oct 15, 2008 @ 09:36:08

    Of course you had a break down right before vacation. Mentally, you can only take so much before a vacation and if your canteen runs dry, you lose it.

    Permission granted.

  4. mary
    Oct 15, 2008 @ 09:39:17

    Have a nice trip, don’t forget to write.

  5. julie
    Oct 15, 2008 @ 10:39:07

    I feel the same way too about books..either the choices look good or nothing. I’m also watching Hereo’s too.

  6. Jaime
    Oct 15, 2008 @ 11:12:34

    Ooh, I don’t think I remembered that you hate Halloween. Maybe I hadn’t fully cultivated my hate for it back in our days together, but it is in full effect now. I feel so much relief and happiness on November 1st that it’s over sometimes I want to cry. The countdown is on! Have a great weekend!

  7. bythelbs
    Oct 15, 2008 @ 16:03:37

    Infantile Delinquent is just so long to type out every time. Can you call him ID or maybe InfaDel?

    At first glance, I thought you’d said, “We’re framed, insulted and wired.”

    Heroes is meh so far. But yet I watch. Still.

    I’m the same way with reading. I checked out 3 books this past time and only read one and it took me several sittings. Usually I finish a book in 1-3 sittings, which tells you how going through cycles of non-readingness is probably a good thing for my family.

    Enjoy the trip!

  8. Jen
    Oct 15, 2008 @ 16:54:26

    I did have to go back and read that last post, btw. It reminded me of my life last year. I feel like I need to go lay down now. And hire that housekeeper I’ve always wanted. This year is much less painful because I cut my work hours in half. But since you’re still working like a dog, go enjoy your trip! You certainly deserve some kind of payoff.

  9. Melanie J
    Oct 15, 2008 @ 21:13:59

    Okay, out of this entire post, I’m fixating on Heroes.

    This season is some really shoddy storytelling, but I’m hanging in there.

  10. thewoobdog
    Oct 16, 2008 @ 11:51:32

    “I’m always reading but I go for stretches, six months to a year, where I can’t get enough. I go through a book in a day and the next day I’m on to another. I also always have one that I’m listening to and I MUST be listening to it every chance I get, ie when I’m doing something that precludes actually reading.”

    I do EXACTLY the same thing. I’m so glad I’m not alone. My husband just watches this with bewilderment, as he’s not that into books of any kind. I always feel bad because every chance I get I’m reading during those ‘on again’ periods and I don’t want him to feel neglected… LOL

  11. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Oct 16, 2008 @ 13:34:49

    I like bythelbs’ idea of shortening Infantile Delinquent to InfaDel. Also, you can always update it to Juvenile Delinquent later!

    That’s interesting that you go on such intense reading/listening to books spurts, especially that you don’t stop reading after they’re over, but just not as much. I pretty much just keep several books going at all times.

Leave a Reply

