Just for Something to Blog About

We had to buy a new window for the addition and since the addition’s on the front of the house we decided to replace the other window in the front.  Just so they’d match you know.  And because my house is sixty years old and the windows are old and single paned and aluminum and ugly.

Anyway, Brandon, who is wonderful, came on Saturday and replaced the window in my front room and I can see out my window (cue the angels singing).

I had no idea that the old window was so dirty but good gracious, it’s amazing!  I feel like I could just sit and look out the window all day.  Now I can see everything going on outside.  I can see the leaves changing colors on the trees, and branches waving in the breeze.  I can see the the snails sliming their way along my zucchini plants.  I can even see the little girl across the street picking my green, far from ripe, tomatoes ensuring that I will never get any kind of decent tomato crop.  I can see Irish1 as he runs down the street looking for cars to break into.

You know what?  Maybe having clean windows isn’t that great after all.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Oct 08, 2008 @ 03:00:08

    Love the degeneration of your window peering enjoyment.

    Yeah, in Poland everyone washes their windows at least twice a year, before Easter and before Christmas. It’s the most normal thing to see people doing it, lots of people from the same apartment building, plus the one across the street. I thought it was the strangest OCD type thing, until I looked closely at my own windows and realized how disgusting they were, then washed them and realized how much I like clean windows. That was when we were on the ninth floor and there were mostly clouds and trees to see.

  2. Annette
    Oct 08, 2008 @ 07:22:08

    Dang. Reminder that I really should wash my windows.

  3. robyn
    Oct 08, 2008 @ 09:00:02

    Joy in the journey, and all that stuff. My windows are the aluminum ones too. Not sure we’ll be replacing them though, as this place is only a stop gap. What do you think? Will it increase the value enough to warrant the changeout?

  4. Melanie J
    Oct 08, 2008 @ 09:23:11

    The cleaning lady responsible for the outside of the condos came by Monday and did all the exterior window washing. It was a little disgusting to see the streams of black dirt pouring down the walls from people’s screens. Ew.

  5. Kori
    Oct 08, 2008 @ 12:43:25

    Um. Yeah. about that washing windows thing…..doesn’t happen at my house until I get SO disgusted that I can’t deal with it any longer. and it sure looks nice, but not nice enough that I want to do it more often. 🙂

  6. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Oct 08, 2008 @ 13:29:58

    We have new windows too! Both in the addition and in the kitchen that adjourns the addition. They were old and ugly, too, plus the previous owner had put that film on them to cut down the heat that comes in and it had wrinkled. I like these new ones so much I MIGHT wash them when they get dirty.

  7. bythelbs
    Oct 08, 2008 @ 15:22:29

    I don’t think I’ve ever washed the outside of my windows. Ever. Maybe the slider glass door a few times. But we’ve only been in this house seven years, though, so…

    Why are the neighborhood kids picking your tomatoes? You mean they’re not afraid of you? Get on that.

  8. annie valentine
    Oct 09, 2008 @ 00:20:49

    I’ll be right over to gaze with you out the window.

  9. Jami
    Oct 09, 2008 @ 12:29:04

    Opposition in all things.

    If you gaze up generally there are charming things to look at, but then you miss out on stopping the neighbor girls’ pillage and your son’s escape.

  10. Jen
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 19:59:33

    Thanks – my reasons for avoiding the window job were running low. Now I can put it off a little longer with a clean conscience. And when my husband asks, I’ll just say “Alison said it’s better this way” and he’ll nod and agree, and everything will be peachy keen!

Leave a Reply

