Yay! and Grumble Grumble Grumble

I’ve been given this award:

This blog invests and believes, the proximity. [meaning, that blogging makes us ‘close’ -being close through proxy]. They all are charmed with the blogs, where in the majority of its aims are to show the marvels and to do friendship; there are persons who are not interested when we give them a prize, and then they help to cut these bows; do we want that they are cut, or that they propagate? Then let’s try to give more attention to them! So with this prize we must deliver it to 8 bloggers that in turn must make the same thing and put this text.

And the thing that’s even more cool about it is that it was Madhousewife who gave it to me and I didn’t think she even really liked me.  (I’m tempted here to do the Sally Fields but I just don’t have it in me this morning.)  I am delighted by the award but I’m not going to pass it on to the 8 friends that I’m supposed to because I’m hemorrhaging and I don’t feel like it.

And now, lest you are overwhelmed by my gushing, I have something to complain about.  Have you seen this? (There is a little bit of language for any of you who are a little squeamish, mom.)

I find it tiresome.  Aside from the celebrity propagandizing which I hate but I’m not going to go into this morning, I hate what they’re trying to do.  I hate the idea of a bunch of kids who saw Jennifer Aniston tell them to vote, registering and voting.  If you have to have Ellen tell you to vote, tell you that you need to register in order to vote, then obviously you have no idea what you ought to be voting for.

Sure, healthcare for everyone who needs it regardless of their ability to pay sounds wonderful.  But I work in a hospital and believe you me the hospital and the doctors are going to need to get some money from somewhere.  Lower taxes?  Great absolutely, sign me up.  But what does that mean?  Where is the government going to cut that money out of the budget?  And then there’s the war and the economy and abortion and stem cell research and energy and the environment and…  It takes a lot of work, a lot of study.  First to find out where you stand and then to suss out where exactly the nominees stand (and they’ll make you work for that information).

Call me elitist (no seriously, come over to my house, look at my hood and call me elitist) but I believe in a democracy run by people who actually find out about, and form opinions on, issues.  I’ll be the first to admit that I haven’t done nearly as much of that work as I ought but I at least know that I need to.  Did you watch it?  They’re talking to people who don’t even know that they need to register first!  Do you really want someone who can’t figure that out on their own being a part of the decision making process concerning where this country is going?

I don’t want to rock the vote.  If you just want to vote because Leonardo DiCaprio told you to then please, don’t vote!

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annette
    Oct 03, 2008 @ 10:03:44

    Amen, lady.

  2. cheryl
    Oct 03, 2008 @ 10:14:16

    Another amen. That video –immediately, I mean, I got 3 seconds into it –gave me the creeps. What a bunch of manipulative RICH people.
    Which makes me think: Why don’t the rich celebrities of the world save the polar bears? Or educate the children? They have millions and millions of dollars. How much do they really give to charity? How many of them are volunteering in schools? How many of them strap on camoflauge and go find Osama? Or give money to those who will?
    Rich celebrities chafe my hide. A bunch of hypocrites having children because it’s the “in” thing to do, manipulating the world into their way of thinking just because we saw them in a movie once. And what sucks? It works half the time. Oprah might as well call herself God with the way women fall all over her and her ideas. Gag.

    Whoa! Where did that come from? Hmmm…maybe later I’ll tell you how I REALLY feel… 😉

  3. Melanie J
    Oct 03, 2008 @ 10:32:12

    Um, ‘kay, so I’m voting Democrat, I think, and I’m betting that most of these people are too, but honestly…is condescending to people really supposed to do the trick here? Makes me not want to admit my political preference when I have these whackadoodles spouting their agenda. Yuck. Just shows how out of touch they really are.

  4. diana banana
    Oct 03, 2008 @ 11:08:51

    but they told me to vote….so i have to! its just a shame they didn’t jam down my throat who it is i’m supposed to vote for *cough cough IF YOU DON’T VOTE OBAMA I’LL KILL YOU cough cough*

  5. julie
    Oct 03, 2008 @ 11:19:19

    well I am going to vote because I studied the issues and because I like to think my vote counts in the coming election. Not because some stars tell me vote…

  6. Kori
    Oct 03, 2008 @ 12:52:52

    I loved the video; we can all complain about the youth or whoever “needing” someone famous to tell them to vote, but the reality is that these are the people-right or wrong-that our kids look up to. If it takes a movie start to get one person to make the decision to vote, then we should be glad. Also, to assume that people don’t have any idea of what the issues are because they are young is even more condescending than the video is; I know fully grown, college educated professional people who don’t have any idea what the real issues are, just as I know several “children” who have been following the election process avidly; who is better informed? These kids are going to be running our country someday-and why should anyone be allowed to say that they shouldn’t vote just because of a video? Please.

  7. bythelbs
    Oct 03, 2008 @ 15:23:48

    I only got about 40 seconds into the video. I find it all tiresome. Though I will say that I appreciate when celebrities try to use their influence for good, and voting is good. I’d rather have someone go vote because a celebrity told them to than have someone vote for a particular candidate only because a celebrity told them to. I guess.

    Congrats on the award!

  8. Alison Wonderland
    Oct 03, 2008 @ 16:03:46

    Annette- Thanks

    Cheryl- Yes, please, how do you really feel?

    Melanie- vote how you want as long as you know who and more importantly what you’re voting for.

    Diana- They don’t say but I wouldn’t call the video entirely non-partisan either.

    Julie- Good on you!

    Kori- it’s not about age it’s about education. These kids that you know don’t need Benicio delToro to tell them to vote. That’s my whole point. If they’ve been following the whole election process then they are in formed and they know the issues and they’re going to vote their opinions and that is who I want voting!
    I’m not at all saying that I don’t want kids to vote. I’m saying I hate the idea of a lot of uninformed people turning the election into a celebrity popularity contest rather than a decision about issues and where we want our country to go and how we ought to get there.

    bythelbs- I actually feel just the opposite. I’d much rather see Courtney Cox tell me how she’s voting and, more importantly, why than see her make this huge effort to get people to vote without educating them on what that vote really means.

  9. madhousewife
    Oct 03, 2008 @ 20:59:56

    I like you! I really like you!

    I’m not above pulling a reverse Sally Field.

    I’m with you on the voting thing. People who ought to be voting are the ones who don’t need to be told to vote or to register so that they can vote. If you don’t know those things already, you have a lot of catching up to do before you are ready to vote.

  10. ben
    Oct 04, 2008 @ 07:19:32

    you are all missing the point of this video. i made a request to Hollywood that they show me more jonah hill. my wish, was their command. of course they had to make some video about some relevant current topic, but whatever… i’m voting for more jonah hill.

  11. robyn
    Oct 04, 2008 @ 09:23:01

    I’m with Cheryl. After looking at Joe Biden’s taxes he gave a whopping $3,000 over ten years to charitable organizations. Let the rich provide the needs of the oppressed, instead of all the commercials!

  12. Jami
    Oct 04, 2008 @ 09:25:12

    Hemorrhaging? Just the periodic kind, I hope.

    Yeah, I’m not into encouraging people to vote if you have to give those potential voters breathing instructions.

    Congrats on your reward! Um, I mean, award.

  13. Jen
    Oct 04, 2008 @ 18:53:07

    I’ve been writing a blog in my head for weeks about this same thing!! If people aren’t interested in figuring it out the hard way, they have no right to an opinion! Getting people to vote just because they are inhaling and exhaling can’t possibly be that great of an idea!!!

    Thanks for putting it all into words for me. Nicely done:)

  14. JustRandi
    Oct 05, 2008 @ 13:48:32

    You can actually see my eyes rolling from here, right?

    I agree, if Ellen has to tell you to go vote, you’re probably not really informed enough to vote in the first place.

    What a crazy world we live in.

  15. Cj
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 23:45:55

    I blogged about this myself, but also made a speech about it to a community forum.

    It is not your civic duty to vote. It is your civic duty to be informed about the issues of the day. It is your PRIVILEGE to vote.

    Telling people to go vote, knowing – KNOWING – that if they had to actually write the name of the candidate on a blank paper in order to have their vote count, they could not do it, is like telling someone he has to take medicine, right now, without looking at the label or even considering whether he’s sick.

    No, it’s worse than that. It’s like telling someone to come over to MY house and make ME take medicine.

    My solution to this is really simple. Everyone that votes gets different colored slips of paper, a different color for every race he votes on. Then the voter has to write on the paper the name of the person he’s voting for in that race. It has to be legible. Then he puts it in the ballot box, and we’re done. This takes ten seconds and costs about a dollar per thousand votes. And, of course, cuts the number of votes for President down by half. For Senate, it cuts them by 75%. For US House, by 90%. For other races below those, the number of votes cast will be down by 95+%.

    But EVERY SINGLE VOTE will have been cast by someone that actually has an honest-to-goodness opinion about the race. EVERY VOTE will be cast by someone that knows something about what he’s voting for. Then, when my guy loses, as he nearly always does, I will know that he’s just not good enough, instead of knowing that he didn’t have enough of the right jingle-creators on staff.

    So that, of course, will never happen.

Leave a Reply

