Peach Days

My mother gave me a half a bushel of peaches. Now I
realize that to the average bear, or even the average Mormon
housewife, half a bushel is hardly even enough to be getting
started with. For most of you half a bushel is a paltry
amount, not even really worth the effort. Except for you,
using up that number of peaches isn’t a effort. But well, for
someone as domestically challenged as I it’s a daunting task.
The box of produce on my counter, I find very intimidating.
I’ve already seen a fruit fly or two and the peaches are starting
to get a little soft and I know I’ve got to get them taken care
of. I just don’t know what to do about them. One can only eat
so many bowls of peaches and Cheerios. (Despite the fact that
the one I’ had last night was quite good and the one I’m eating now
is even better.) I’m planning on making a peach crisp for
desert tonight. (That’s right, it’ll be peach crisp and ice
cream instead of brownies. Oh, who am I kidding, I’ll
probably have both.) But that is the extent of my definite
plans. Sean says that he’d like to make peach jam, (that may even
really mean that he’d be willing to
make peach jam) but neither of us knows how to make peach jam and
we don’t really have any bottles so I think that may not be the
best option. I know, in theory, how to bottle peaches. I’ve
been a part of the peach bottling process several times, but I’ve
never come anywhere near running that show and I don’t have any
bottles (as previously mentioned) nor a canner nor an army of slave
labor (kids) to do the de-skinning, pealing and slicing
necessary. (Although, my mother’s having had seven kids is
starting to make a little more sense.) realistically I think that
I’m going to slice them up, toss them into a few freezer bags and
throw them into the freezer. And then I’m going to hang some
insulation. Now if you’ll excuse me…

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kori
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 13:54:47

    Slice. Soak in a light lemon juice mixture. Sprinkle with sugar. Freeze. They will taste fresh all winter long. 🙂

  2. Catherine
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 13:58:30

    I know how daunting that box of fruit can be. I have one myself right now sitting on the counter, begging me to do something with it. And I have nothing like your excuse to ignore it. No kitchen to build, no insulation to hang, but wait…. Daniel just took off his pants and diaper. Not sure that’s quite the diversion I was looking for, but it’ll have to do.

  3. bythelbs
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 15:23:43

    Peaches. Ugh. As far as I’m concerned, the only good thing about peaches is the song: “Peaches come from a can–they were put there by a man in a factory downtown!”

    Good luck!

  4. Heidi Ashworth
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 16:08:21

    Um, I don’t work outside the home but honestly, I would not even begin to think about attempting to preserve those there peaches in my full time stay at home state. I am filled with admiration that you could even consider it with a full time job and the kidlets an all!

  5. Melanie J
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 16:11:30

    Here’s the thing about canning. What kind of sick joke is it that it has to be done during the hottest time of year?

    Just wondering.

  6. Melanie J
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 16:11:58

    Hahahahahahaha! I just saw that I’m on your blog roll! That totally made my day!

  7. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 18:58:42

    My mom used to freeze them and we loved them during the winter. There’s really no need to can them, I think (says the woman who has NO idea how to can anything or make any kind of jam.)

  8. robyn
    Sep 26, 2008 @ 19:18:00

    Alison, I’m going to leave a short comment as I have left two and they are not appearing. hmmm. If this one goes through, I may try again.

  9. robyn
    Sep 26, 2008 @ 19:21:18

    Okay now this is crazy. So here’s what you do with the peaches next time as I am sure you’v ealready figured a way to use the ones you have.

    Go to my post on how to poach peaches and then the next one on how to make a delicious dessert once they’re poached! Invite all the neIghbors or HT/VT families and call it a day!

    http://foodchronicles.blogspot.com/2007/08/poached-peaches.html

    http://foodchronicles.blogspot.com/2007/08/peche-melba.html

  10. robyn
    Sep 26, 2008 @ 19:21:41

    Success!

  11. Jami
    Sep 27, 2008 @ 09:30:28

    One particularly hot and busy week, someone doorbell ditched a huge box (more than a bushel) of peaches on my doorstep. I nearly started crying when I saw them. Not joyous. No. No. No.

  12. Lisa M
    Sep 28, 2008 @ 10:45:15

    Frozen peaches are in my so humble of opinion, the best kind. They taste so much better than canned peaches. I love them that way.

    I’m all for freezing them too. Actually to be honest, I freeze almost all of my fruit. Grapes, cherries, peaches.. Oh yum.

Leave a Reply

