Whose Idea Was This Anyway?

In my ward I’m the Relief Society, Home Family and Personal Enrichment committee chair person.  (For those of you who aren’t LDS, and even for some who are, that means I’m in charge of activities for the women.  I plan the quilting bees and the book club.)  Except that there is no committee.  (That’s the second problem.)  There’s just me.  (That’s the first.)

I’ve been trying to put together a meal exchange (each woman makes one main dish for each other woman and then we all exchange, So I come in with 4 lasagnas and leave with a pot pie and a chicken casserole and a enchilada and a pot roast [no, no one makes pot roast]).  Two weeks ago I promised the ladies that I would put the groups together and  contact them about times etc… by the next Sunday.  But I forgot to get the sign-up sheet.  The next Sunday was regional conference so we didn’t have regular church so I didn’t get the sign-up sheet.

So on Sunday I made this big announcement about how I was so sorry I was such a slacker and I was going to put the groups together this week and we were going to exchange on the first.  And I almost forgot to get the sign up sheet.  But I didn’t.  I got it.  And I took it right out of the book.  And I took it home.

And I lost it.

It gets better.

This is the second time I’ve lost a Relief Society sign-up.

Why do I have this job again?

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Sep 24, 2008 @ 03:19:12

    I’m sorry that you’re such a loser, Alison! No good! This calling is obviously to help you learn patience with yourself and possibly to learn how to keep things in a certain place and be sure to take your brain with you to your meetings. I’m sure NOBODY has ANY idea what you’re talking about. Unfortunately far too many of us never even get a sign up sheet going to lose! *sigh*

    Good luck finding that sheet!

  2. Steph @ Diapers and Divinity
    Sep 24, 2008 @ 06:52:16

    Hi, hopped over from Sue’s blog. I am the primary president and every Sunday is total CHAOS. And then all these well-meaning adults come up to me and hand me papers to pass around and random craft items to hold up and announce, and strange children I’ve never met before like I know what to do with them. Every Sunday after church, I have what I call PPE (post-primary exhaustion) and I inevitably find my bag full of stuff I forgot to hand our announce. But not strange children… just wanted to clarify that.

  3. Annette
    Sep 24, 2008 @ 06:59:48

    Get thee a committee!!!

    I’m the education counselor, and I much prefer my job to yours. (knocking on wood . . .)

  4. alison
    Sep 24, 2008 @ 07:22:15

    Currently I have the same job–i’ve lost sign-ups so often!! we just got a new enrichment counselor–who called me up and said the entire committee (including me) will be gone w/in a month.

  5. s'mee
    Sep 24, 2008 @ 09:47:03

    The church is true….everywhere! Seems we all have or have had the same experience! Last month a stake dissolved (talk about the heat lately!) and we picked up two new wards in ours just in time for our annual stake enrichment activity. Planning a dinner takes a small army to begin with, now the numbers have multiplied. Sent out sign up sheets to get a head count for meals… and yup, still out there! Some in closets, some in husbands brief case, some eaten by dogs….whatever. We’re planning for 200 and calling it a night! : )

  6. julie
    Sep 24, 2008 @ 11:10:49

    I’m on the committee too and we did a service project for a children’s receiving home. I did all that I could to find all the info about the places and what to expect from DI. I never got a call from the leader at all on the day of. But this seemed like my event.

    I was wanting to try this in my ward…

  7. sallygirl
    Sep 24, 2008 @ 11:32:59

    Gosh Alison, what’s wrong with you? I keep those lists tattooed on my forehead (or elsewhere, wink, wink!) just for this purpose! I’m thinking not only should you be released, but you should be banned from planning anything, ever. 😉

  8. GrumpyAngel
    Sep 24, 2008 @ 12:08:52

    I’m glad I’m not in charge of anything that requires a sign up sheet. But I went to our RS board meeting last Thursday and I was supposed to e-mail the sisters something this weekend and it’s now Tuesday and I have not gotten around to it. You maybe absent minded but I’m just a plain slacker. Obviously I’m the greater sinner, Sistah! That’s supposed to make you feel better, but —

  9. bythelbs
    Sep 24, 2008 @ 15:16:11

    I think you should go to church on Sunday, fess up to what happened, and then pull out a piece of poster board and ask anyone who is still interested to sign up on that. You can’t lose it, right? Plus people will laugh over your cleverness and not be so annoyed that you can’t keep track of a simple piece of paper.

    It would be even more fun if you had one of those giant novelty pens/pencils to go with it.

  10. Melanie J
    Sep 24, 2008 @ 15:16:38

    I have three callings, all of which involve being organized. I am not an organized person. I can only assume that this is three times the effort to help me learn something new. Like how to organize.

  11. mary
    Sep 24, 2008 @ 16:40:57

    I guess being the nursery lady isn’t that bad.
    Oh and did you go to the regional conference at the conference center, if you did that means we were in the same room together, special huh?

  12. robyn
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 07:58:26

    Within the month! Woohoo! Enrichment is definitely one of the hardest jobs in the church. Trying to figure out something that appeals to the masses is hard enough. Then keeping track of the sign ups???? Good luck!

  13. charrette
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 09:49:51

    I would be an utter disaster. Actually I’ve had that calling twice. Probably because I never got it right. But put me in front of a class with a piece of chalk in my hand and i’m in heaven!

  14. Jami
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 11:40:04

    I’d like to bear my testimony that Heavenly Father has a sense of humor in addition to all of his other wonderful qualities.

  15. Pink Ink
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 13:46:21

    Hi! I had to check your blog out per Annette’s recommendation :-). Good to know I’m not the only one who is “losing it” some days!

  16. Lisa M
    Sep 28, 2008 @ 10:47:35

    We did a similar thing. Clustered into groups. Each a night of the work week. Mondays I would take casseroles to four other houses. Then, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday I would receive meals.

    It rocked. We did that for about six weeks. It was fantastic, worked great.

    Every so often a weird meal, but ya know. It’s good to have green jello salad with shredded cheese and cherries, every so often!

  17. Lisa M
    Sep 28, 2008 @ 10:48:17

    I meant, six months. Not weeks. Sheesh, I can’t even type. Forget about a sign up sheet!

Leave a Reply

