Personality Traits and Other Dysfunctions

One of the doctors that I work with pretty regularly told me the other day that I was the most cynical person he knows.

I’m wondering what it says about me that I took that as an enormous compliment?

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kori
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 08:17:56

    I prefer to think of not as cynisism (I think I spelled that wrong)but instead realism.

  2. chronicler/robyn
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 08:24:59

    Hehehe. It’s growing up around all those politicians that did it. Oh and then couching the statement by who said it I’m sure was a bit of a contribution.

  3. Catherine
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 09:07:09

    Must run in the family. That was the #1 complaint of most of my college roommates. I also prefer to think of it as realism and consider it one of my endearing qualities.

  4. Heidi Ashworth
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 09:14:43

    Hi–You and Greg House, both proud of being cynical. Gotta love it! Anywho, I wanted to comment about your book and looking for an agent. Avalon Books publishes mysteries and you don’t need an agent to submit, just the first three chapters and a two page synopsis. You can find their publishing guidelines on their website http://www.avalonbooks.com (Getting an agent to take on a new writer is veryyyyyyy hard.)

    I have a novel coming out with them in December but it’s not a mystery so I don’t know too much about their guidelines except that they don’t want a lot of romance in their mysteries–they want a pretty straight forward who-dunnit. I wish you luck!

  5. Melanie J
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 10:07:20

    I try not to be a cynic but it’s hard to fight nature.

  6. julie
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 12:54:08

    We must be 100% opposite b/c I have had several people tell me I’m the most optimistic person they’ve ever met! hahah

  7. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 12:58:49

    I too am cynical by nature–I try to fight it, but humans keep giving me reasons to be cynical.

  8. Jami
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 13:46:19

    Human behavior, the building blocks of cynicism. It’s not cynical to recognize dysfunction. It’s insightful.

  9. bythelbs
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 17:33:12

    I don’t know what it says about you, but it’s likely one of the reasons I’m a fan.

  10. cheryl
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 08:58:56

    Ha! I’m the antithesis; I’m always the optimist. Or, I try to be, except when it just makes no sense and is downright stupid to be positive. But hey, a healthy dose of realism goes a long way, baby!

  11. Trooper Thorn
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 14:03:32

    It means you are not easily folled by lousy compliments.

    Thanks for your entry on my story contest. Nicely done in one sentence.

  12. madhousewife
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 16:55:06

    I think it says you’re even more cynical than I am.

    I mean that as a compliment.

  13. charrette
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 06:43:30

    Hahaha! And I took it as a compliment when a member of the high council said my sunday school class was subversive!

Leave a Reply

