Decision 2008

No, I’m not talking about the presidential election, boring much? (Actually I have a political post half written in my drafts but who knows if I’ll ever actually finish it.)  I’m talking about this.

For those of you who aren’t going to follow that link, it’s a book that being put together by Sue, the best blogger ever and no, I’m not just sucking up ok maybe I am a little.  alright, a lot and I think some other folks, to benefit the Nie Nie fund.  I don’t know Nie Nie, I didn’t read her blog before the accident but I’ve been over a bit since then and she seems like a nice enough gal.  But I’m going to be honest with you, that’s not why I’m submitting.  Hello!  did you not see that’s it’s a chance to be published?  Granted, self published but not self published by myself. Self published by someone else’s self which is almost like being legitimately published.  And I have to submit and be chosen so it’s kind of contest-like and you best believe that that would be going into my query letter (assuming I ever get around to querying again).  The fact that it’s for a good cause is just icing.

Back to the point, which is that I don’t know what to submit.  I could write something original but I’m not sure I’m up to that at the moment so unless something interesting happens around the Wonderland in the next few days, I’m down to scrounging through my archives.

I could submit Anthropomorphism but that’s kind of been around ya, know.  It’s been here obviously, but then they reposted it over at the annex so I think the funny there may be all used up.  (And now that I check the rules I don’t think it qualifies anyway.)

I was also thinking about the Costco post.  That one’s only been here but it’s gotten a bit of attention.  I mean Suburban Corespondent even read it and commented (I know, it was like a dream come true.  Yes, sucking up again, so sue me).  It’s pretty funny I think but to me its more of a funny thing that happened than great writing. (Busily ignoring the voice in my head that’s saying If I’m looking for great writing I really ought to look elsewhere.)

The third front runner (and my personal favorite) is the Superhero post.  I think this one is one of my very best.  I to my mind it’s the most under appreciated post in my archives.  Sure I’d rework it a bit but I think it’s pretty good writing about something that could happen to just about any couple any time.

Thoughts?  Am I missing one?  I have until the 30th to submit so I got time.  C’mon tell me, I can take it.

______________________________________

PS A super huge congratulations to my pal Annie who’s just had a column picked up at a local newspaper. (Not one that’s actually local to her but it’s local to her folks and it’s the hometown and … why the heck am I telling you all this?  It’s not like you asked.)   Anyway, Jaime and Bythelbs and anyone else in WA, I don’t know how close you are but if you can get the Vidette you really should check Annie out.  She was Miss Grays Harbor 1997 after all.

Congrats Annie, even though I’m mad at you for another reason (check your email) you’re still my hero!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jami
    Sep 15, 2008 @ 17:34:44

    I’ll go read and tell you which one gives me the biggest chuckle. (It’ll take me a couple days, because, oddly enough, the six little monkeys to whom I gave birth want ongoing care. Who knew?)

  2. bythelbs
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 00:19:03

    The Superhero post is the first one of yours I read, I think. It’s a goody. I cast my vote for that one.

  3. e
    Sep 27, 2008 @ 22:24:56

    I just assumed you would use anthropomorphism, but Superhero is really good too. Either way, but I think you’re right about Costco. So flip a coin between the other two.

Leave a Reply

