A Day Late and Um, Could You Spot Me A Buck?

So Kate and Brillig host a weekly blog thing called Soap Opera Sundays the idea is that you link in a write a soapy story, preferably real but I don’t suppose they have researchers checking on your story, something about some guy you had a twelve year on again off again relationship with or a great love triangle or if you’ve got one about someone who died and then came back to life I think that would go over really well.  I’ve never participated but I’ve wanted to.

Anyway, last month they came up with the bright idea to have a monthly theme so rather than just writing a ramdom soapy story you write about your first love, first kiss, craziest date, whatever.  They started with first kisses.  Again I wanted to contribute but I just couldn’t really think of any retellable story.  Until I was doing the dishes tonight.  And I remembered.  How could I have forgotten?

So here it is, better late than never.

From the time that I first started dating when I was fourteen in high school I was pretty much a serial monogamist.  I had three boyfriends in high school, the shortest of these relationships lasting six months.  And I always had a boyfriend.  Except for a few minutes at the end of my junior year.

The end of my junior year I had become… disenfranchised, shall we say, with the music department so I looked around and found- Theatre.  And with the theatre department came Jeff.  (I’ll call him Jeff because, well, that’s his name.)  Jeff was not the star of the stage.  He was the star of the backstage.  He was the go to guy if it needed to be done in black.  He was tall, he was dark, and I was unacountably and unacostomably single, so he was hansom.

We flirted, constantly, for a few weeks but- he had a girlfriend at another school.  Things were, of course, not going well with Kathy.  (I’ll call her Kathy because I have no idea what her name was.)  She was silly, she was needy, she was distant, who knows?  Oh and, people weren’t really made to be monogamous anyway.  I know his arguments were silly and obvious but what can I say, I was in high school and I was smitten.  I was in deep smit.

But I didn’t kiss him.  I couldn’t kiss him while he had a girlfriend.  So we danced around that for a week or so.  We’d sit and flirt, and chat and flirt, and he’d move in closer and flirt.  And I wanted to kiss him.  And he wanted me to kiss him, he really wanted me to kiss him.  And he’d move in and I really wanted to kiss him but I just couldn’t do it.

One day after a rehearsal we were closing up the theatre.  He made sure the seats were all up and the house floor clean and I took the stage.  I swept and straightened up and made sure that all on the stage was as it should be.  Then I turned off the lights.

And then an arm snaked around my waist and gently but firmly I was pulled up against a hard chest, and then he was kissing me.  Really kissing me.  He had an arm around my waist and a hand in my hair and I wasn’t supposed to kiss this boy but Oh My Goodness he was already kissing me and it had been a while and he was really good at it.

And then he pulled away a little to kiss my neck and maybe nibble a little on my ear and he said, “I forgot to mention, I broke up with Kathy.”  And so I let him kiss me.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kateastrophe
    Sep 01, 2008 @ 22:40:41

    Oh I’m so glad you played! Sorry the links were down.

    What a great story! I love it!

  2. Jaime
    Sep 02, 2008 @ 08:42:06

    I definitely just spent like 10 minutes trying to figure out who your boyfriend was for Freshman and Sophomore year and then the light bulb went on . . . my brother! How soon we forget! Good story!

  3. Melanie J
    Sep 02, 2008 @ 08:58:12

    Deep smit! Ha ha ha ha ha ha!

  4. diana banana
    Sep 02, 2008 @ 09:28:06

    you harlot….our mother reads this!

  5. bythelbs
    Sep 02, 2008 @ 12:32:15

    You brazen hussy!

    I also loved “in deep smit”.

    How long did you and Jeff last?

  6. Alison Wonderland
    Sep 02, 2008 @ 13:51:08

    Jamie, you’re cracking me up! How could you forget that?

    Diana, I know, I thought about starting the post with a note to mom not to read this… but I forgot.

    Bythelbs, As I recall Jeff and I never even really made it to boyfriend girlfriend status, much to my chagrin so probably only another week or so.

    And I too love the deep smit line, I use it at every opportunity I get.

  7. sallygirl
    Sep 02, 2008 @ 14:15:57

    I only wish my first kiss was that awesome! Great story!!

  8. grumpyangel
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 01:38:28

    That was cute and really funny. I can’t believe you didn’t remember that kiss right away for SOS. I’ve been stalking SOS, and I love the first kiss stories. As my British in-laws would say, you cheeky monkey!

  9. Jen in MI
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 09:59:35

    You are such a marvelous writer. Truly. I love reading your pieces!

  10. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 12:18:34

    “In deep smit” is so clever. Great story!

Leave a Reply

