Please Sir, Can I Have Some More?

Have I mentioned that I hate sharing my food?

I would like to sit and have “breakfast’ at 4:00 in the afternoon without Irish1 on my lap eating all the peach slices out of my Cheerios.

it’s not that I don’t want to feed my children, it’s not even that I begrudge them good food.  It’s just that sometimes I’m starving because I was too tired to eat after I got off work so I just wnt to bed so when I wake up in the afternoon I’m so hungry that my stomach has started to injest my other internal organs but I take the time to slice up a peach and I pour myself a big bowl of Cheerios and then that dang kid thinks that he can just sit on my lap and eat all the best parts!

It’s just another example of the amazing self sacrifice that is such an integral part of my nature… cough, cough, cough.  Moving on.

I’m not the only one who doesn’t want to share with her children.  I don’t really remember trying to eat my mother’s meals (although I”m sure it happened.)  But I clearly recall several of my mother’s treat hiding places (let’s face it, she had seven kids, she clearly deserved some kind of special treat.  But she had seven kids, she was never going to succeed at keeping it from us.)  And now it’s come full circle.  I ocasionally have a treat stashed away and so far I’m fairly successful at keeping it to myself but Irish1’s just gettign older and bolder, I think the days of getting my own treats are rapidly coming to a close, I already have to share my Cheerios.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Catherine
    Aug 27, 2008 @ 17:06:25

    Amen. It doesn’t matter what it is. If I sit down at the table with it, Daniel is instantly at my side saying
    “I want somma dat.”

  2. melanie
    Aug 27, 2008 @ 18:25:37

    ditto! I just say no and move on… i am already the meanest mom, why not make it true?

  3. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Aug 27, 2008 @ 20:30:59

    Oh so sad but true. The little stinkers think whatever we have belongs to them.

  4. zstitches
    Aug 27, 2008 @ 21:34:07

    I swore I wouldn’t have treat stashes like my mom did. But that was before I knew that, while on my own I could make a treat last for a week or two, when it was shared with the family it was gone in an hour. My kids are onto me, though, and now I can’t go into my sewing room without kids following me in begging for Jelly Bellies.

  5. A Free Man
    Aug 29, 2008 @ 06:17:17

    I can totally relate to this. It’s not selfishness, just a little idiosyncracy. Sometimes the boy wears me down, though.

  6. angela michelle
    Aug 31, 2008 @ 22:18:51

    I totally agree. The urgent desire to sit down and eat something, unrushed, not dodging a little head worming up onto your lap. Sometimes I ask my husband, “Will you please protect me and just let me eat this meal start to finish in peace?”

  7. Annette
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 18:35:15

    I thought my mom was selfish for having her chocolate stashes (in places we could NEVER find them–she was briliant that way).

    Now I get it. I have my own ways of hiding treats or eating them when they kids will never see it. It’s a way to keep the mommy happy. No guilt. None. The way I see it, calories don’t even count. Right? Right.

Leave a Reply

