Too Cool For School

There’s a photo on my parents’ fridge of Julie, my quasi sister, and my father at a young womens’ activity.  Julie is dressed up like Belle from Disney’s Beauty and the Beast and my dad is dressed as Crazy Old Maurice, Belle’s father.  They’re both hamming it up and having a grand ol’ time.  I would never have done that.  My older siblings would never have done that.  My little sister who’s the same age as Julie would never have done that.  Every time I see that picture I’m so glad that my father finally got a daughter who was not too cool to actually have a good time.

I wrote the other day about how I’m totally ignorant of things that do not directly affect me and about how I’m the stereotypical American but I forgot to mention how much better than everyone else I am.  You see, I’m too good to do what everyone else is doing. Obviously, if the masses find it fun then it’s too low brow for the likes of me.

Case in point, American Idol.  In that same post the other day I mentioned that I had never voted for the American Idol.  It’s true, I haven’t.  In fact I’m not sure that I’ve ever watched an entire episode.  I have seen bits here and there, I do live in the US after all, but I’m not an Idol watcher, a fact that I make sure to point out whenever Idol comes up.  See how much better than you I am?  I don’t waste my time with that kind of reality TV.

Biggest Loser?  So You Think You Can Dance?  Last Comic Standing?  Well, Yeah, but those are…

They’re no different at all.  In fact some of them (last comic) are probably less entertaining.  And a lot of me knows that.  I’ve made a point of missing idol because I know I’ll like it and I don’t want to be a girl who watches American Idol.  It’s as simple as that.  I’m intentionally missing out on something that I know I’d enjoy so that I can feel superior.  What’s wrong with me?

I did the same with Harry Potter for a good two years.  I heard the talk, I was told how great Harry Potter was, how it wasn’t just for kids, how I’d love it.  But… but everyone else was reading it.  So I didn’t want to.  It wasn’t until a moment of desperation, nothing on TV, nothing else to do, that I finally picked up The Sorcerer’s Stone.  And?  I was hooked.  Of course!  You know what?  Everybody loves them because they’re good!

And sometimes people don’t love them.  I’ve watched an episode on Desperate Housewives, I watched it during the first season when it was supposed to be such an amazing, fantastic show.  Meh, it didn’t do anything for me.  There’s a gal who’s blog I read who didn’t like a certain book that everyone’s reading. (I will disclose neither the blogger nor the book as it’s my understanding that she’s been verbally (legibly?) abused for her opinion on the matter.) She read it, she didn’t like it.  That’s a reason not to read the second, third or even fourth books in the series.  The fact that so many people read them and did like them is not.  There are occasionally commercials for new shows that look to me to be awful! The ads themselves turn the stomach a bit (something about secrets aired on national television or televised truth or dare or something).  That is another good reason not to watch, the fact that everyone else is, isn’t.

I know I’m not the only one who does this, I read the post of another bloggy friend’s the other day that made it clear that she does this too, maybe we all do.  But I do it a lot and I’m going to try to stop.  It’s not that I want to be the “follow the crowd” postergirl but at the same time I wonder what pleasures, what harmless entertainment I may have been denying myself because I felt some need to not follow.

So if you’ll excuse me, my cousin lent me Breaking Dawn today and I’ve got to get to it.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annette
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 17:05:11

    This is part of human nature, I think. I avoided HP for the same reasons. I’m an avid LM Montgomery fan, but my sister refused to read it for years for this same reason–then one day caught part of the movie accidentally and realized that wow, she DID like it.

    I’m not in the Twilight camp, although prior to cracking it open, I thought I would be. But I’m slowly working my way through the series anyway because I have three daughters and will need to be armed and know what it’s about so I can discuss it with them if and when they want to read it. But for me? It’s like DH was for you. Meh.

    And the great thing? THAT’S OKAY. We’re all entitled to our opinions. Yay for opinions! 😀

  2. alison
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 17:11:41

    I find myself doing this also. I started reading HP before I knew about the hype–my friend & librarian would recommend books for me to read.
    I found the Twilight series to be fun–but I’m not obsessed w/them.
    I really don’t enjoy Idol, or B.Loser, or Survivor–and so forth. The only reality show I like is Amazing Race.
    My sister LOVED the Little House series and Nancy Drew–so of course I avoided them. Happen to adore Nancy Drew now, but still can’t get into Little House. I’m ok if my kids like things I’m not too crazy about, and I understand that my friends and I aren’t into the same things–that’s nature. Wish my mom could understand that.

  3. Brillig
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 20:15:03

    Haha. Well, yeah. I SAY I won’t get into it… and then… well, I bought and read the book the day it was released. hahaha. 😀

  4. Allison
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 20:51:36

    Yeah, I’m like that, too.

    Pretty much if everyone else likes it, I stay away from it. Which is kind of dumb when I think about it. Everyone says it’s awesome, I won’t go near it. Books, movies, tv shows, even styles. I love that cute asymmetrical bob that’s so popular right now, but would never get it because it’s too trendy. I can’t stand Oprah because everyone thinks she’s wonderful. (And she really does get on my nerves.) I refuse to see the new Batman. I don’t even have a good reason for it other than I think it’s overhyped because of Heath Ledger’s death.

    It really makes no sense. I don’t want to be un-trendy, either. Even a psychologist would probably be confused by the mixed messages I’m sending.

    Hey, email me with your email address so I can add you to my blog list! allisonluce78@gmail.com

  5. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Aug 17, 2008 @ 16:46:03

    I’ve done this, too. And then I cave and get on the bandwagon. Random examples: knee-high boots, Napoleon Dynamite, TiVo–I’m sure there are more. Except I’m not that way with books–I read HP right away (well, I WAS an 8th-grade teacher and I had to know what kind of book had gotten the kids addicted to reading) and even though I didn’t think the Twilight series would be my thing, I gave it a chance and had fun reading them. So I guess I’m getting more open-minded as I age. 😉

  6. sallygirl
    Aug 17, 2008 @ 18:52:57

    I’m sort of like this. I love a lot of the “must-read” books, but I won’t go out and buy them the day they are available. I’m the kind of self-righteous snob that jumps on the list at the library the moment a release date is announced so that I will still have it on the first day, and I haven’t forked out the money for it.

    See, now I’m better than you because I still got the book on the first day and I have money to go to the movies, too! 😉

  7. chronicler
    Aug 18, 2008 @ 07:40:44

    Interesting. I’ve never looked at it from that angle. I don’t watch a lot of those shows you mention because I don’t like them. How many times can one watch someone jump around to hip hop music? How many times can you watch a bunch of people murder perfectly good songs? America’s Got Talent? Well from the looks of the commercials, they still haven’t found it! Hmmmm. Maybe I am a snob too!

  8. E
    Aug 18, 2008 @ 21:33:18

    But you didn’t use the best example. We’ve talked about this…..

    The (very strong) desire to have a fifth child just because “I don’t want to have FOUR kids, EVERYONE has FOUR KIDS!”

    And if my husband would let me, I’l do it, too.

Leave a Reply

