In Which I Expose My Ignorance

Green Day has made millions of dollars decrying the ignorance of the American public and I totally agree!  “Don’t want to be an American idiot, One nation controlled by the media.”  I sing along, I wave my arms, love it!  Look at all these people who have no real idea what’s going on.  They watch American Idol and Desperate Housewives and don’t even know the difference between a republican and a democrat.  Naturally, I feel somehow exempt from this indictment.  I’m socially conscious, I think things through, I’m educated, that’s obvious isn’t it?  I do listen to Green Day after all.  *Snort*

I like to believe that I’m smarter than the average bear, and maybe I am but I do absolutely nothing with that.  I am the stereotypical American.  It is possible, probable even, that I read a little more than the average gal (because reading Janet Evonovich novels is obviously a sign of superior intellect and social consciousness) and I can honestly say that I have never voted for an “American Idol” (something I can’t help but throw in there because it makes me feel somehow virtuous) but I don’t have any idea what’s going on with Russia and Georgia.  Heck, I didn’t even know how to spell Georgia, I had to look it up! ( I know it seems obvious but it could have been Jorja or something.  I don’t know!)  I didn’t even know there was a country named Georgia.

I grew up just outside of Washington DC, my father has worked in government on either national or local levels my whole life.  I have no interest in politics.  I like to give those two facts a cause and effect but if I’m really honest maybe I have no interest because I’m not responsible enough to take an interest.  I do know the difference between a democrat and a republican though.  Democrats, like Barack Obama and Kristen Day are pro-abortion and republicans, like John McCain and Rudy Guiliani are Pro-life.   Oh, wait…  (Before you write me a scathing comment follow the links.)

In my defense I did watch a little of the news the other night (I hate the news!) and the guy was reporting from Beijing on- wait for it-  FAST FOOD!!!!!! I kid you not, he went to Beijing and he prepared a report on McDonalds, Pizza Hut and KFC (not too popular with the Chineses apparently).  Is it any wonder that I hate the news?  Granted that was the local news but CNN, which is on all day at the hospital, isn’t really much better.  The news there runs on a roughly 45 minute loop and I can’t tell you how many reports I’ve seen about Britney Spears and Paris Hilton but it’s a big number.  Isn’t there a war going on?

And when they’re not reporting on Lindsey Lohan, it’s teacher who are having sex with their students and other pedophiles.  I work in a childrens’ hospital, I don’t need more things to worry for my kids about.  i know it happens, offer a solution or keep your mouth shut.

Maybe, probably, that’s the real problem.  I find the news depressing, (wars and rumors of wars much?) and politicians are people so their positions are confusing (unlike mine as stated here which are crystal clear) and I already expend a vast amount of mental energy in a day on things like what’s for dinner and where are my shoes, I just don’t have time for “news.”  But It’s becoming more and more difficult to feel superior when I hear things that implicate the ignorant American Masses.

The only solution, for my ignorance,  I can come up with, assuming I want to, is to *gulp* start reading the newspaper.  So that’s my goal.  I’m starting small.  For the next week I will try to read one real article a day about real news. This, unfortunately excludes stories on the fast food in foreign countries and the relative chances of the dancers on “So You Think You Can Dance” (I’ll still read that one, I just won’t count it).  I don’t get the paper and I’m too cheep and lazy to start but I figure if I look I can find some decent stuff online right?  Well, you read it here, so now you can hold me to it.

Or maybe I’ll just go check out Fearless Fourteen and wonder why I occasionally hear stuff about Georgia and Russia.  What are Russians doing in the southeastern United States anyway?

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annette
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 18:04:39

    Pretty much irrelevant to your post, but now I want to try an Evanovich novel . . .

  2. julie
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 19:24:45

    I find news depressing too. Yeah I’m in the fluff area of news because of all the bickering. I too have read janet and love her books along with twilight..I know heavy ready. Right now I have jane austin…so I agree with you and I have the 5 yelling kids all around me.

  3. Stephanie
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 19:32:03

    Enjoyed reading this. Found it from Annie’s blog (Tingle Town). I’ll be visiting again!

  4. diana banana
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 20:13:58

    seriously, how dare you spell lindsay lohan’s name wrong. hahahahah now you know what how socially conscious i am.

    i did know georgia was a country though.

  5. knucchi
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 20:16:20

    14 definately wasn’t as good as the previous ones, but i’d much rather read that then the news…

  6. s'mee
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 21:05:13

    Reading the newspaper is a beginning, however it too is bias depending on who the publisher is. Where to find good news? Who knows? I think the best bet is to read/listen to a few different sources, including those from outside the U.S., like BBC, just to get another perspective. The fact is we get too much newsertainment and not enough reality. But then currently “reality” has a new meaning: entertainment.

  7. sallygirl
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 00:26:43

    Given my vast knowledge of all things trivial, I’ve read enough to know that I can’t believe anything I hear or read in the news. I can believe enough to know that something is going on, but that’s about it.

    Sad, isn’t it?

  8. Trooper Thorn
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 00:35:33

    It’s true that people have to make an effort to get informed. Otherwise something will fill the gap, whether it’s liberal radio, conservative news, Hollywood sensationalism or conspiracy theorists. It’s the same in every country too, not just the US.

    Thanks for you comments on underage Chinese gymnasts.

  9. Lisa
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 07:21:17

    Oh! CNN in Europe is quite different from it’s American branch, although it has that same liberal slant. It’s nice to be able to watch world news and really get news about the world.

    I’ve been wondering what Americans make of the whole Georgia/Russia thing. In Poland people have a definite opinion on it, besides just knowing about Georgia and it’s background. I believe you’ve inspired me to write a post about the conflict (I was considering this before, but now I will for sure).

    I totally consider myself an ignorant American, but I’m lucky to have a European husband (an involved one that cares about stuff that’s going on) and live in Europe as well.

    Okay, sorry for writing my own post here, but last thing. I’ve seen you around (love your blog title) but I’ve never actually visited until today (after seeing you on Blogger’s Annex). I’m kicking myself because it’s gonna take me forever to read through your archives, but I feel I must… Glad to meet you!!

  10. Catherine
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 13:28:54

    I get my weekly dose of stupid news channels at the gym. The big headline today on Headline News? Someone found a dead bigfoot somewhere in the southeastern US (I think perhaps Georgia even). This is news people?
    “Hey Mom, I find it interesting that you refer to the Weekly World News as, “The paper.” The paper contains facts.”
    “This paper contains facts. And this paper has the eighth highest circulation in the whole wide world. Right? Plenty of facts. “Pregnant man gives birth.” That’s a fact.”
    Name that movie…

  11. chronicler
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 20:28:56

    News?!!? What is the news? A consortium of media outlets begging you to watch them by providing sensational coverage of nonsense. bleh. Then again, we do need to read a variety of sources to filter through the stories to get to the real news. By variety I mean to read from international sources not only local or U.S. sources.

    Which newspaper have you chosen to read?

    Is the plural of Chinese, Chineses? 😉

  12. Alison Wonderland
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 21:33:26

    Catherine- It’s from So I Married An Ax Murderer and anyone who didn’t know that isn’t really welcome here. Or they could immediately go watch it.

  13. Annie
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 23:48:21

    Wait, isn’t Georgia close to Florida? My husband Jason’s in Georgia! Why is Russia attacking it? Is it because Jason’s there? I’m calling my Senator.

  14. E
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 15:52:23

    So I Married and Ax Murderer, is probably my favorite movie. That or Casablanca. How’s that for a contradiction?

    I was also going to tease you about “reading” Janet Evanovich. My friends all give me a hard time because I “read” the way you read. As my neighbor put it, “you could be illiterate for all I know.” I told her that I do use my eyes and ears for the really important stuff-Harry Potter #7 for example. I wasn’t waiting for the audio version to come in at the library.

  15. Melanie J
    Aug 18, 2008 @ 21:49:44

    I don’t hate all news but I loathe local television news and Fox Cable news with a passion. Ask my husband: I can do hours on this topic.

    However, I love me some Janet Evanovich. Lulu. Grandma Mazur. Good stuff.

  16. A Free Man
    Aug 26, 2008 @ 00:52:04

    I wouldn’t feel to bad about it, I don’t think most people know what’s going on over there. It seems to kind of correlate with which side of the ideological fence you line up on. Of course, there could be some gray there amongst all the black and white…

    Enjoying having a read of your site. Came from Dogs & Jeans.

Leave a Reply

