Lest You Think I’m Going All Girly on You

I pulled out my beloved power tools and built this.It’s not the most professional thing I’ve ever put together but it is built entirely out of scraps so I think that counts for something.

What is it? you ask.  It’s a cage for the bunny that I’m allowing my mother-in-law to give to my children, against my better judgment.

It does have some cool features though, like a removable floor and a big door with the little door in it.  The big door’s good for cleaning and getting the bunny out, the small door should be perfect for changing food and water with minimal bunny escapage.

So that was today’s project.  Tomorrow maybe I’ll repaint the bench.

What’s going on with the kitchen?

Well, we have a friend from the ward who frames (in addition to other things) for a living.  And he’s framing it for us but he’s doing it for free (I’m going to try to pay him but I’m sure not anywhere near his usual rate) so I can’t expect him to be here when he’s got real paying gigs so it’s going slowly.

I’ll post pictures as soon as it’s all framed in.

PS The rug has already started unraveling.  *Sigh*

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Aug 11, 2008 @ 18:09:18

    Impressive. I am sure that any bunny cage I built would have holes big enough for the bunny to escape. You know, where I measured once, cut twice. 😉

  2. Allison
    Aug 11, 2008 @ 22:02:22

    Awesome. I wish I was handy like that.

    We had a bunny when we first got married. He was litter box trained and really cool. He hopped around the house. I have no idea how to make them cool like that, though, he was that way when we got him.

    I was admiring your rug, too. I bought one (it was expensive, too), and it unraveled pretty quickly. Highly disappointing. But with practice, I bet you could perfect the art. If you felt like it, that is.

    I haven’t been commenting lately, but I have stopped in and read your posts. That sounds really creepy, actually. I didn’t do it in a weirdo way, just an “I don’t have anything really great to add” way.

  3. Lisa M
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 09:45:57

    Bunnies are one of the lowest maintance pets we have ever had, and honey, you’d be hard pressed to find a family who has had a bigger variety than ours.

    Currently my most favorite is our chickens.

    Bunnies rock. This cage looks wonderful.

    Impressive.

    I am with Allison on the rug thing. My handmade ones and my expensive store bought ones, have all come apart fairly quickly.

    S’mee or Chronicler might know a trick. They KNOW everything. (Or close) *smile*

  4. Annie
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 14:49:47

    I was totally impressed until you said yes to the bunnies. AL-I-SON. Haven’t you heard about what bunnies do? She’s probably knocked up and your MIL just wants to ruin your life. You’re going to need a bigger hutch.

  5. Dollie
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 15:25:12

    Yay for projects… now what can you build for kid escapage that is legal 😉 😛

  6. Trooper Thorn
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 00:16:09

    Lucky bunnies. I just found your blog and your book. I’m going to give it a read. Right of the bat I like your protagonist’s name.

Leave a Reply

