Ten Years Ago Today

I woke up in the apartment that Sean and I had been living in for the previous week. (Oh, come on, we got the apartment and bought some stuff and we were both hanging out there all the time anyway, so why not both sleep there?  We were good, one of us almost always slept on the couch.  But don’t tell my mom.  If she asks, Sean was living with his aunt and uncle.)  I put my hair in curlers, and spent extra (that’s code for any) time on my makeup.

Ten years ago today, we hopped into Sean’s cute little Honda Civic with his father and headed downtown.  I took the curlers out of my hair in the parking lot before we headed across the street to the temple.  When we checked in I didn’t have my gown with me, although I did have my shoes.  I wasn’t wearing my gown for a while anyway and my sister would bring it when she finished making it.  The lack of gown worried the very nice little old lady at the front desk but I wasn’t worried.  Nothing could bother me.

I headed into the brides room and got dressed.  My sisters both said that they cried in the brides room (they didn’t look quite how they had always pictured) but I thought I looked great!  I wore the same dress I wear every time I go to the temple, the same dress I’ll wear this weekend when Sean and I will get to sit for a few quiet moments in the celestial room again, just like we did ten years ago today.

Because ten years ago today, Sean and I knelt across an alter from one another.  He took me by the hand and he became mine, and I became his.  Forever.

In the intervening years we’ve laughed together a lot and cried together some.  We’ve brought four other people into the world and we’ve laughed and cried with and over them.  We’ve had 3 homes, at least 8 cars, 2 pets (not including about a billion fish).  We’ve watched  roughly a billion movies and eaten several times our weight in brownies and ice cream. We’ve stuck up for each other, and picked on each other.  We’ve been the best of friends, and some days we’ve been … not friends.  We’ve understood one another without words and we’ve talked our hearts out and never really known what the other was trying to say.

But when all is said and done, I’d still rather hang out with him than anyone else and if I had to do it over again, I’d absolutely do just what I did, ten years ago today.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. knucchi
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 07:07:47

    Happy Anniversary! 🙂

  2. alison
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 07:22:31

    Happy 10th!

  3. Annette
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 07:51:07

    Here’s to another ten great years. Congratulations!

  4. julie
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 08:11:40

    Happy anniversary to you….

  5. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 15:16:00

    Happy anniversary! Such a lovely story.

  6. bythelbs
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 23:36:59

    That was beautiful. Seriously.

    “We’ve understood one another without words and we’ve talked our hearts out and never really known what the other was trying to say.”

    Beautiful.

    Happy 10th!

  7. suburbancorrespondent
    Aug 07, 2008 @ 06:01:00

    That’s so sweet! Happy Anniversary!

Leave a Reply

