6 Years Ago Today

I was huge and hot and having trouble walking because the fully grown baby that was still inside me was sitting on a nerve that ran down my right leg.  July that year was the hottest month in the history of the state.  No, not just because I was 9 months pregnant, it actually broke the record for hottest month (it may still carry that record, I don’t know) and we had no air conditioning.  Good times.

6 years ago today I had to work.  I was working at Fred Meyer at the time and during most of my pregnancy (and thereafter) I worked the U-scan, self checkout.  Which really just means that I stood at a computer screen and… stood at a computer screen.  Due to my advanced state of pregnancy I asked at one point if there was any way I could get a stool and sit rather than stand through my 8 hour shift.  There wasn’t.

So 6 years ago today I went to work and stood for 8 hours and at some point in there my water broke a little but not much (and there’s a chance that I didn’t recognize it as what it was and thought I was just peeing on myself slightly more than usual) and I kept working and the store closed and I counted my till and at about 11:30pm I went home.

6 years ago tomorrow I delivered a baby at 7:15am.  (I’m not saying that that’s related to the standing and working.  I’m just saying…)

You see, 6 years ago tomorrow my water broke for real (for reals for real) at about 4:15am.  I shot out of bed and into the bathroom until the flood subsided and then I got dressed thinking that now that the “water” was out I’d be dry.  And then I got dressed again (I used a pad this time).

Sean called my cousin who came over to watch the Princess, who had woken up when I did, since she was in our bed, of course, (have I mentioned that my kids don’t sleep) and who, when she heard me say that my water had broken, asked, “can you fix it?”

6 years ago tomorrow I got to the hospital about 5:00am (by this point my pants were wet) and told the nurses what had happened.  I still wasn’t really in labor.

We went in and sat and labor started and it didn’t hurt and then it did hurt and I asked for my epidural but the anestesiologist was doing a c-section so I waited.  And then I got my epidural as the baby was crowning (I was lying on my side and I said, “I can feel the baby’s head” and the nurse said, “I can see the baby’s head.”) And the epidural didn’t really work (did I mention that the baby was crowning?) But it wasn’t long before I pushed twice (that’s a lot for me) and I had a baby.

6 years ago tomorrow the Pea was born.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melanie J
    Aug 04, 2008 @ 13:40:44

    So two babies, and my water has broken twice. Early, twice. Without being in labor, twice. Then getting pitocin and being in labor for over twenty-four hours, twice. Almost nine years ago and then again almost nine months ago. Once I’d been behind a cash register all day. Once I was in a Buenos Aires Argentine tango show. But I’ve got two little blond, blue-eyed crack ups, so all in all…I’ll do it again. Eventually. Even during the (sigh) hottest time of the year. But I’ll still keep my fingers crossed that the next one comes in the spring after a long, mild winter.

  2. Annette
    Aug 04, 2008 @ 13:41:21

    And a handsome Pea he is, too!

    Six years ago I was huge and suffering through the same long, HOT summer with baby #4 . . . and trying to do book signings for my first book while looking and feeling like a beached whale. Good times.

  3. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Aug 04, 2008 @ 14:05:08

    Happy birthday tomorrow to Pea! (I remember being surprised that there was SO much more water than I expected. I walked into the delivery room dripping amniotic fluid on the floor.)

  4. bythelbs
    Aug 04, 2008 @ 15:05:58

    I’ve always felt somewhat cheated out of the full child bearing experience by not ever having had my water break naturally. I also felt cheated when I, like you, received my epidural .07 seconds before my 3rd was born. And with #2, I didn’t even get through the epidural dude’s (I’m too lazy to look up how to spell anesthesiologist even though I’m pretty sure you used it in this very post) questions before she popped out. Thanks for nothin’, epidural dude!

Leave a Reply

