Revisited

For those of you who are new to the Wonderland please read this post before you read this post.

School started today.  The Princess went off to begin third grade and the Pea headed out to first grade.  His first full day of school, morning and afternoon.  And that means one thing: lunch.

His lunch was packed with care by his older sister (she beat me to it, it was made before I got up) he had a juice box and a sandwich (peanut butter and jelly on a hot dog bun), he had a nectarine.  I even added a little baggie of carrots.

So he went off to school and guess what.

HE DIDN’T EAT HIS LUNCH!!!  HE “BOUGHT” LUNCH AT SCHOOL!!!!!

He was told at the beginning of the day to put his backpack in his locker.  He did.  Apparently not many kids bring their lunches to school or possibly he wasn’t paying attention (I’m sure that wasn’t it) but whatever happened he didn’t end up going back to his locker to get his lunch.  “They made me get the school’s lunch,”  he said when he got home.

*Deep Breath*

Since it was the first day of school many forms and permission slips were sent home.  Amongst them I found one for free and reduced price lunches.  We don’t qualify for either but I’m sending it back anyway.  See:And when they send me the bill for the lunch that the Pea ate today I’m taking a page out of Lisa M‘s book (I linked to her blog but she gave me the idea on the last post of this nature.  Somehow I’ve failed to follow the link to her blog and read it before now.  I plan to rectify that oversight.) and declaring it an unautorized expendeture.  I will not pay it! You think they’ll get the message?

PS Bonus points to the first person who figures out what the phone number on the form is.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annette
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 07:50:08

    What a great story–and a great lesson for your kids. I hope you don’t mind that I laughed several times . . . 😀

    As for the phone number–took me a minute, but it’s YOU! Or, your “last” name, bloggy-wise. (You’re brilliant.)

  2. sallygirl
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 16:11:21

    It took me about five seconds to figure out why you were referencing another post and then the light bulb clicked on. I cannot believe they had the brass ones to do this!!

    (still laughing with memories of the original post…)

  3. Madmad
    Jul 31, 2008 @ 07:14:45

    Hahahaha! Yup. I think you’re entitled!

  4. Annie
    Jul 31, 2008 @ 10:43:52

    Schools are so stupid now. What happened to the good old days when small irresponsible children went hungry? What, like kids deserve lunch or something just for showing up? What a joke. In my day you had to earn your lunch, and there were no nectarines or carrots. If you were really good, you got TWO sandwiches and a quarter for milk.

  5. Jennifer A.
    Jul 31, 2008 @ 16:59:05

    Your kids are back in school already? Mine go back Aug 21 and 28th.
    I LOVE Catholic schools for the simple fact, if you don’t preorder and prepay on hot lunch days, they don’t get one. Plain and simple.

  6. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Aug 01, 2008 @ 12:38:13

    Thanks for posting about this. My girl is about to start kindergarten and she would do the same thing. You’re right–it is the wrong message to teach them that they can get something now and pay for it later.

    Miss P has an allowance, so if she pulls this after being warned, she can pay for it herself. Money talks, but so does an empty belly!

  7. E
    Aug 02, 2008 @ 18:54:59

    I LOVE the form. I laughed out loud, even though it meant risking having to explain to my children why I was laughing. And, yes, I did, but since Mr. Curiosity wasn’t in the room, I was able to get away with. “The form on this blog was funny.”

  8. Trackback: And the Winner is…. « Alison Wonderland

Leave a Reply

