Stuff

I took the Princess to the store for a little school shopping today.  She needed shoes.

Can we please just get a pair of shoes!!!!  We don’t need Hannah Montana shoes, we don’t need Disney Princess shoes, or Tinkerbell, or High School Musical (don’t get in the way of the Disney marketing machine.  It will run you down.)  And then I went to the boys section to look for shoes for the Pea and Irish1.  Hulk, Batman, Speedracer, Hellboy.

Seriously?  Hellboy?

Ok, No.

But it is nigh unto impossible to find a pair of shoes that don’t have a face on them.

_______________________________________________________________________

Apparently I bought apple juice because I didn’t feel like I was mopping the floor often enough.

_______________________________________________________________________

I have ants on my counters which is weird because I’ve made a point of leaving plenty of food on the floor for them.

______________________________________________________________________

The Princess and the Pea go back to school Monday!!!!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. alison
    Jul 27, 2008 @ 06:56:05

    wow–and i thought our school district started early.
    I completely agree with the shoe thing. It is ridiculous how many shoes are just made ugly with all the characters all over them. The only times I’ve bought these is if they are a darn good clearance. So currently train-obsessed toddler has some thomas ones. thankfully my other boys feet grew too fast so they were out of the character sizes pretty soon.

  2. Annette
    Jul 27, 2008 @ 06:58:31

    I used to swear off any character-based shoes or clothing, but I’ve had to give in a few times because there was NOTHING else to pick from. Figured I’d better give in and let Dora grace my daughter’s feet instead of making her go barefoot. ERGH. At least my older kids are starting to reach the age where there’s actually a normal selection!

  3. s'mee
    Jul 27, 2008 @ 09:55:21

    When our brood was little this was the ONLY thing I splurged on, shoes. I, as you and the previous comments suggest, avoided commercialization in everything, I just figured if my child was a billboard they should pay me, not the other way around. The costly shoes we purchased were more for stable feet than any thing else -but they were SO expensive. Back then they had a store “Stride Rite”, (not even sure if they make “nice” shoes for kids now.) But they were the typical Mary Janes, real leather hightops for toddlers, and oxfords. Definitely not cool, but I didn’t care. Ugh. I feel such sympathy for parents now. Holy Cow. Good luck in your search.

  4. bythelbs
    Jul 28, 2008 @ 13:49:26

    Licensed children’s apparel is one of my biggest pet peeves. My children think I’m the meanest mom in the world, but I’m just not willing to go there. Except for that one time when I bought my son Darth Maul shoes. They were on clearance for $3 at Target and they were the cool suede-ish skater shoes rather than the big clunky plastic clod-hoppers. And hey, nothing’s more adorable than seeing your 3 year old run around in Sith Lord skater shoes.

  5. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Jul 28, 2008 @ 14:30:57

    I agree about the Disney machine. I just don’t like shoes and clothes with licensed characters on them. Plus, my daughter is fickle–I bought her some tennis shoes with Strawberry Shortcake on them and now she’s over SS and doesn’t like them.

  6. sallygirl
    Jul 28, 2008 @ 18:00:00

    Tag, you’re it! Check out my blog for the deets…

Leave a Reply

