And for You Who Won’t Be Converted

to the Tour that is.

I watched “Notting Hill” for the millionth time tonight and I realized that roughly half of the phrases I use regularly come from that movie.  Here’s a sampling:

“Classic”

“Tempting but, no.”

“It’s a disease, I’m having injections…” (he goes on to say “and taking pills, I’m told it’s only a matter of…” and I think I may start using the whole thing.)

“It’s not a classic anecdote.”

Ok that’s all I can remember but I’ve been up all night, I know there were more.

How about you?  What movie do you constantly unconsciously quote?

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jen
    Jul 24, 2008 @ 08:55:28

    I don’t just quote one movie but I do quote MST3K all the time. Usually no one knows what I’m talking about but it amuses me.

  2. Dollie
    Jul 24, 2008 @ 09:13:54

    i know I have seen the movie but I can’t remember it at all. I agree that getting out of the house is so worth it. I am just excited lol although nervous I haven’t worked in 4 half years or so.

  3. julie
    Jul 24, 2008 @ 09:35:31

    spies like us and sixteen candles

  4. SallyGirl
    Jul 24, 2008 @ 12:36:54

    Nacho Libre, Napoleon Dynamite, and Dude, Where’s My Car?

  5. bythelbs
    Jul 24, 2008 @ 12:56:15

    Napoleon Dynamite, Princess Bride, Better Off Dead—you know, all the classics. There are some good ones in Notting Hill I’d forgotten about—I might have to add them to my repertoire.

  6. Brillig
    Jul 24, 2008 @ 13:42:37

    Princess Bride, Scarlet Pimpernel, A Room With a View… those are the ones that come to mind first. Sometimes I’ll do what you did– turn on an old favorite and realize, “wow, THAT’S where I got that from!” Or my husband will point it out to me. WOw. I kinda wish I were original and came up with my own stuff rather than stealing it… How embarrassing!

  7. chronicler
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 08:46:56

    I’ve got a brain cloud. The timing stinks. I’m a flibbertigibbet. And last but not least: I have no response to that.

    Joe versus the Volcano. Best movie ever. I must admit I love Notting Hill. The scene in the movie theatre is priceless.
    Any fun one for us is Planes Tranes and Automobiles. The non-clean flix version has a few f bombs but I can live with it. I grew up in SoCal. 😉

  8. madhousewife
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 11:27:29

    I probably quote television more often than movies. The Simpsons most often, probably, followed by 30 Rock. But I do quote Princess Bride with great frequency.

    Speaking of movie quotes, “I drink your milkshake” is a notorious quote from There Will Be Blood–which I’ve never seen, but for some reason the milkshake line is in my consciousness.

  9. Alison @ hairlinefracture
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 11:39:12

    All of these are completely on purpose, but: The Princess Bride (I see a trend!), Napoleon Dynamite, Monty Python and the Holy Grail. Help, I’m being repressed!

  10. Catherine
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 13:11:55

    Just about everything out of my husband’s mouth comes from the world of Seinfeld. As a result, my vocabulary has adapted to match his. How sad is that?!?!?!

  11. Annie
    Jul 26, 2008 @ 22:32:01

    The Cutting Edge, Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, First Knight, The Little Mermaid…I don’t care for my own words much. I rarely quote the Princess Bride because it is so (ahem) over quoted. No offense to other quoters, I admit I have to hold myself back. Also A Christmas Story. I try very hard not to overdo the whole FRAGILE quote. It just begs to be repeated.

  12. tausha
    Jul 26, 2008 @ 22:37:11

    embarrased to be typing this-Hannah Montana. I know she is a tv show, but trust me when I say that she has movies as well. You can’t blame me-I do have three girls. I have no where else to go. I usually do something else at the same time, but I still here the words.
    Pathetic. Laugh if you must, but it’s true. At least I admit it. Yes, I am mom of three and I watch Hannah MOntana. (also other disney shows-but thats a whole other post!)

  13. brooke
    Jul 27, 2008 @ 14:42:13

    this is terrible and in no way an indication of how spiritual/not spiritual i am (or maybe…?), but i am tempted to quote the temple endowment movie all the time. (there are some funny lines in there.)

Leave a Reply

