Follow Through

I was supposed to go finish my visiting teaching yesterday (yeah, I know, it’s only the 21st.  What can I say?  I’m amazing.  And I will not mention that this will be my first month of VT this year.) but I didn’t end up going because Irish1 was acting something like this   Actually he wasn’t anywhere near that bad but I found that video on youtube and I thought it was really funny.  I also realized that there’s a lot of crap on youtube.  Not necessarily crap as in immoral, unholy stuff (although if the titles people are giving their videos are at all indicative of what they show then there’s a lot of that too.)  but crap as in why would you post a video of your child crying?  I can see a video of a really epic fit.  You know the one I’m talking about.  The fit that is so unbelievable, so out of proportion to the offense, real or imagined, that you get to the point that you just laugh at your child as he (or she) literally expends all his (or her) energy railing at the universe.  And then falls asleep where ever he (or she) landed.  But that’s not what I found as I searched for tantrums.  I found boring, run of the mill, the kids stopped crying as soon as they were handed their cup/doll/car stuff.  My kids do this on a daily if not hourly basis, this isn’t entertaining.  That would be like me blogging about what I had for breakfast on a daily basis.  Trust me you can only hear about so many bowls of Cheerios.

But back to my point.  I felt really badly about having to cancel but Irish1 really really needed a nap and even if he wasn’t going to do that (he did by the way) I wasn’t going to even try to take him into someone else’s home acting the way he was, and now I have guilt.

I was raised to do something I said that I would do.  I’m not good at excuses. I feel guilty calling in sick for work even when I literally can’t walk.  So to beg off of VT, especially when the appointments, the hard part, had been made, that was bad.

And the fact that I was composing a blog post about it in my head even as I was calling my companion… very bad.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dollie
    Jul 21, 2008 @ 11:47:25

    Haha I just don’t venture out anywhere. While right now I can do that it’s not very practacle(sp?) I am so bad at VT 😦

  2. madmad
    Jul 21, 2008 @ 12:08:37

    Hahahaha! My DOG got all upset at the tantrum-ing kid and rushed right over to see what was the matter. But it reminded me of a story: once? My son took magic marker and drew all over my leather couch. When I called the store to ask if they knew of a way to get it out, the guy said “Birth control.” And I was like, Hm.. I wonder what kind he’s talking about…? Do I rub it in or something…? When suddenly, it dawned. Nice, huh? (But true enough, I suppose.)

  3. Alison
    Jul 21, 2008 @ 14:22:39

    You’re right–why would you even video an everyday tantrum, let alone post it?

    I have a question (you can email me if you want). What is visiting teaching?

  4. bythelbs
    Jul 21, 2008 @ 14:28:18

    As someone who occasionally receives vt-ers in my home, I can say I would be extremely grateful not to have you bring your cranky child. But then, I’m totally good with just a phone call and I don’t feel at all bad if they forget all together.

    All you can do is your best. It’s the thought that counts. Your family should always come first. Everything has its season. Are any of these helping? 🙂

  5. julie
    Jul 21, 2008 @ 16:40:52

    no your normal about thinking about the blog post. I do that now too.

  6. sallygirl
    Jul 22, 2008 @ 11:05:01

    I love laughing at things my kids don’t “get”! I especially love that there are many different ways to VT besides an actual visit. We can count face-to-faces at church/the store/wherever you happen to see each other, we can also count letters/cards, and phone calls. SWEEEET!

  7. Brillig
    Jul 22, 2008 @ 14:29:03

    Ahhh yes. Motherhood. Full of guilt, tantrums, and canceled appointments of all kinds. We’re all right there with you.

    The vid, though, made me feel a bit better about my own kids! haha.

  8. s'mee
    Jul 22, 2008 @ 15:14:51

    I came back to the blog just so I could watch the video (had to jet off this morning…) HOLY COW tat was hilarious.

    And yeah, VT. Back when I had the offspring still at home I made myself a promise to NEVER bring them with me VT-ing, cuz, yeah, it was like tempting fate. The flip side of this is well, I am one of those who is fine with no VT at all. I’m good. I’ll come to church without it. If I need you I’ll call. Give my VT to someone who really wants someone once a month. Don’t get me wrong, I totally get the program, actually have a testimony of it and think it’s pretty ingenious, but I just think there are others who “need” it more than I do. It feels like I’m grabbing for that extra piece of cake when the gal next to me hasn’t even had her meal yet. Does that make sense?

  9. Jabe
    Jul 23, 2008 @ 00:43:34

    I was going to email this link http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/168619 to you because it made me laugh… just the whole thread, the conversation between several users… I wasn’t sure which email address is the one you use these days, so I didn’t want to email it into the ether.

  10. flip flop mama
    Jul 23, 2008 @ 17:32:54

    Yeah that was an awesome video! We do the best we can and sometimes kids just get in the way. Hey you still got 8 days, right??

  11. CFoth
    Jul 23, 2008 @ 21:45:17

    If it makes you feel any better, your RSP hasn’t done her VT’ing either. But get on the ball already, or she’ll beat you to it! See you on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

