The Night the Lights Went Out

I’ve been listening to a different radio station in the car lately.  I think it’s more listener driven, at least that’s the line they’re selling, it may or may not be true.  What is true is that the mix of music is different from other stations of the same genre and I noticed that they play “The Night the Lights Went out In Georgia” a lot.

Naturally I had heard that song before, maybe I just hadn’t paid attention.  Let’s see if I got this right.

This girl takes it upon herself to shoot her cheating sister in law and the cheating SIL’s lover.  When the brother goes to confront his wife and her lover he finds his wife gone, because his sister somehow hid her body, and the lover dead.  He’s arrested and his sister who actually did the killing doesn’t step up in time to save her brother from being hanged.  And it’s the judge in the town who’s “got blood stains on his hands”?

I know it’s a classic and all that but does this seem wrong to anyone else?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. s'mee
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 09:22:18

    O. Holy. Night! THANK YOU! I have thought this since the first day that ridiculous song aired. And who told that Carole Burnett look alike it would be a hit? It’s like that song from the 50/60? “Wishin’ and Hopin'” What the heck? Just change every stinkin’ thing about yourself to suit this jerk boy friend of yours, and “You will be HIS!” Why not just write a book about marrying an abuser and put it to music? Good grief! lol

  2. Jabe
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 10:42:47

    Well, it’s messed up, no doubt… but it was a hit. And lame as the story told in the song is, it pretty much stands up well even 36 years after it was recorded.

  3. bythelbs
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 10:46:40

    I had no idea that’s what that song was about. I know I’ve heard it before, but right now I can’t bring it to mind. Everytime I try I just get Gladys Knight’s “Midnight Train to Georgia” and all I can see are her Pips dancing and making the train whistle pulling motions with their arms. That’s a much more pleasant song, though. I think I’ll stick with it.

  4. Brillig
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 14:07:22

    Hahaha. I don’t think I ever bothered to listen quite so closely…

    So, I haven’t been here (or anywhere) in ages! I’ve missed you!

  5. chronicler
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 19:48:55

    heh heh. I love it when the words are finally discovered. It amazes me some of the things people call good. The music wasn’t even good in that song. BUt I guess it was a catchy tune back then. ugh.

  6. Annie
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 21:08:37

    Um, hello people. This song is sacred to my 7th grade self. Do not ruin it now by explaining what it all means. I spent hours, HOURS singing this at the top of my lungs with my friend Catherine over and over and over…memories like pavement.

  7. Jen
    Jul 24, 2008 @ 08:57:42

    Thank you! That song has always bugged me too.

Leave a Reply

