What’s the Problem?

What’s that Alison? You have an unusual number of spiders in you house? And your livingroom is freezing in all winter? Why would that be?

Well I don’t know.

BUT I THINK THIS MAY HAVE SOMETHING TO DO WITH IT!!!!!!

That’s right, we began demo on the porch (I’m actually really sad to see it go, it was cute and kind of a nice place to go and sit on a warm sunny day.) today and looky here, there’s a hole in the weird wood siding. The grey line shows the level of the top of the porch. (And, incidentally roughly the level of the floor of the living room that you’re seeing through the window.) I couldn’t see under that. How was I to know that someone, some time cut a huge hole in the exterior of my home?

What’s behind it? You ask.

NOTHING!!

The duct carrying the air to the vent that’s right in front of that window is what’s behind it. See? That’s my duct. Is it any wonder the air coming out of there was always cold?

There must, at least, be some insulation there, you insist.

No, no there mustn’t. There should be but obviously there’s no must about it because it ain’t there.

Whoever cut this very useful hole did at least put some wire mesh over it to discourage the mice (who, let’s face it, don’t need the help) but it’s not like that’s gonna keep the black widows out! And why in the name of striped pajamas would you cut a hole there anyway?

Come on people! I knew my house was ghetto but give me a break!

I wonder what other treats are in store for us? I’m headed to the roof tomorrow.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bythelbs
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 21:18:00

    So random. I often find myself wondering what people are/were thinking?

    And you’re already into the demo! Good for you! Good luck with the project. I hope this little hole in the wall is the biggest surprise you run into.

  2. Lisa M
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 23:39:30

    Oh yes… that um, MIGHT be the problem! Goodness. Good luck with the demo!

  3. Annie
    Jun 15, 2008 @ 23:18:06

    I’ve been so miserably busy with my own sorry excuse for home improvement that I haven’t had time to check on yours. Don’t really think I want to trade projects right now, nope. Hope you keep the vent, it has so much character.

  4. Alison Wonderland
    Jun 16, 2008 @ 09:09:53

    Obviously you’ve never been to my house if you think I need to keep a little mesh covered hole in the exterior for character.

Leave a Reply

