Apropo of Nothing

Pardon the random but:

Why does anyone buy Bratz dolls?

Why did I ever want to shave?

What is the Pea thinking when he walks on the piano keys?

The Princess was telling a story about herself and her friend this evening, “blah blah blah. And,” she says, her voice full of meaning, “Melissa cut her finger.”

The Pea, completely missing the complexities of female conversation, immediately asks, “off?”

I would like to trade skin with the Princess. She has absolutely no pores. Not one!

If I continue to lose hair at this rate I will be bald by the end of the day.

What is the Princess thinking when she yells at her friends that they have to be nice to her?

How do infants know that you’re not standing?

There’s a song played pretty frequently on the radio, the second half of the chorus goes something like this (if I get it wrong please don’t correct me, I know I’m getting the pertinent parts correct and that’s all I’m interested in)

Back when God was a name I used in vain to get a point across

Lord I’m learning so much more than back when I knew it all.

Now I certainly have no problem pointing out that “God” ought not be used without a good reason (ten commandments much?) but I find it very interesting that in the next breath we’re using “Lord” in that exact way. I can’t help but think that it’s not the use of the letters G-O-D as much as the reference to deity that offends. And to whom exactly do these song writers think “Lord” refers?

What is Irish1 thinking when he empties all the salt from the shaker onto the table?

I’m all out of interesting dinners.

Why is it that I just can’t rock the casual skirt look? I think I’m pulling it off but then, inevitably, someone will ask me what I’m all dressed up for. Are my tomboy root really that obvious?

What are my kids thinking, ever?

I was saying the other day that I occasionally consider teaching myself piano with my daughter’s piano books. I know how to read music, I even took piano as a child (all of my siblings did, my parents made us. I was so bad, and not getting any better, that they let me quit after 9 months) really all it would take for me is some concentrated practicing. But when would I do that? (And if I’ve committed to it and then don’t practice I can’t very well yell at the Princess for not practicing enforce the rule that the Princess has to practice then where would I get my fun? and that would be a problem.) But between my four children, and a full time job, and building an addition on the house, and breastfeeding I’m just not sure where I would find the time to practice playing the piano.

And then my sister just said, “it’s not your season.”

And I loved that.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa M
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 05:59:47

    I love random.

    This made me giggle.

    I know the song, and I have wondered the EXACT same thing. Stupid song.

    Princess and Pea, sound adorable.

    Fun.

  2. alison
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 07:09:35

    Wow–its like your inside my brain!!

    My little guy still wants me to stand up–don’t know why.

    I love wearing skirts–but everyone thinks i’m dressed up.

  3. Julie
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 08:44:43

    I find the same things about skirts. I have this really comfortable, casual dress (so casual in fact I don’t wear it to church) but that I seriously like to just wear around the house and EVERY TIME I’ve worn it people ask me what I’m dressed up for. Nothing people, just a cute dress!!!! (I think I’ll never ask people that question again, b/c it makes them feel stupid when they just feel like looking cute!)

    Funny stuff.

  4. bythelbs
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 18:14:17

    Good randomness.

    I am sooo with you on the Bratz. Bratz are of the devil.

    I can’t pull off the casual skirt either—I get the same flack from people.

    I hate cooking dinner anymore, but I still love eating so that’s sometimes a problem. I think my family probably enjoys eating too, so that makes my not wanting to feed them even more of a problem. Tonight we’re having take-out. Everybody wins!

  5. sallygirl
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 18:18:23

    Bratz are the epitome of the prosti-tot movement. In other words, Satan Spawn.

    I don’t know about the song thing. I think that the person is talking to Him in that sentence and I don’t find it offensive at all. I think the writer is human and admitting a fault to his maker. Do we not use His name in hymns? Is that using it in vain? I know, not quite the same thing but since I don’t know the actual song you’re using…

  6. Julie
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 20:50:50

    I am one with the Bratz-haters.
    Thank you for itemizing the million random thoughts that walk through my mind each day. I’m beginning to think we could be friends.

  7. Annie
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 22:24:14

    My hair is falling out and I spend all day either walking the baby or breastfeeding. My friend, you are so not alone.

  8. Brillig
    Jun 05, 2008 @ 01:02:54

    Holy goodness there’s a lot to comment on here! Your randomness is hilarious and fascinating, I must say. And so colorful! 😀 I really could comment on every single one of your random notes here. But I’ll just say a hearty “amen” to all of it.

  9. Jennifer
    Jun 05, 2008 @ 05:51:09

    I don’t understand Bratz dolls either. Bri got one for her birthday and its hidden in my pantry

  10. Mother of the Wild Boys
    Apr 24, 2009 @ 19:54:10

    THIS is my fave random post…really, like, of all time.

Leave a Reply

